We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for our Corcovado expedition”
Review of Pirate Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pirate Cove
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

From the time we arrived on the beach after an hour boat ride to Pirate Cove, Nelson and the staff attended to our every need. The bungalow accommodation we booked was a perfect space to appreciate the beauty of Bahia Drake. Despite the bed mattress in need of replacement, the room, bathroom, etc was very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck after dinner to take in the sounds of the ocean and the forest. The food was fantastic and catered to my wife's special dietary needs. The dining area was a great space to get to know others staying at Pirate Cove, and it was good to meet Rick (owner) on the final night and share yarns about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrentonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The entire experience went without a problem. Staff was very helpful and informative. Making a reservation went like a breeze. All the information was accurate about all the where and whens. Absolutely no confusion about the details
And the food was outstanding, exactly to my tastes. Everything was as it was described.
The accomodations were like a hideaway on an island, making me feel very relaxed and well rested. The first thing I notice that there were no conrtails in the sky. There is hardly anything to remind me of the busy life back in the States.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I spent early July 2012 3 days and 3 nights at Pirate's Cove in Drake Bay and had a wonderfull time. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. AFter 2 weeks of rice and black beans for breakfast, lunch and diner, we very much enjoyed the lunches and diner prepared by pirate cove's staff. The food was excellent in correct proportions and ingredients varied everytime.
We stayed in the cabins which are spacious, clean and have a nice view over the river and sea.
We can strongly recommend the mangrove tour: this tour is not limited to snakes and crocs but we also saw scarlet macaos, 3 types of monkeys, turtles, mother racoon with 2 babies and we even had the rare opportunity to see a silky anteater!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Within 24 hours of making a week long stay reservation and paying for it in full about 3 months in advance we found out the cancellation policy is to keep 20% when staying any length of time- this can be substantial. We needed to cancel our reservation and the owner, Rick Lane was quite rude about working with me on this. Rick Lane told me this policy is transparent... IT IS NOT anywhere in accomodations-or home page- it shows up at the bottom of payment email. So buyers beware- Initially I attempted to negotiate less and did so with his business manager Lilian who was lovely-given the short window of the reservation and the ability of the property to rebook a few months down the road- but he came back and said because I was rude, he would enforce the policy in full and keep 20%; I was upset but not rude- In all my travels through Costa Rica I have not encountered any negativity except this- BTW this is a random policy; very few hotels have this policy-I have stayed at many wonderful establishments in CR without this type of piracy. Try Finca Mariesa in Drake Bay Juan is a delightful helpful wonderful man with great Tico spirit- and no such cancellation policy exists.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drake2006, Owner at Pirate Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

It is impossible for anyone to make a reservation at Pirate Cove and pay for it online unless he or she reads and indicates understanding and agreement to our reservation and cancellation policies. There are two reasons for our policy. The first reason we do this is because once a reservation and partial payment is made, that reservation is 100% guaranteed and the room is no longer available to anyone else. We are a 10 room hotel and are very popular. Our rooms are often booked several months in advance. Once someone books with us there is NO chance of any double booking. The lady who made the reservation actually was given the last available room. The second reason for our policy is given below.

When someone makes a cancellation with us, despite our clear refund policy, we normally try and help. Unfortunately, once any online credit card payment is made, banks in Costa Rica take up to 10% of the money paid for "administration" costs. They never refund this amount, nor does Pirate Cover ever receive it. When this client said she needed to cancel the reservation for personal reasons and stated they would not be able to come to Costa Rica at all, Lilian (in charge of reservations and administration) explained we would try and help. Unfortunately, the client did not want to accept the bank's (not Pirate Cove's) position and she demanded in strong terms that we refund the entire amount. Lilian turned the client over to me as she felt uncomfortable dealing with the situation.

Imagine my surprise when I learned less than one day later that the guest had not cancelled her trip to Costa Rica but had in fact made another reservation for the exact time period at the other Drake Bay hotel named in her "review." The reasons she stated one day earlier for her cancellation were obviously not correct. At that point I instructed Lilian to apply our cancellation policy exactly as stated on our webpage.

Let me be quite clear. We recognize when a client has a legitimate problem such as illness or family emergency and ALWAYS try and help. In this case I believe we applied our policy in a correct manner. I thank her for her "review" and am sorry she will not be visiting Pirate Cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pirate Cove for three nights in early April and were pleased we had found this lovely place on the bay. We made the drive down from San Jose and what an adventure-took around 7-8 hours so be prepared. The potholes can swallow your car for nearly a 20 mile stretch! The staff at Pirate Cove were very accomodating. We initially had not signed up for dinner on any night but they fit us in after a long drive.(it was tasty Costa Rican food). Our room was above the main common area and kitchen. It had AC but not sure you would need it if you got one of the private cabanas with lots of screens. We could hear the workers every once it awhile but we are both great sleepers and it never fazed us. The room was clean and had plenty of room (one full bed and two twins) Far and beyond our favorite activity was the horseback ride along the beach, through the real Costa Rican townships and finishing with a private waterfall soak. It was just the two of us, the horse guy and We scuba dived by Cano Island but visibilty was not great. We had dinner in town two nights-loved this little place attached to a grocery that served us an amazing whole red snapper. We were very happy we did not stay near the town -the places near town did not seem as quaint and remote as Pirate Cove.

Room Tip: I would try for a cabana, they looked really cute. It was nice having our own bathroom though and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a very relaxing and comfortable place to stay. We were lucky as we stayed in one of the cabins that was perched on the hill, just above the beach facing the sea. The cabins don’t look particularly special from the outside but on the inside you’ll find them very comfortable, very clean and relaxing.

The buildings are of a wooden structure with the walls of the cabins being made of canvas. Inside however they are perfectly warm and cosy. The bathroom is also well appointed with a very large shower that had lots of hot water. For those worried about mosquitoes, the double bed comes with a sturdy net that will keep most night time insects at bay. The room also has a flask/jug of fresh water for drinking.

Our particular cabin was quite close to the main eating area which meant that we could at times get reception from the free Wi-Fi that was available. This is an all-inclusive place and I will have to say that the food was perfectly fine and they even catered for us being vegetarian. Meals are taken together with the other guests and whilst this isn’t for everyone, I think it does get people out of their comfort zone and chatting with others. Tea and coffee and cakes are freely available throughout the day, as is water.

Nearby is the beach and a river which you can kayak up using the free kayaks. If you are lucky enough you will spot herons and even crocodiles swimming in the river. The staff are very friendly here and will gladly help you out with all local trips and tours in the area. We did the night tour with a local guide who took us on a walk from Pirate Cove and down by the river where you’ll see crocodiles quite close up, iguanas, kingfishers, snakes, frogs, toads and a range of insects.

The beach is quite rocky and the waves can be quite big but we did see some people swimming in there. There are also some excellent sunsets to see every evening. Nearby is a small village which is about a 30 minute walk away where there is a small supermarket and a couple of shops.

Overall an enjoyable and relaxing place to stay where you drift asleep to the sound of the ocean.

Room Tip: Cabins at the front are nice with a veranda, chairs, hammock & washing line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed in a bungalow. The ceiling fan was more than enough to keep us cool; some nights we didn't even need it (we were there in April). Meals were varied, fresh, consistently good. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the mix of people from Europe and the Americans made for a great atmosphere. We did 3 tours in 6 days and the staff was really flexible with the schedule.

Room Tip: Bungalows are great. I don't know why anyone would choose an air-conditioned room when you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seitchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
21 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirate Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate Cove

Address: Next to the Drake Bay River, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: £157 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pirate Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate Cove is a small hotel, consisting of comfortable cabins bungalows an Ac Room located on Osa Peninsula the least developed and most bio-diversified area of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pirate Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirate Cove Drake Bay
Pirate Cove Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing