We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing in a non crowded place”
Review of Cabinas Pura Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Pura Vida
Ranked #5 of 19 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing in a non crowded place”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The rooms are very clean and spacious, also the bath - excellent. Nice small place to stay only a few minutes footwalk from the beach. Supermarket only minutes away. Victor is very helpful organizing everything :-) Really recommendable!! When i'll come again, i will stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmjpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    31
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
63
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Cabinas Pura Vida were exactly as we expected, except that the restaurant was closed (we had been told it would be open). The rooms were clean with good storage options. The location was great, a short walk to restaurants, but past them up the hill, so not as much foot traffic going by the cabinas. The manager was very helpful and apologetic when we had some very loud teenagers in the rooms next to us. Overall I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orland,ca
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The rooms at Cabinas Pura Vida are spotless. the bathroom is spacious,the beds are very comfortable(I have a bad back). The breakfast that is available is tasty. The four of us were very pleased with the whole package. Victor did a very good job of making us feel at home,as well well as the two other young men who manned the desk as days passed. I'm looking forward to another trip to CR, and will make it a point to contact these fine people as our plans become solid...Mike Otkins...Orland,California,USA

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a really lovely place, made so especially be the owners and staff. After a long day on the beach or hiking through the jungle it was great to come back to such a relaxing environment. There are plenty of hammocks and the rooms are spacious and clean. Most of all we enjoyed the onsite restaurant. The staff were exceptionally friendly, we had great breakfasts, lunches and their Euro cuisine dinners were easily the best in town. I asked for a recipe of a sweet ginger sauce that I can't wait to try at home! I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place at reasonable rates this is it. Not as cheap as a Hostel, but we could not find any Hostels in Drake Bay. Victor was very helpful and went out of way to help us out with things such as letting us know that we could take a boat to Sierpe instead having to take the bus and making reservations for us for the boat. It is not far to walk to the beach or stores and the restaurant was open really early for breakfast for all who wanted to head out early for their trek, beaches, etc. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Always check the showers in the rooms. Many places do not have hot water and even if they say they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have spent two nights at Cabinas Pura Vida. It´s a really nice place to stay. The service is great. Victor helped us with all kinds of questions and arranged a boat and shuttle all the way up north. Besides that it wasn´t a problem at all to leave our stuff for a night when we did a two day trekking in the Corcovado NP. The restaurant next to the cabinas serves good food. And.. the only bar in town is a minute away. Don´t hesitate to book this place, we really recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reims, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Victor is a very nice guy, who really help us for our trip. the room are very confortable and spacious, plus a a service very clean. He really gave us good advice for everything. it's a wondefrul place to stay and you are close to the main street, with all the activities for nights. I really advise this place for people coming in Corcovado with a fair budget and with a social life.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 19 in Drake Bay
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 19 in Drake Bay
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Manolo
Cabinas Manolo
#6 of 19 in Drake Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Pura Vida

Property: Cabinas Pura Vida
Address: | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Pura Vida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Drake Bay Cabins is located in the center of Drake Bay just 400 meters from the beach, since its opening in 2007 to been operated by a couple of young Costa Ricans, Norlyn and Gabriela. All our rooms have air conditioning, private bathrooms, hot water and we offer our new kitchen for your convenience. We also have a secure parking and beautiful garden with hammocks right on the terrace of your room. We also organize guided tours to Corcovado National Park (Sirena or San Pedrillo Station) Cano Island (Diving or snorkeling) and more! Cabinas Pura Vida is your best option in Bahia Drake by price, quality and service, we will be glad to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Pura Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Pura Vida Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing