We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! An unbelievable experience!”
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow! An unbelievable experience!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were celebrating a big wedding anniversary with a trip to Costa Rica and this place was suggested by our travel agent. Wow! What an idyllic place! Wildlife everywhere with knowledgeable guides to point them out. Delicious healthy meals included as well as the air, taxi and boat transportation to get there. Guided tours all included. Staff were all super nice and attentive. Beautiful accommodations with open air bathrooms, verandas with spectacular ocean views....beautiful grounds. One day without an activity is good so you can enjoy just being there.A few caveats... The boat ride to get there can be nerve wracking in bad weather which we had on our arrival. When it rained, we had to remind ourselves we are in the rain forest in the rainy season so be prepared to go for the activities in the rain.After you've been here, every place else pales in comparison so go towards the end of your Costa Rican adventure"

Room Tip: We had room number 3... It's might be the nicest villa! How did we get it? Only my travel age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LawY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy06osa, Gerente at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Lawrence,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for La Paloma. We are happy to hear that you and Ellen enjoyed your stay with us. The purpose of the hotel is to combine the natural beauty of the area while also focusing on the guest experience. During the green season we can get rain throughout the day, but fortunately we have very experienced boat captains that can navigate the choppy waters to insure safety. Congratulations on Ellen and your wedding anniversary. We wish you many more wonderful years of travel and adventure together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    43
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
148
213
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The staff/The resort/the ambience were all phenomenal!
We did not know exactly what to expect, but we were so pleased that this was "A Good Stop!"
It could not have been better!
Thanks Jess and everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genekirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy06osa, Gerente at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for La Paloma Lodge. All of us at La Paloma are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip. We are also honored that we got to spend time with Holton on his big 10th birthday trip. We hope to see all of you back at La Paloma again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 days. We have stayed at other hotels in Drake Bay and on the OSA Peninsula and this is the best one. Very personal service, food wonderful, and cottages private and beautiful. Don' miss the "bug lady" tour, or the mangrove kayak. We spent an overnight in Sirena Ranger Station which was fun and took the trip to Cano Island. Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy06osa, Owner at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Fran,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. All of us at La Paloma take great pride in our work, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the lodge, your rancho, and the tours that you took during your trip. It was our pleasure to host you, Judy and Catherine. We hope to see you again back at La Paloma Lodge.

Best,
Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I have wanted to stay in an Eco Lodge and experience being in the rain forest and being away from it all. I used the Lonely Planet guide as a start and then looked at comments n Trip Advisor. I was in the Peace Corps in Ghana so was used to the rain forest, but went with my boyfriend who had never done anything like this. It was great for both of us! We were upgraded to a Rancho as it was available and loved the seclusion and being above the canopy, seeing the ocean and the birds. The food was quite good and the staff very nice and helpful. We especially want to thank Jessie the Manager, as she was the right amount of friendly and professional. It turns out that they need four people for a tour, so that as only two, you might not always get the tour you want on the day you want. However, she helps make it work. We loved the Mango tour and the Rain forest park tour. We were lucky, as we were there at the end of the non rainy season, so there were less people and we had tours of only four and in one case, we were by ourselves as no one else was available. It is a beautiful spot and we enjoyed the pool and beach equally. It is good to just enjoy and have a couple of days to just relax. You do need to be able to walk up some small grades of hills, so you need to be in reasonable shape, as you walk up a hill from the boat to the main lodge and rooms. We also did the zip line tour that was available in the area. It was very well done and you had 11 platforms and so 11 zipped. A bit scary as you also had to climb up ladders in the forest at different stations and once you started, you couldn't stop. We also did the bug lady tour which was interesting and the only way we saw the frogs with the red eyes that you see in books. We did have some torrential rains at night, but mostly, it was just beautiful, somewhat humid, but quite wonderful to sleep with the windows open and the breezes. We would definitely come again! Thanks again to Jessie, Pius, Tobias, Patricia, Silus, and Dinia for making our trip so enjoyable. I just saw a review since we had been there and we had bacon every day, but they could have offered different salads every day and I would agree that the night of the fajitas was not enough food. However, the steak and fish dinners were great! I didn't come for the food, I came for the environment which was great!

Room Tip: Our room was closest to the beach. Very quiet, but a good walk in case you have trouble walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy06osa, Owner at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Lucy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Here at La Paloma Lodge we pride ourselves on excellent customer service while maintaining a balance with the nature that surrounds us. All of us here at La Paloma are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the various tours and the hotel grounds. At La Paloma we are constantly trying to improve every aspect of the hotel and hospitality experience that we offer. The menu offers a delicious variety of international and typical dishes with the freshest produce. We strive to provide a vacation of a lifetime for each of our clients. We appreciate your critique and feedback which we will use to make us better. We hope to see you again at La Paloma Lodge.

Mike and Sue
Owners-La Paloma Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I went to La Paloma again in May of 2013, after being there in May of 2012. I could not have had two more diverse experiences. Nicole, the original manager is gone. Let me count the bad things from the 2013 trip. I couldn't get bacon with my breakfast. Not once in 5 days. They were "out". I've been to Drake Bay more than once, if there is one thing that is plentiful, it's pigs and bacon.

They forgot to schedule a horseback ride for another couple that we met. This did not impact me directly, but it again points to a lack of attention to detail.

I scheduled a massage. Had I not gone back to the mgmt and asked them a second time if it had been scheduled, there would have been no massage.

The food portions were either a) small, or b) generally lousy food. Fajitas are not made of fish. Not in any part of Latin America. Ever. Lunches were an overdose of fruit, which is arguably abundant, but can you stop offering me the same crappy dried fish salad day after day after day?

I couldn't wait to go back to La Paloma after we had stayed there in 2012. I can't wait to never go back there again. It was the suck. A solid C minus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricFromAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy06osa, General Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Jenny,
I am sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your vacation at La Paloma this year. Here at the lodge we take criticism to heart and have immediately started implementing change. Your candid review has pushed to re-polish the experience that we share with all of our guests. We pride ourselves in providing each guest with the best experience possible.
The team at La Paloma Lodge is regretful that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback.

Nichole DuPont
General Manager
(formally on sabbatical)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific time at La Paloma. The owner, manager, and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, quickly learning our names and interests. The guides really know their stuff and couldn't have been nicer. We went scuba diving with Giant Mantas and sharks, saw tapirs, coatis, sloths, four monkey species and more on our hikes to San Pedrillo and La Sirena stations in Corcovado Park, and also enjoyed the mangrove boat tour and the night hike with Gian and Tracie, the "Bug Lady". We logged over 85 bird species during the week. The weather was hot at the end of March but the ceiling fans in our deluxe rancho made for comfortable sleeping even without air conditioning. The food was varied and quite tasty. The only problem was that the week ended too quickly. We'd happily go back again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario CAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed at La Paloma for a week in April. After researching various eco-lodges in the Osa Penninsula, we chose La Paloma based on the many good reviews. We were not disappointed- we highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking for the accommodations and lovely surroundings of an all-inclusive resort packaged in a small lodge setting. The Corcovado Park tour, Cano Island snorkeling, Mangrove tour, Night Bug tour, horseback riding, kayaking and hiking trails offer small group experiences with the diverse wildlife and plants in the area. Unfortunately the terrain would be a challenge for anyone with mobility issues. The staff was great - Jessica, Tibs, Alex, Abraham and Jamaica always greet you by your first name and stop to chat or ask about your day. Walter was a super guide on the Corcovado and Mangrove tours. The room choices are unique, well-designed and well-maintained, The standard rooms are close to the lodge but with the lush vegetation surrounding the building, the rooms feel secluded and private. Rancho #1 was beautiful - the view excellent! We were entertained by a troop of capuchin monkeys outside our room and a shy coati who each morning descended from the tree by our deck. The family style seating at dinner is a great way to meet and mingle with other guests at the end of the day. The food was fresh, delicious and well-presented with just the right sized portions. No typical buffets, heat lamps and warming trays here! La Paloma is an idyllic, memorable spot and we would love to return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandl972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Property: La Paloma Lodge
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Paloma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing