We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden jem”
Review of Rio Drake Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Drake Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stumbled upon the farm on hostel world and decided to give it a try. Before arriving, I was able to email with Sabrina to find out more about Drake bay and to finalize plans and transportation needs, as it can be a little tricky. Sabrina was very helpful and quick to respond. Upon arriving to Drake bay, Edu picked us up, (not knowing that it was located at the end of the runway). Both Edu and Sabrina were very nice and willing to help us enjoy our stay as much as possible. Meals could be purchased and Sabrina was a very good cook. the rooms and bathrooms were very well maintained. there were hammocks for guests to enjoy the views and to relax. The beach was a quick walk away. there is very little electricity so i would recommend bringing flashlights or headlamps. they can also arrange excursions such as snorkeling, the bug lady and trips to Corcovado national park.

the farm is secluded and very low key. it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the pura vida!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Rio Drake Farm in January 2014, and found it to be a well kept secret with many beautiful surprises. The rooms are clean, hammocks are plentiful, and the food was delicious. It's a very low-key spot to truly get away and enjoy nature. Transportation is a bit tricky, but Edu and Sabrina are very helpful in organizing rides or even driving you themselves. They make it feel like their home is yours, with a cozy and welcoming environment. Perfect vacation getaway for those looking to rough it a little and live more like a local.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamra5989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Rio Drake farm for three nights. The two of us together with our one year old child. It was really one of the best experiences of our Costa Rica holidays. The true Costa Rica. The place is a nice get away, no electricity... Back to basics. :-) The rooms together with the hammocks allow for some relaxation. And the view... What a view looking out on the ocean.

Edu en Sabrina are two very nice people, very friendly. We have had some nice conversations. And also very good food. Believe me, you have to have dinner/breakfast at least once.

We did a night tour, searching for snakes, frogs an toads, with the brother of Edu. This is really a recommender too. Saw some unbelievable things. The best end of our vacation

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank standoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in the dormitory and I had a great time. Rio Drake Farm is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful aspects of nature close to the place where you sleep. During my stay I saw turtles, caymans, a crocodile, macaws, a snake, toucans and a lot of birds and reptiles close to the lodge! The beach is perfect and I can assure you that nobody else is there. The tours provided by the lodge are perfect and offer great value for your money. The hosts Edu and Sabrina are lovely people and they will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. What else is there to say? I think there is only one way to find out how good this lodge is: Go there!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at Rio Drake Farm for 5 nights during our CR trip and we loved every single day! The cozy huts, the hammocks, the sunsets, the walks through the jungle during which we were accompanied by white-face and howler monkeys and aras, the miles long beaches all for ourselves... There is no hot water and only limited electricity which, however, did not bother us at all. If you enjoy horseback riding (perfect for beginners too!) I strongly reccomend to go on a tour along the beaches and through the jungle with Sabrina. Most of all we enjoyed the hospitality of Edu and Sabrina, the best hosts we've had during our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Verik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comment about us and Rio Drake Farm. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your horseback ride with us! We would like to thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Edu and Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We found Sabrina and Edu great hosts and now consider them friends. The rooms were rustic but clean and were cleaned every day by Sabrina. Cool water showers were quickly adjusted to and felt so good at the end of a hot, humid day. The food was simple but amazing. Sabrina and edu cook up local delights with a lot of fruit an vegetable and was it perfect for us vegetarians. Sabrina's food presentation was so beautifully done that you almost did not want to mess it up by eating it. Since the quarters are limited the few other guest quickly became friends and we enjoyed their company on hikes and activities. Edu and Sabrina went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

Room Tip: The 1 room on the back of the dorm did not have in-room bathroom, although access to two bathrooms j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wb4lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comment and for staying with us here at Rio Drake Farm. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay and the meals. It was nice to have you here, we consider you friends, too! And we really hope to see you again in future! Thanks for everything, Edu and Sabrina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Rio Drake Farm is a very small hostel right next to the airport (and by "airport" I mean landing strip and two tiny buildings) in Drake Bay. It is the perfect place to go for a departure from the touristic areas in Costa Rica. Edu and Sabrina were the nicest hosts ever - seriously good people, solid, smart, and really take care of their guests, Edu changing his cell phone sim card so that I could use the internet to make future travel plans. They also cook great food. Though it's more monetarily economical to cook for yourself, I highly recommend at least one dinner or breakfast there. The night is lit with candles, as there is no electricity, and you can sometimes hear the animals in the trees and see toucans during the day - just perfect for nature lovers. The hostel is about a 15 minute drive from "downtown" and is a few minutes' walk from a beach that will literally have no other people on it due to it's somewhat remote location. Overall, a peaceful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank talii222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you very much! It was nice to have you here with us, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 46 in Drake Bay
392 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
370 reviews
47.2 mi away
Cabinas el Colibri
Cabinas el Colibri
#18 of 46 in Drake Bay
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamandua Biological Station
Tamandua Biological Station
#14 of 46 in Drake Bay
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Drake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Drake Farm

Address: 700mts oeste Aeropuerto de Drake, El Progreso | Peninsula de Osa, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Drake Farm is located in Drake Bay, on the beautiful Peninsula de Osa of Costa Rica, surrounded by jungle, beach and lots of wildlife. Here you can find: •Tranquility and Nature - perfect for relaxing •Idyllic location - Jungle, River, Lagoon and a lonesome beach are within spitting distance, far away from road traffic •Scenic sunsets with the pacific ocean and the Cano island in the background •Scarlet Macaws, Hummingbirds, Iguanas, Kinkajous, Caimans and more wildlife that visit our farm and its surroundings •Thematic guest rooms decorated with paintings from the local wildlife •Balconies with traditional roofs of palm leaves and hammocks invite to chill out •Romantic candlelight after sunset •Freshly prepared meals served in our restaurant with ocean view •Own Arabian and Costa-Rican horses that graze on our pastures •Guided tours to Corcovado National Park with its huge species richness, Snorkeling or Diving at the Cano Island's reserve and many more... •Canoes and trails for individual exploration of the environment Pure nature and a team that cares a lot about the well-being of their guests are waiting for you at Rio Drake Farm. We are looking forward to your visit, Edu and Sabrina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Drake Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Drake Farm Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing