We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jade Mar Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
US$469
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$339
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
134
54
13
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
54
13
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifeprivate cabinscarlet macawsjohnnydrake5minwildlifebirdwatchingdives
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Made the reservation and although I made the deposit they never sent me the reservation form. The hotel is advertised in several websites as cabins with fridge and kitchen which wasn't true at all. We brought this up to the manager of the place (Henar) and she claimed that she didn't have control over those sites and that if we didn't like it then we could leave. We booked a tour to Isla del Cano for the next day and the restaurant supposedly opened at 5:30am; out tour was at 7:15am and by 6:30am the restaurant was still closed. Once again brought this up to the manager and she replied rudely to me: they didn't open at 5:30am but who cares since you weren't there at that time.... Very nice place but what a shame the lack of customer service... It was horrible.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikarojasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny O, Gerente at Jade Mar Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013
Google Translation

Apreciados Visitantes:
Erika Rojas

La Nueva Administración de Jade Mar desea expresar de manera muy sincera las disculpas para cada uno de los casos en la nuestros invitados no pasaron una excelente experiencia ,.
Además dejamos claro que este maravilloso lugar enclavado en la bahía Drake se ha visto en mejoras continuas en sus instalaciones , áreas verdes y sobre todo en mantener una Gestión Gerencial de que se refleje en las solicitudes y atenciones para nuestros clientes.Mostrando un interés real en mantener una relación y experiencia inolvidable , confianza y lealtad .
Hemos revisado cada uno de los comentarios y trabajamos en corregir según se nos indica para cada situación, afortunadamente la buena relación de Jademar nos permite crear una nueva expectativa de cambio en nuestros socios y empleados para seguir en un rumbo de mejora.

De manera que hacemos pública las disculpas.
Johnny Obando
Gerencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We started our trip on Peninsula de Osa, the most remote and therefore the most pristine part of Costa Rica. We flew into Puerto Jimenez and stayed for a night. This touristy town is pretty bland. We were eager to get out of there before the tour guides drove us nuts. All the quotes we got for visiting the Sirena Ranger Station in Corcovado were expensive ($200 and above for two with an overnight stay). This entailed a 20km walk through the muggy jungle after a long trip on a rough road. We decided on an alternative route that none of the guides understandably talks about. Taking the northern passage to Drake Bay and then going by boat ($30 each way) to the Sirena Ranger Station in Corcovado National Park. This beats the 20km walk and the hiking paths are easy to follow so you don't really need a guide.

We took the bus to La Palmas and switched to the one to Bahia Drake, a tiny town that was casually mentioned in one of our guides. The town didn't have a road until about 9 years ago. Be aware that it's a national sport to see how much they can milk a gringo, in particular the bus drivers that collect fares onboard. Always inquire about prices by talking to one of the waiting locals beforehand otherwise a $4 trip might end up costing you significantly more. We crossed 2 rivers and finally arrived in Drake (total driving time about 1.5hrs) to immediately recognize that this was a special place.

Be aware that Drake has no banks or ATM's!! You can get cash at both supermarkets but they will charge you a healthy percentage at a lousy exchange rate. Bring enough cash or go to a place such as Cabinas Jade Mar where you can pay with credit card for the room and the tours. We decided to stay at this place for that reason after having negotiated a very reasonable rate for our room. The place was clean and the service we received from Henar was outstanding. She speaks fluent English and was very helpful in making arrangements for our tours. The restaurant had good quality food at prevailing rates.

We didn't go during the high season so the town was pretty empty without the crowds or noisy parties. Across the hotel is Gringo Curts, an expatriate with a small and clean seafood restaurant who wouldn't hesitate to engage you in an interesting discussion about what's wrong with the world.

I would highly recommend this place. For the price you can't beat the no-frills accomodations and the super-friendly staff.

Room Tip: we chose the room with 2 queen beds and a private bathroom for $25/night that we had negotiated down promising not to use the AC which we hate anyways.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahalayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My nice and I stayed at Jade mar a total of 3 nights, after our boat Captain recomended it. We took his boat from Sierpe to Bahia Drake and after i mentioned that i had no hotel reservation he mentioned that his parents owned the place, he took his cell out and called, made the reservation with no commitment till i got there and checked out the place.
After we had a nice boat ride, very smooth and comfy, we had a car waiting to take us to the hotel. cheked out the place, a one room cabin, with private bathroom, beautiful view of the ocean right from the porch, and the mauntains in the back. The best part of our stay was Sarah, she's the daughter fo the owners, she went the extra mile to help me at every corner. Needed to change dollars to colones, done with no fee, needed to book a trip to the Corcovado national park, done no hasle, had a guide to take us for a private tour, done. Even booked a sansa fly for me late at night, helped me get the best price and had her brother Captain (dude was a hunk, eye candy) to take us back to sierpe at 7AM the next day. Also, gave me the option to eat at the restaurant and added it to by tap. Didn't need to carry anything on my pockets to pay the bill, till the end. The Food the first day was OK, It just got better as the days went by, the fried fish was excellent. Entertaiment, top notch, a little girl, about 4-5 yrs old, would entertain us daily, she would ride her bike all over the restaurant, or she would come over and talk to us about her dog or just about anything.

The only inconvenience was, when the cook was sick on the day that we were going to the park, and we had to forgo the Breakfast. But they made up for it by packing us an extra lunch.

On the boat ride (another hunk, eye candy) we saw a whale with her baby, the captain gave us 15min to get up close and personal with the whale and her baby. Then we went on to the park. Didn't see much of the animals that we were suppose to see, then again we chose a bad day, it was raining most of the day. But the humpback whale with her baby made up for the rest of the day.

Over all, excellent from every point of view, angle and direction. They took the PURA VIDA to the next level

Room Tip: Sarah (i think that was her name) will turn your stay at Jade mar, into the best experience ever. will, try to upload a picture later.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a total of 3 nights - 2 nights in Jade Mar, then 2 nights at Sirena, and then one more night at Jade Mar. Our room was clean and had air conditioning and a bathroom - basically all that we needed. What really made our stay pleasant was the owner of the hotel - she efficiently arranged all of our trips for us (our 2 night stay at the Sirena Ranger station, Cano Island Snorkelling, our night tour), and was very helpful with directions and any advice that we needed. The conveience of helping us make all those arrangements really increased the value of staying at this hotel! She was also kind enough to hold onto our suitcases of extra belongings and let us park our car in the hotel parking lot while we spent 2 days in Sirena. I would totally stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends staying in Drake Bay! To top it off, the hotel's restaurant (up the street) serves great Costa Rican fare.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

i understand while traveling there are things you let slide because you are used to a different level of service or experience but the 5 times i ate there (only place open late) and we added it to our bill so we could pay wish visa;but everything was awful.
The food was greasy, oily, either over cooked or undercooked... never came out the same.. i ordered arroz con pollo (my favorite dish in costa rica) and the chicken was not cooked, adn my plate apeared to be a soup of oil. they always seemed to be out of something and the server didnt seem to care about my needs. he sat at the bar and joked with his buddies. i tried to talk to the owner, and she didnt care. she came off as rude and not giving a damn about my needs or concerns. then she proceeded to start screaming at her staff in what I could only interpret as scolding, although i cant be sure. I could only insinuate the tone. i dont think i saw her smile once. some customer service.....i sent back a batido because it was not what i ordered and they charged me for it anyway! the place was dirty, hot and had loud obnoxious music blasting through dinner.
I try to be sympathetic to differences but you either cater to your clientel or you do not. this place does not. I do not recomend going there.

The hotel is really nice and relacing though and the workers there were pleasant during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are fine. Just eat and drink at others places in town.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny O, Gerente at Jade Mar Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Sr Jack


We welcome your comments, and respectfully ask apology for the bad experience you received in the Rest. . Likewise highlight the commentary that makes Hotel, and lets us see that all was not a bad experience.
The new administration has decided to focus on improving the opportunities all we hear from our customers, so steps were taken with the other businesses that we provide and guarantee excellent service and quality.

thanks
Johnny Obando h
management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews