We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, staff, views, food, ..........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirate Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pirate Cove
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place, staff, views, food, ..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked 4 nites, stayed 5. The staff is much more than terrific, they really make your Drake experience above and beyond exceptional. The boat ride from Sierpe, landing on the beach in front of Pirate Cove was exciting and an adventure. Our 3rd boat landing in Drake, but first at this time of year so waves were high and exciting, and animals and birds down the river portion very numerous. Check in with Nelson was very organized and he is a super guy. Very knowledgeable and friendly, able to make most anything you want or need happen. He showed us to our Cabina which was clean, water pressure great and hot if you need it that way, mosquito nets over bed (which we never needed !) and a super view of river adjoining property and ocean where we were were lucky enough the second day while sitting on deck to see Mama Whale (Humpback) and baby practicing their tail slaps and jumps in the bay. All of the staff and other guests joined us on the beach, watching this spectacular show..Elizabeth and Marisela are terrific cooks and the food is quite excellent, well above the norm, and meals were fun with other guests. Tours are arranged after arrival, which is practical and cost effective for guests. The addition of 2 or four other travelers reduces your excursion cost and truly makes the experience more enjoyable. More eyes see more animals. The grounds are well kept, cleaned daily, and the only "things" on the low area by beach are kayaks, paddles, and several small fishing boats. River area by hotel is great area to cool off in, clean and fresh running water, would be great for kids instead of ocean. Chino is the boat Captain who made the snorkeling and whale watching trip the best we have ever taken. Dolphins followed the boat wake he purposely made for them, jumping and spinning within 10 feet of us. Primo and Alberto who are the carpenters and security not only give you a feeling of safety but are friendly, funny and will do most anything to show you a good time.Thanks for opening our cocunuts and carrying our 4 week suitcases. Would we return?...definitely at a moments notice, Would we recommend?.. without hesitation. Having been to Drake 3 other times in the last 4 years we truly feel this most special area offers so much each and every time and Pirate Cove Hotel is truly a Pirates Treasure. Thanks for a marvelous time, and see you soon.

Room Tip: all of the rooms we looked at were very nice, good views, and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiesty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    83
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
72
178
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 days right at the end of our trip and had a very special time.
It's certainly not luxurious (nor meant to be); the accommodation is very simple but perfectly adequate and designed to make a minimal environmental impact.

The overall ambience is friendly, informal and low key, which we really liked.

Any concerns we may have had about our teens missing a pool or other facilities were quickly dismissed. They were more than happy to lie about in a hammock; mess about in the kayaks and play games.

Pirate Cove is located right on a really wild natural beach and while the area directly outside the hotel was not great for swimming while we were there (there was a very high tide and there is a river which was sending some quite muddy water into the sea) just further along the coast the beach wide and gorgeous.

There are a number of activities and trips on offer and we and all our fellow guests were up early to make the most of the day. The tours were quite expensive - but certainly I would not have missed doing them and seeing something of this stunning area.

We went on a snorkelling/diving trip and saw whales quite up close which was one of the highlights of our whole trip.

Susanne keeps the most beautiful and well trained horses and we went riding with her along the beach and into the forest which was a wonderful and special experience.

We really enjoyed dining alongside the other guests and the food was excellent - really fresh and plentiful. The "honesty" bar (help yourselves and make a note for later) was a lovely informal touch.

We would definitely love to return and will recommend Pirate Cove to others visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Arrived by boat from Palomar Sur- greeted by Nelson and he was very friendly, speaking both English and Spanish. He was low key and welcoming, informing us about everything there was to do in Drake Bay.
The room was comfortable, clean and had a spectacular view of the ocean and river (B2)! The food was tasty and the chef, Ana, was very accommodating to our 6 year old son. (Snacks were provided during the day and there was free wireless) We used the hotel kayaks in the river (right next to the hotel) and boogy board. The hotel is outside of town- perfect for privacy and feeling of being in the jungle! We hiked into town, down the beach and followed the trail for a while- spotting white faced monkeys! Pirate Cove arranged tours for us. We boated to Corcovado for a day of hiking and went on the Zip line in Drake Bay (great time- 14 stations!).

Room Tip: Travel in the low/green Season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegofamily92109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife, our 9 and 11 year olds, and I stayed 4 nights as a base to explore and take a trip to Corcovado after staying at Sabalo Lodge. Based on some of the previous reviews Pirates Cove exceeded our expectations.
~Our cabin was very comfortable for the 4 of us.
~The staff helping us plan our tours was much appreciated. We in no way felt pressured. I would imagine that most folks are there in order to do tours and as there is limited capacity on each one they are simply trying to make sure that everyone's needs get met.
~We were the only Americans there during our stay and were treated fine. In fact the diversity of the guests is a plus.
~The food was AMAZING. Everything tasted fresh and had a home cooked quality that was memorable. These women were baking bread daily and even baked a birthday cake for a guest for all to share.
If you are looking a beach with umbrella drinks look elsewhere. However if you are looking for a cost effective way to visit a beautiful part of the world do not hesitate to stay at Pirates Cove.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhpif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and I own and manage a luxury vacation home in Manuel Antonio and wanted to spend some alone time on a snorkel and dive trip.
We enjoyed the short drive on a great road about 1.5hr. to the Sierrpe water taxi and 1 hr. from there. Traveling from Manuel Antonio. The parking of our vehicle was easy and turned out to be safe in Sierrpe. The scenic river ride was enjoyable. We stopped at a village home and picked up some fresh Red Snapper...turns out it was our meal that night! When we unloaded the boat that was just backed up into the shoreline and hopped off into the foot high water we realized we were "back to nature"! We were helped by Nelson the manager with our bag and carried in dinner! The food was excellent. Fresh granola and fruit and juices and delicious dinners with fresh fish and chicken entrees. We relaxed with the family style atomsphere where we just showed up for our 3 meals and looked at the ocean. The room was basic but comfortable...what we wanted. The ocean waves just meters from our cabin door was superb and little no-seems or bugs to bother us. We had alot of privacy which I appreciated. We loved our snorkel and dive tour. Eric the dive master was attentive and personable. Enjoyed the warm fresh baked sesame cookies when we arrived after the tour! We both lost weight because of the natural cooking practices of Suzanne (owner) and staff. We were never hungry and had plenty of energy for the kayaking on the fresh water mangrove next to the cabins and sunset walks along the beach. Nice birding along there. We met other really nice travelers staying there as well. Drink the fresh mountain water and smell the fresh ocean breeze!! Enjoy the gift of nature and draw ever closer to the Creator Jehovah God.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Keeping in mind the difficulty of reaching the place (I was looking for a remote place, I found it), the private wood cabin rooms are simple and rustic, but offer all the basics. The hammock by the seaside is a good place to relax. Pirate Cove's definitely has a "chalet" feel to it.

The food is good and well prepared. You can expect mid range to top end, typical Costa Rican fare. Included meals somewhat sweeten the still pricey deal (120$/night single occupation), but remember: location, location, location.

The location is indeed splendid. Although the beach is a little rough, it is beautiful and explodes in colors at sunset. What a sight. You can also borrow a kayak and paddle in the lush mangrove behind the hotel for numerous opportunities at bird watching. Too bad the distant (>150m) neighbors do not respect the mangrove as much as Pirate's does.

Divers: Do not miss a trip to Isla del Cano and book with excellent dive master Eric Murillo. Had my first chance of being face to face (<3 meters!) with a 3.5-4m manta ray at Devil's Rock under strong currents: I wish every diver the same experience.

Nelson the manager was also extremely helpful on planning and reserving my trip to nearby Corcovado National Park.

I was dead set on visiting Drake Bay and it's been beyond my expectations. The comfort at Pirate's Cove contributed greatly to the success .

Room Tip: Get the best view of Drake Bay from your hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

for a holiday with a difference, this is it. the difference being the location is fantastic and so safe for children - you still do have to keep an eye on them of course - mine are 7, 6 + 3 years! The staff are very friendly and very helpful also looking out for the kids and helping them. The food was brilliant and all eating together really helped people to unwind and chill - not compulsory though!!! Although it is quite a journey to get here the route is also very unique up into the mountains and above the clouds, down into fog and then tropical heat, the reward of being at Pirate Cove is more than enough. The management of the hotel could not have been more helpful in arranging various trips for us i kayaking off their beach and a neighbouring zipwire experience all helped. Would we go back - without a doubt yes.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelavallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
22.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirate Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate Cove

Property: Pirate Cove
Address: Next to the Drake Bay River, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pirate Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate Cove is a small hotel, consisting of comfortable cabins bungalows an Ac Room located on Osa Peninsula the least developed and most bio-diversified area of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pirate Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirate Cove Drake Bay
Pirate Cove Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing