We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had been to Costa Rica once before and visited Arenal and Manuel Antonio. We loved the country, the people, and the food and were anxious to return. The people of Costa Rica have a genuine pride in their country and a true respect for nature. This time, for our honeymoon, we wanted to be a bit more “off the grid”. We couldn’t have found a better spot than Copa de Arbol.

After spending time in the cloud forest at San Gerardo de Dota, we drove down to Sierpe. We were greeted promptly on the dock by the stunningly beautiful Lisa and Matula from Copa de Arbol and treated to a wonderful boat ride down the Sierpe River and into Drake Bay. The scenery was beautiful and the girls were so friendly and sweet that it immediately put us at ease. We were definitely “getting away from it all”. When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted by smiling Johnny at the front desk and Henry from the dining room, with moist towel and a coconut drink in hand to refresh us from our travels. Our bags were brought to our room while we enjoyed lunch with a spectacular ocean view. The property is lush and beautifully landscaped - really unique. The pool is fantastic - three levels with ocean views. The cabins were great. (We stayed in two different cabinas during our stay. They didn’t have availability in one cabina for the whole time.) Number 10 was a bit smaller, but with a great ocean view from the balcony. Number 4 was larger, with views of the ocean and the surrounding property. Both were very private, beautifully furnished, spacious, air conditioned, with comfortable beds and pillows, great showers, and hammocks and ceiling fans in the outdoor space.

We went on the Cano Island snorkeling tour on our first full day and saw incredible fish, lobsters, and sea turtles. The next day we hiked at Corcovado National Park and saw humpback whales on our way, and trogons, spider and howler monkeys, coatis, a scarlet macaw, a crocodile, crested guans, baby hummingbirds in a nest, curassow, and even the elusive tapir. Mauricio, our guide for both tours, was knowledgeable and fun. Each day, happy and exhausted, we came back and relaxed at the pool and on the beach. Although the beach right in front of the resort is not a white sand beach, it’s very beautiful with warm water and great swimming. I spotted a toucan up in a tree one afternoon when we were at the pool, and about ten capuchin monkeys put on a show for us outside the dining room one afternoon at lunch. It’s a nature lover’s idyll - the perfect combination of outdoor fun and luxurious relaxation in incredible surroundings.

Three meals and an afternoon snack are included in the price. The food is delicious and made with the freshest ingredients. And let yourself be tempted by the desserts. They’re exceptional. Bravo to chef Miguel and Henry, Orlando, and Ivan.

But all of that being said, what sets this place apart is the staff. From owners Jay and Mike on down, everyone was incredibly friendly and easy and accommodating. The vibe is laid back and the resort is relatively small. In no time at all, you find yourself making friends with other guests and staff. One afternoon, we spotted some dolphins out at sea and Jay immediately called in one of the boats to take a group of us out to get a closer look. And we were touched that the staff surprised us with dinner in the private dining room on our last night to celebrate our honeymoon. Gay friendly, indeed. But really just sincerely friendly to everyone who is lucky enough to stay with them.

Mike and Jay have created a slice of heaven. We’ll treasure our memories of time spent there. Would we go back? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadjackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you both for choosing to spend your honeymoon here at Copa De Arbol. We are very aware that people have many great options when choosing a place a place to stay here in Costa Rica. We deeply appreciate and respect the opportunity to provide the type of experience you describe in your review. It is always a pleasure to watch guests unwind and truly relax while they absorb the amazing environment that surrounds us here on the Osa. It was a pleasure to meet you both and here’s wishing you many happy anniversaries! Come spend one with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
186
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Copa de Arbol resort (in the Bamboo Cabin) for 3 nights in 3rd week in January this year. This resort is outstanding: small enough to be personal, and large enough to be interesting. We have traveled extensively and are amazed at how this resort and its well-trained staff have been established, especially since they have been in business less than 2 years. Copa de Arbol is the perfect place to stay if you want to "play hard" (hike, snorkel, ride or swim) during the day and "live well" (swim in the pool, enjoy great food and drink, and sleep well) at night. Our "wet landing" arrival was easy and comfortable; clearly, the staff has had hundreds of wet landing experience. The resort team was helpful in planning our arrival and very thoughtful (they kept my gift to my husband - an inshore fishing excursion - a secret). Our cabin was exceptionally clean and large and had comfortable beds, nice linen, and a bathroom with a 2-person shower. Beautiful large glass windows with screens and a veranda wrap around 3 sides of the cabin, with views to the ocean (a little blocked by the tress, but no matter) and jungle. Our cabin had an efficient air conditioning system as well as two ceiling fans, and elevated cabins (such as ours) have one or two hammocks suspended underneath to enjoy shade and quiet time. There is a superlative restaurant and bar overlooking the ocean and the gardens. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners were absolutely wonderful: pork with tangerine sauce; fresh sea bass with garlic and mushroom sauce; grilled red snapper with mole sauce; mixed meat tortillas with avocado salsa and black beans ... and the most tasty French toast for breakfast. The menu changes daily, and all food allergies and preferences are accommodated. We had done some tours of Corcovado Park on a previous stay in the area; this time we went horseback riding along the beach (an enjoyable morning), hiked to Drake's Bay along a beach/jungle trail (about one hour one way), hiked along the beach towards Rio Claro, and my husband took an inshore fishing excursion that he enjoyed very much. He was quite successful, reeling in five large red snappers and an amber jack, with thanks to an experienced Costa Rican captain. We saw squadrons of pelicans, toucans, scarlet macaws and other birds, morpho and other butterflies and snakes, and we heard the howler monkeys close to our cabin ... There is ample opportunity to see the wildlife you'd expect to see in the area. Overall, this was a wonderful vacation, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Susan, thank you for reminding me about all those fish Konrad brought back and shared with everyone that afternoon. That was quite a catch of Wahoo, Red Snapper, Yellow Fin Tuna and I believe a nice Green Jack. That was one of the best days of fishing any guest has had since we’ve opened, and it’s hard to top a fresh fish dinner prepared by chef Miguel after a long day spent exploring the Osa and it’s waters. Thanks for taking he time to post this review and come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed @ Copa de Arbol in January for 3 nights. Everything is perfect, they pay attention on every detail. We stayed at Room 1, Coco, which has a very nice sea view from the balcony and is the closest to the beach and the restaurant. Allbof the staff were very friendly, and the kitchen excellent! If you plan to go to Drake Bay this is the place to go!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Lars we are very thankful that you and Adrian chose to spend your time on the Osa with us here at CDA. It is our goal to provide an experience as close to perfect as we can, so thanks for recognizing our efforts and sharing your feelings here. Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Copa de Arbol for 4 nights in mid January. We loved everything about this place: location, our cabin, activities, food, and the staff.
We stayed in Bamboo cabin #7. The upstairs room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We were so thankful for the air conditioning! Although we loved the warm and humid Costa Rican weather, it was really nice to return from hiking in the rain forest to a cool room. I think that most hotels on the Osa peninsula have an open air plan (no windows) but I personally cannot imagine being exposed to the bugs and spiders of the rainforest. Having your windows closed will not isolate you from your surroundings; you will still hear the beautiful sounds of the jungle and waves lapping against the shore.
The main lodge has an upstairs bar and restaurant. The breakfast menu was extensive (try the French toast), plus you could get an unlimited amount of exotic fruit at a small buffet station. At lunch and dinner time there was a choice of two entrees. We always opted for fish and enjoyed every single meal. If you like frozen drinks, try their pina colada. They use chunks of pineapple and real coconut water to make the drink. It was the best pina colada I’ve ever had.
We took 4 tours: Corcovado national park at San Pedrillo station; Corcovado national park at La Sirena station; Cano Island snorkel tour; and a night rainforest tour. Every single one of these tours was excellent. If you want to do just one tour to Corcovado, do the La Sirena station. We saw an unbelievable amount of animals there (all four species of monkeys, an anteater, peccaries, coati and many beautiful birds). The Corcovado tour around the San Pedrillo station was beautiful too (and it included a dip into a waterfall pool) and we saw some monkeys and a sloth there but the area was not teeming with as much life as the La Sirena Station. While we were taking the hotel boat to Cano Island and Corcovado, we saw whales and dolphins! It was such a beautiful experience. The night tour is a must. We got to see the Costa Rican unofficial mascot during this tour, the tree frog.
Our two guides were amazing! Pleasant, very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fluent in English. Three of our four tours were with Jose – he had such a fantastic energy about him and a great sense of humor, and we honestly enjoyed spending time with him.
In fact, the entire staff was beyond amazing. Not in an obsequious way, but in a super pleasant way. It seemed that everybody enjoyed their job and we felt pampered the entire time. We welcomed the hotel’s tipping policy: instead of carrying around cash and tip for every meal, drink and tour, the hotel suggested that we leave 5% - 10% of our final bill on our credit card at the end of our stay. We gladly left the 10% tip when we were leaving.
We travel extensively all over the world and Copa de Arbol makes it into our top 3 hotels. If you like nature and you need a place to unwind, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post this informative review. With so many beautiful places to stay here on the Osa, we are pleased to have met your expectations and even more proud to make your top three list. It was a pleasure meeting you both. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

at this exceptional property! A plane ride from San Jose, a boat ride across the waters through a mangrove, brings you to the shores of Copa de Arbol in the Osa Penisula. And from then on, one is transported to another place, another world...one where you shed your cares, the minutia of one's daily life and the constant barage of unfortunate daily news reports. And for those few days, let the incredible staff take you further into experiencing this lovely place. Jay and Mike have done it right...individual cabins were constructed with thought and do not intrude into the fragile surroundings. One sees simplicity and elegance everywhere, rooms, open dining area, serene pool, and patio....baths are also very modern, functional and complete with all amenities. Air conditioning allows you to choose open windows or not! And then, the food...everything is fresh, well presented and choices that appeal to everyone. Fish is wonderfully fresh and happy hour is complete with sushi or something enticing from the kitchen...we were continually amazed with the quality and with the dining room staff, patient, engaging and considerate. There is nothing that will not be done for you to make your experience memorable, it is only with a certain sadness that you depart escorted to the shore by the manager to catch the boat back to reality..
enjoy it all.........thank you Copa...for the monkeys playing outside our deck and for the thunderous tropical rain shower at night...we loved it all...

Room Tip: Mango #2 is perfectly situated by the dining room, porch with a perfect view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Reading your review brought me back to how I felt on my first trip to the Osa. The minute I set foot on the beach here I knew I had to stay. I felt such a sense of escape and true relaxation that I couldn’t turn back..and it was those feelings that led to the creation of Copa De Arbol. We are glad you felt and absorbed the true essence of the Osa and chose Copa as the place to do it!! Thanks for sharing come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is run by an extremely friendly and efficient team who are eager to please at all times. The warm welcome, delightful staff and fabulous location all helped us realise what a special place we were in. Although a limited choice of food, the selection was excellent and included some very good local dishes. None of the meals were disappointing at all. We were particularly impressed when a pod of False Orca Whales were spotted passing through the bay and the hotel staff ensured that we were called and taken out on a boat to see this unforgettable sight. Our three days relaxing at Copa de Arbol were a perfect end to a wonderful holiday in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Although room 10 was delightful I would avoid 10 & 11 as they are joined and you can sometimes h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank papillon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are always ready to take advantage of the spontaneous moments that arise on any given day. False killer whales are quite rare, and to see them right in front of the hotel was truly special. Luckily we had a boat that had just pulled up and we were able to go and get a closer look. Feeling the spray from their blowholes as they exhaled will stay in the memories of those lucky enough to be here to share that exciting moment for a long time to come. Thanks for sharing and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Copa de Arbol
Our expectations were very high when we arrived at this resort. We were in no way disappointed. The property was exquisite. The villas were more than comfortable and the view from our room was enjoyed both morning and evening.
We felt at home as soon as we arrived and were greeted by their amazing staff (from Angel at the beach landing to Orlando's cordial service in the restaurant). The food was always fresh and perfectly prepared. The chef is amazing. We enjoyed several adventures with our knowledgable, helpful, and
accommodating guide, Jose. Jay assisted us with ample directions to make
us comfortable with long hikes on well marked paths to isolated beach coves.
We enjoyed our trip which started with a boat ride through the mangos; it is the best way to get to resort. We stayed 6 nights and the longer we stayed the longer we
wanted to stay.

Room Tip: Our Villa was Teka 11 and although it may be the farthest from the beach and restaurant, it is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Our daily goal is to provide every guest with the same personalized experience and service they have read about here on Trip Advisor. With all these over the top reviews, people’s expectations are rightfully high. We are very pleased to have met yours. Thank you for taking the time to share experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
22.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Property: Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Address: Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copa De Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort is an intimate, remote eco-conscious beachfront Drake Bay resort set among 70 acres of pristine rainforest reserve. Located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated between Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa De Arbol Beach And Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing