We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor restaurant, questionable management”
Review of Jademar Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jademar Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor restaurant, questionable management”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Last week, while visiting Drake Bay, two friends and I ended up at Jade Mar's restaurant twice. The first meal was generally poor and made with leftovers from the previous night re-heated and involved some curious ingredient substitutions that just tasted off. Upon receipt of the bill, we discovered that several items were mispriced, and when we called this to the attention to the waiter he tried to explain that the restaurant's owner had recently changed the pricing and hadn't gotten around to fixing the prices yet. This clearly sounded strange, but we paid anyway, although not before making our concerns with the pricing very clear. The next night, we again found ourselves at Jade Mar (it was the only place we could find serving whole fried fish), and while the fish itself was decent, the restaurant (different waiter) again raised the price on us mid-way through the meal when we had already eaten half of the plate. The waitress was extremely apologetic, and on both occasions it sounded like the owner/management in the kitchen was putting a lot of pressure on the wait staff to charge us higher prices than those advertised, which totally turned us off by the end of the experience. It felt very intentional, especially after having spoken with them about it just one day prior. Their lemonade, however, was excellent.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny O, Gerente at Jademar Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Google Translation
Apreciados Visitantes:

La Nueva Administración de Jade Mar desea expresar de manera muy sincera las disculpas para cada uno de los casos en la nuestros invitados no pasaron una excelente experiencia ,.
Además dejamos claro que este maravilloso lugar enclavado en la bahía Drake se ha visto en mejoras continuas en sus instalaciones , áreas verdes y sobre todo en mantener una Gestión Gerencial de que se refleje en las solicitudes y atenciones para nuestros clientes.Mostrando un interés real en mantener una relación y experiencia inolvidable , confianza y lealtad .
Hemos revisado cada uno de los comentarios y trabajamos en corregir según se nos indica para cada situación, afortunadamente la buena relación de Jademar nos permite crear una nueva expectativa de cambio en nuestros socios y empleados para seguir en un rumbo de mejora.

De manera que hacemos pública las disculpas.
Johnny Obando
Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    53
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
97
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed in this cabin for 5 days, I was travelling by myself, and all I need was a room with a bed. My room was simple, it has a bed and a fan. And I share the bath with others. The room is very clean, and they also provide you with towel. There's also a small kitchen that you can use to cook your food. The kitchen eating area is facing the sea, which is very nice.

For $10 a night and staying in a beach town, I am actually very satisfied with what I spent. The people who work there are super nice, and because Drake Bay is a small town, so everyone knows each other, if you want to sign up any tour, they would be happy to recommend you one.

This place also has double room with ensuite bathroom, so if you are only going to Drake bay to stay as a base to go on tour, I would totally recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the private room, get the one closer to the main street, you can get wifi sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for a week in December 2011. Small and basic cabins with small balconies looking out to the ocean. The balcony was a great bird watching spot. Although basic, the cabins were everything we wanted. Comfy bed, good hot shower, electricity, cleaned every day, friendly and helpful owner, in the town, close to restaurants and a few minutes walk to the beach. Would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr64Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Budget travelers will like and appreciate this place - i did. I stayed in a room with AC. As mentioned below, the walls are thin in these rooms and you can hear a fart from 2 rooms away. Makes for interested listening, hearing couples bicker about vacation problems. Or trying to conceive children. Just bring headphones or earplugs. The rooms are very clean, the AC works great, they have lines for hanging wet clothes and overall you can't beat the price in Drake Bay. I'd stay here again for sure, especially since the property manager is so cool, calm and collected. They've opened an ice cream shop next door which I'd suggest supporting - it's good ice cream. I wouldn't recommend their restaurant up the hill unless you want a pizza (which is pretty darn good) - the rest of the menu is very hit or miss and the staff seems to cater more to the locals (many who like to unwind with as many drinks as they can afford). Jade Mar's tour bookings were on point and reputable. The Soda to the left (Mar y Bosque) is fantastic - the grilled fish is cheap and fresh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Completely adequate for Osa. We satyed in Drake Bay for 2 days and that was the perfect amount of time. Fly into Drake in the morning chill on the beach located down a steep HILL from Jade Mar and then hit up Corvacado the next day. There's nothing really in Drake except a sparse market and maybe 3 restaurants average price. The restaurant for jade mar is located up the hill and to the right NOT across the street or next door.Their restaurant is good, definitely eat there There's also a good place for coffee and breakfast two doors down from Jad mar. BRING CASH. Jade Mar accepts cards but everybody else likes cash and it's easier. The place had good ac warm water and wifi $50/nt not bad for expensive Osa. They will pick you up from the airport for around $8pp definitely worth it. The "airport" is about 15min entertaining drive from Jade.

Room Tip: The restaurant for jade mar(pronounced Hide Mar)is located up the hill and to the right and NOT acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas8Chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were there during rainy season, so got room reasonably priced. Ironically, the air conditioning was not working in any of the rooms while we were there, so the rooms got a little stuffy. The rooms were very clean, staff very friendly, and owner/her daughter spoke english, which was helpful. Centrally located, would definetly stay here again for the price (and would hope that the air conditioning worked next time!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittanybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My Aunt and I travelled to Drake Bay in January of 2004. We stayed for one month at Cabinas Jade Mar and absolutely loved it. Obviously there have been a lot of changes since then, one of which is electricity, however the spirit and comfort of the resort is the same.

I highly recommend staying at Jade Mar. We felt like part of the family, we were comfortable, we had grande adventures and we were well fed.

So, thank you so much Jade Mar!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelBelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 45 in Drake Bay
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 19 in Drake Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Drake Lodge
Vista Drake Lodge
#25 of 106 in Osa Peninsula
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jademar Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jademar Cabins

Property: Jademar Cabins
Address: Bahia Drake Peninsula de Osa | 150 metr de la Palya de Agujitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jade Mar is located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated in Drake Bay and near the Corcovado National Park in an area of Agujitas. This area of the Osa Peninsula is accessible by boat and car 4*4 and is one of album-tucan[1]the most remote and untouched places on Costa Rica's entire Pacific coastline. Our Drake Bay accommodations is 5 min walking to the ocean, immersed in the rainforest for an experience you won't forget. During your stay, you will explore endless small coves and beaches, fresh-water lagoons, and miles of hiking trails that wind through the rainforest make this the perfect spot to simply relax all day or embark on an eco-adventure experience second to none.Or only sit on our garden and take pictures of all the beautiful birds around the hotel. Room Air Condition Private Cabanas Ocean View Cabanas Family Cabanas Free WIFI Free Parking Friendly Pet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jademar Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jade Mar Hotel Drake Bay
Jademar Cabins Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing