We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay in Bahia Drake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martina's Place Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martina's Place Hostel
Ranked #2 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Stay in Bahia Drake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My older brother and I finished our two weeks traveling in Costa Rica by staying four nights in Drake Bay in search of amazing wildlife and gorgeous beaches. We heard a few recommendations for hostels but chose Martina's and couldn't have been happier. The hostel's crazy nice for the price, is super friendly, and makes your trip in Drake Bay completely easy/enjoyable. There's lots of space, it's right next to the beach, has great coffee, filtered water, and the always important fans. Martina's is also right in the middle of "town" so it's a short walk to either of the grocery stores, really affordable awesome restaurants/bars, and about a 30-40 minute walk to Cocalito Beach. They're about to finish some new dorms that also looked awesome...

Martina also had great recommendations/connections for land and sea tours of the Corcovado and Cano Island. If you're there for 3 days I'd ask Martina for info on the 2.5 hour walk/hike to Rio Claro - ask about the boat guy, go on a combo tour of Sirena, San Padrillo, and either do snorkeling or scuba. Even snorkeling with some rain and bad visibility I saw sharks, sea turtles, and was surrounded by thousands of fish. On the way back we also saw a few humpback whales and dolphins so I bet the whale watching tour is also great.

Hoping to go back some day.. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 14 March 2015
Hey Sam, thank you so much for this awesome review! One of the best ever :-) Please come back one day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    46
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
63
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

When the hostel is fully booked, it's an early birds and lively place. Every morning guests go on tours to Corcovado or caño island. Snorkling, diving or forresthikes, Martina knows the region verry well and can organise almost everything for her guest!

Everything fits to your needs as they have kitchen where you can cook, wifi, games to sit out a rainy moment, a market and laundry service nearby. It' humble and it needs a paintjob, but everything is clean and there will be more cabaña's soon.

When we arrived by boat there was someone waiting for us to pick us up and show us around. This place is surely the best option when your on a budget and there for wildlife adventures.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Joris, thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! It was a pleasure having you guys here almost a week! Paint job will be done in October, in the rainy rainy season :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at Martinas Place for three nights and enjoyed my stay very much. I liked the hostel right from the beginning as it is bright, tidy and clean. The atmosphere is relaxed and it provides everything a traveler needs > comfortable beds, a tropical garden with rocking chairs to relax, a kitchen with plenty of pans, pots and cutlery and even a blender.

Martina is a very pleasant and helpful host who books the tours to Corcovado etc and knows everything about public transportation, she is fluent in Spanish and English as well, so she can assist with the booking of the boat or public transport.

I booked the hostel one day in advance therefore I was picked up at the boat by Felix who works as a volunteer at Martinas Place. Felix is also German and he has just arrived in Drake Bay a couple of weeks ago and knows a lot about the area already and is a very pleasant companion.

Drake Bay was the best place I ve visited in CR. The natural beauty is stunning and unspoilt, the jungle reaches right to the beach and the bay is absolutely calm and perfect for a swim. The animals that you see, both in town and in the national park are still wild and shy and not as humanized as in Manuel Antonio. I ve seen plenty of species and the best thing was that I was lucky to be able to observe humpback whales three times within two days as it is the peak season for whales in this area at the moment!

I would highly recommend Martinas Place and hope that I ll come back to this fabulous place one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Google Translation
Danke Michaela fuer diese tolle Review!!! Du gehoerst auf jeden Fall zu den Gaesten die wir nicht gerne gehen lassen und wir hoffen, dich irgendwann wieder begruessen zu duerfen hier im Paradies Drake Bay! Liebe Gruesse, Martina und Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

When I entered Martina's Place, I instantly felt a welcoming vibe and felt like I had arrived at someone's house and I was a welcome house guest! Martina is very knowledgable on the area so ask her any questions. She can book tours for you and point you in the direction of nice walks around the island. Martina is very honest, generous, kind and really cares that her guests have a positive experience in Drake Bay. Her volunteer, Felix, is also very friendly, helpful and fun to hang out with. Felix was like a little brother - adding to the homely feel of Martina's Place! :)

There are a variety of different rooms to suit everyone's needs. We stayed in a private room, share bathroom - very spacious room and shower & toilet always immaculately clean! In fact, the entire house is extremely clean. The kitchen is one of the best I've seen in any hostel - tidy, clean, well equipped with everything you need to make whatever you want, big fridge, stove, microwave, blender...... It's a kitchen you want to use and cook in and feels like you're at home. Complimentary tea, coffee and filtered water available 24/7. Location is excellent - not even 5 min walk uphill from where boat drops you off on the beach. And also less than 5 min walk from super market, maybe 10 mins to the local bar! What more could you want?

No hesitation in recommending Martina's Place when you are in Drake Bay. We didn't actually want to leave Drake Bay because of it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKthinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am happy you liked it here and especially the kitchen....hope to see you back one day in here in paradise! Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Martina's Place is a cozy hostel in the heart of the DB town. The outdoor hammock and table area is a nice place to end a long day of hiking and to tell tales of the amazing wildlife that you are sure to see. Martina is the real star of the show and is an excellent host.. her knowledge of the area is superb and whatever it is you want to do, she'll make it happen. The Corcovado tours were as amazing as expected, and I also highly recommend the (free) hike to Rio Claro that she can give you the inside scoop on -- it was amazing and the highlight of my trip. Specifically for solo travelers looking to meet others, there might be better options in DB simply because this place is small and not "dorm centric," but I imagine this is considered a positive for most people. Overall, excellent place in an excellent area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Aidan, thank you so much for this wonderful review! You have to come back because we built new dorms, so you will meet more budget travelers to chat :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at Martina's place for 6 weeks in Feb./March 2014 and it was just awesome. The hostel is not even 5 minutes from the beach and it is located very conventiently in the center of a little quiet village near beautiful beaches, rainforests, and one the largest national parks in Costa Rica (Corcovado). It ist just an amazing location with lots of wildlife and the friendliest people I have ever met.

Martina is a very open, friendly, honest, and amazing person. She cares about everyone, her guests, her volunteers, her friends, and her animals. The hostel is in very good condition and super clean. It should be typical in a hostel environment that if a guest has a problem there needs to be someone who takes care of it. And Martina always cares about her guests and their needs, whatever it may be. She or her volunteers always jump in whenever she can. I had a wonderful time there with lots and lots of good advice to explore the area, the rainforest, the beaches and reefs and did not want to leave at all. I also met a tremendous amount of amazing people from all over the world, some of which became new friends. I certainly want to go back this year once more and also in the coming years whenever I can.

A truly great host and an unforgettable experience that I can nothing but recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: The tents are great and come with a double bed and mosquito net. Even though they are not cheaper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langzeitreisend... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for this great and detailed review! I truly appreciate it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have spent several days here and am delighted. My room is quiet and comfortable. It is situated in the middle of the small town of Drake with easy access to stores, shops and eateries. A beautiful garden area and a covered area with hammocks as well as comfortable tables and chairs. Her staff is very helpful but best of all is Martina! She is full of life and you can tell she really wants to help everyone as much as she can and clearly a happy person. She offers all the best tours in the area and at good prices. She is not simply a hostel operator but truly your best friend with a big heart. Always upgrading the premises you can tell she wants things as pleasant as possible and for everyone to be comfortable while having the best experience at the hostel and out and about in this gorgeous corner of the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brent h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Brent, I feel flattered by this review! Thank you so much! Big hug and hope to see you again in Drake Bay...you sure have friends here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.7 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.8 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 18 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Manolo
Cabinas Manolo
#6 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martina's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina's Place Hostel

Property: Martina's Place Hostel
Address: Agujitas | Contiguo la Iglesia Cristiana, Drake Bay 60506, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martina's Place Hostel in Drake Bay -Clean hostel with familiar atmosphere -2 min. to beach and supermarkets -All Tours to Corcovado, Cano Island and around Drake Bay -Big fully equipped kitchen for self cooking -Free coffee & tea, oil, salt and sugar. -Small restaurant for breakfast and dinner. -Hot water showers -WiFi -Hammocks -Free parking -Free luggage store Martina's Place is located in the center of Agujitas, which is usually called Drake Bay. It is 2 minutes to the beach and around the corner are supermarkets, restaurants, bakeries and an ice-cream place. You can cook in our big kitchen and sit, chat and eat in our roofed patio. There is also a small restaurant on the properties. A guitar is waiting to be played. We can organize all tours to Corcovado Nationalpark for you, including the overnight tours, as well as tours to Cano Island for snorkeling, diving or whale & dolphin watch. You should not plan your stay too short, since there is a lot to do around Drake Bay, for example the hike to Rio Claro (with swimming at the waterfall) which you can do by yourself! We have good WiFi connection.Drake Bay is located on the borders of Corcovado Nationalpark on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. The village is small, unspoilt and authentic, surrounded by abundant nature. All throughout Drake Bay you can hear the howler monkeys or the croaking of the scarlett macaws... Attention! There is no bank or ATM in Drake Bay. Bring enough cash or pay with card (+4% banking fee). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martina's Place Hostel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing