We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Drake Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranked #7 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The owners, Felix and Monica, are two of the nicest people you will meet. Felix is a tour guide and Monica cooks at the small hotel. There probably aren't more than seven cabins. Monica cooks good Costa Rican food and Felix led us on a trip to Corcovado. He is very knowledgeable of the forest as he was one a park ranger.

There was no hot water nor AC which was not a problem in sleeping late at night. There is wi-fi on the deck when you ask for it. Very simple but good

Room Tip: There are two cabins that have the best views (they are also the most expensive). Ask for one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ujones_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Me and my gf, had the best time...

Pros:
- the balcony of the room, with the sight over the bay was lovely
- the ownercouple is really nice
- you can tell them if you want to eat there or not, day by day

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anymorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is what staying at a B&B should be like. Felix and his wife, Monica, were very gracious hosts. Her cooking was absolutely the best food we had while in Costa Rica. Felix helped us arrange for various trips and tours that we wanted to take while staying there and I did a little bit of looking around and found his prices to be competitive. The rooms are basic, but anything more would have felt excessive in this sleepy town. His covered porch overlooking the bay has to be one of the best views in the bay. If we ever go back to Costa Rica, we will be back to Felix's place.

Room Tip: The rooms with an ocean view are nice, and we had one, but we spent more time laying in the hammocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed one night at Ranchitos Las Cotingas.
The Cabins are nice, clean but basic.
The hosts Felix and Monica are really super nice and sweet!
They also cook for you - breakfast, dinner... which is nice.
The view from the patio is nice.

One need to know, that this is simple but nice place!
We can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naddel_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Drake bay was our favorite spot in Costa Rica. We were somewhat surprised when arriving by boat, we had to wade through the surf to go ashore. That turned out to be part of the charm. Las Cotingas is just up the hill from the beach and less than 2 blocks from the little town, which consists of 2 general stores and several restaurants scattered here and there. Felix and his wife, Monica were great hosts. Our room had a spectacular view and a deck overlooking the ocean. In the mornings many birds could be seen from the deck. This is an out-of-the-way destination with lots of nature and not many people. We would have liked to spend more than 3 days. Las Cotingas and Drake Bay are on our list of places to revisit.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Felix and Monica are great hosts. The view is breathtaking, the rooms are clean, the atmosphere is very relaxing and the food is good.
The trips we took from Ranchitos Las Contingas were great. Can escpecially recommend going to Sirena Station and perhaps spend the night. The wild life there is very diverse: several monkey species, Tapirs, Tukans, Scarlet Macows, a lot of other birds, Racoons, crocs, Pumas if you are lucky and much more. Felix arranged a guide called Carlos to lead us on tracks around Sirena Station. He is great and very knowledgeable. I really pays of to have a local guide when going into the wild, as they are much better at spotting wild life.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjergby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Las Cotingas has a breathtaking sight of Drake Bay. The ¨Ranchitos¨ are very comfortable with an amazing view of the ocean. They are surrounded by the top of the trees, so you can see and hear the birds (parakeets, hummingbird, and others) when they come to the top of the trees, I loved this! But, the ¨Ranchitos¨ are also surrounded by many plants and flowers, it´s beautiful.

Its owners, Félix and Mónica, give a very special service, a familiar service, as a result, you fill as in your home!

And the breakfast perfect for me, fresh and very sweet fruits, with a good coffee, an orange juice, and eggs or french toas, or pancakes, etc.

A great place to stay in Drake Bay

Room Tip: Rooms with a direct sight to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 46 in Drake Bay
394 reviews
0 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchitos Las Cotingas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchitos Las Cotingas

Address: Agujitas Town, Drake Bay 60503, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ranchitos Las Cotingas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cotingas provides a beautiful location, great cabins, and excellent service. We treat our clients as if they were at home. We have the best view of Drake Bay. Come and visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ranchitos Las Cotingas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchitos Las Cotingas Hotel Drake Bay
Ranchitos Las Cotingas Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing