We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
Ranked #10 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Beautiful beach location. Manager will help organise trips to national park or other activities. Rooms are extremely basic, but hygienic (except they don't clean in the corners), extremely friendly and helpful owners and personnel, no WIFI but the manager might let you use his LAN connection, or there are two nearby cafes with WIFI, beach was nice -- but they need more chairs. They serve excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner. Coffee and tea are available all day and cakes in the afternoon. (Make sure you like dogs, or can at least stomach them, if you book there.)

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms with A/C. It is worthwhile as it is extremely humid!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Christoph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Rancho Corcovado is a wonderful hotel right on the beach at Drake Bay. It is family owned and run. Mario, who originally established this hotel 19 years ago, personally greeted every guest with a warm handshake each time he saw them. I even got a hug the second day. His son, Javier, is the hardest working hotel manager that I've ever seen. They make you feel like part of the family.
My wife was a bit concerned when we first arrived on the boat from Sierpe. We got overheated waiting at the restaurant near the dock for the boat trip to the hotel, and did not cool off much during the trip on the boat. We went into our room - almost on the beach - and there was no air conditioning. Many of the rooms were up a hill – quite a climb – but guests who stayed in them told us of seeing many birds from their rooms. We saw some Scarlet Macaws right outside our room.
We lay down in the room - simple, but very clean and with all of the things we needed - and thought at first that 3 nights here might be unpleasant if we stayed that hot all the time. But there were two fans, one on the ceiling and one on the wall, and as we cooled off we learned that this was enough to keep us reasonably comfortable. We would have preferred curtains that provided a little more privacy, but this was not much of an issue because our windows were much higher than people walking by could see through for the most part.
The shower had an electric water heater that turned on as water went through it. This made us a little nervous, but we did not touch it except to turn it on during our first shower. A burned out light bulb was addressed very quickly. There was a small problem with the shower drain not being able to drain fast enough when water was run at maximum rate for several minutes. Again, this was not a big problem for us but made a little extra work for the maid.
The food was the best that we ate during our 18 day Costa Rica trip. It was simple, but there was always more than I could eat. My wife has an allergy to chiles/peppers. We told Mario when we first arrived, and the kitchen staff never forgot to prepare special meals for her without this allergen. Even for two of the lunches that we ate off site during tours.
Our package included two tours, one to Corcovado National Park and one to Cano Island. These were group tours that included 10 guests. I have a disability that requires me to move more slowly while walking and did not want to impede the others during the hike in Corcovado. I talked with Javier, and he said that because we had already paid for this tour with a group, he would get a private guide for us and only charge the additional cost. This honesty impressed me.
We left money as a tip for the maid each day in our room, but always found it left in place. We discovered during checkout, that they only accept tips placed in a box that is divided among all staff. This honesty by the maid also impressed us.
The tours were wonderful and guides were great. Our trip to Corcovado went to La Sirena, which is almost 4 times farther away than the San Pedrillo ranger station, but presents better opportunities to see wildlife. Our private guide, Esteban, wanted us to learn about the whole environment, and did an excellent job of doing this while moving slowly enough to make my disability a non-issue.
We saw 3 species of monkeys, including the endangered Squirrel Monkey. We also saw a Tamandua at close range and my wife got good pictures of all of these, with Esteban's help. Also saw lots of birds, insects, spiders, flowers, etc and my wife got great photos of these as well. This is a great trip that I recommend highly.
The other tour was a trip to Cano Island which is located several miles offshore from Drake Bay. During our trip, we saw 3 baby humpback whales, two of them with their mothers. Unfortunately, we did not see the breech. I snorkeled on the Pacific Ocean side of Cano Island along with most of those on this tour. The snorkeling equipment was provided, along with some basic instructions. Saw a sea turtle underwater as well as thousands of beautifully colored tropical fish. The water was quite clear and the currents minimal. We saw dolphins on our return trip, and stopped at a beautiful beach named Playa San Pedrito for a great lunch on the way back as well as some swimming.
I really recommend this hotel. People who have difficulties moving should know that boat landings at the hotel, as well as those at Corcovado and Cano Island are "wet" landings. There are no docks, and you must get of the boat into shallow water near the beach, sometimes while waves are moving the boat. The guides, staff, and other visitors were extremely helpful to me during these landings and departures, and though I fell in the water a couple of times, they were gentle falls and I was helped up quickly.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms close to the beach and they are literally a few steps away. The rest are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I cannot even begin to say enough great things about this place! Our room was less than 30 yards from an amazing beach. The rooms are very simple but VERY clean and provide you with the basics you need. The hotel is owned and operated by an incredible Costa Rican Family that makes you feel right at home. Roger the owner was super hospitable as was his brother Armando (who I might add has amazing stories to share). The property is centrally located and well kept. The food was great; Daisy and the crew do an incredible job in the kitchen. The staff is friendly and trustworthy. One of the best things about this place is it's location on Drake Bay and the fact that the family also owns and operates a boat (driven by Armando) that you can hire for tours to the Corcovado National Park. We WILL be back and I HIGHLY reccomend this place to anyone traveling looking for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The rooms are basic and quite a walk up the hill to our room...but we felt like we were on top of the world! Beautiful beach, great tours to Corcovado Park and Cano Island and terrific bird watching from our porch and the restaurant. I can't say enough good things about the staff....so warm, welcoming, and eager to please! We felt like part of the family by the time we left!

Room Tip: Top of the hill for a great view and birdwatching at sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonflyreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had a room that took a long climb to get to but worth the climb. We would sit outside our room and bird watch. Wonderful! We also loved being able to walk out of the restaurant and into the water. Food was good except the meats were overdone but there was so much of everything else, it did not matter. Rooms clean but simple. Manager very helpful to organize activities. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Certainly worth the climb to get the rooms furthest up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfortable like all the infrastrucutres of the hotel. The food is simple but really delicious.
The managers are very nice and helpfull to organise activities. The location directly on the beach is also great!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misspauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Rancho Corcovado feels like home: friendly warm welcome. in the middle of one of the most beautyfull area;s in costar rica; Very very beautyfull garden where the parrots will fly in the trees in front of your window. Do not stay for one day, enjoy the cooking of anna sandra and esther for at least two days. wilmar and robin july 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#15 of 46 in Drake Bay
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 22 in Drake Bay
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Corcovado

Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 2110-1100 San José, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £50 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Corcovado 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rancho Corcovado a familiar and personalized hotel set in a private nature reserve in Drake Bay meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's notion of paradise. It is the ideal site to combine both relaxing and adventure in a pure and natural setting hosted by a Costa Rican Family native to the area, who take special care to show visitors the beauty of plant, animal and marine life of the region which is a gift of God. Hotel Rancho Corcovado is located on the OSA Peninsula in the province of Puntarenas in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rancho Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing