We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family owned place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
Ranked #10 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at Rancho Corcovado for 3 nights. It is a small place run by a very nice Tico family. Mario, the owner and his children and even some grandchildren help out with things. The rooms are fairly basic, but very clean. The location is right off the beach and the views from just outside the room are fantastic. They treat you like family - asking what your food preferences and issues are, showing you around, and even being invited to play ball with the grandchildren. The beach is right there and is very uncrowded and the water is very nice for swimming. We took a couple of tours which were part of a package - a trip to Cano Island for snorkeling and dolphin watchin one day, and a trip into Corcovado National Park and a day of hiking and watching wildlife. Even just sitting on the beach or sitting outside our room and looking at the bay and birds and sunsets was great.

The whole area was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

A heads up - this is not a good destination for people with disabilities. Many activities require wet water boarding on a boat and there are stairs and walking on trails. Some other hotels may be a little better for that, but this whole area is still a bit rough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Pfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

rancho corcovado is a small family hotel in drake bay-near cnyo island and corcovado nature park.the hotel is very simple but very cleanand quite,some of the rooms only 40 feet from the ocean.the family that run the hotel are very helpful,and can orgenize trips to the area.the food is simple but tasty.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank evyayosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

When we were in Drake Bay we stayed at Pirate Cove and then Rancho Corcovado. Although we liked both place, Rancho Corcovado was more relaxing and much cheaper! The room was OK but the location is amazing, our cabin was just in front of the ocean and we had the beautiful deserted beach all to ourselves! The food was very good. It was not fancy, but delicious and there was a lot of variety. It is the best place we ate in our 3 weeks in Costa Rica! This place is owned by a family of Ticos and the owner, Mario, was very friendly. I highly recommend this place to relax and enjoy the superb setting of Drake Bay!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank Puzzpouding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We had a wonderful time at Rancho Corcovado. The Tico family who owns the hotel was very friendly and the service was excellent. Meals were terrific and varied, and included plenty of fruits and veggies. The rooms were fairly basic (we hardly spent time in our rooms anyways), but they were clean, and we had a stunning view of the ocean from the front of our building. . The hotel is beachfront and Scarlet Macaws flew past every day, and giant iguanas live in the gardens. Overall we had a great experience here!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank choucas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nuestra habitación era superior con vistas al océano. Ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Anolitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#14 of 46 in Drake Bay
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 22 in Drake Bay
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Corcovado

Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 2110-1100 San José, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £50 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Corcovado 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rancho Corcovado a familiar and personalized hotel set in a private nature reserve in Drake Bay meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's notion of paradise. It is the ideal site to combine both relaxing and adventure in a pure and natural setting hosted by a Costa Rican Family native to the area, who take special care to show visitors the beauty of plant, animal and marine life of the region which is a gift of God. Hotel Rancho Corcovado is located on the OSA Peninsula in the province of Puntarenas in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rancho Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing