We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winning Team at Aguila De Osa Inn Drake Bay”
Review of Aguila de Osa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aguila de Osa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our second trip, in July, a different season and different things to see, the baby and two adult Hump Back Whales, along with many Dolphins, close up, were amazing. Our first trip in December was truly excellent and a lovely place to spend Christmas with Red Macaws, Monkey's, Green Parrots, Toucan and Kingfishers all on the door step.

The location, accommodation, staff, meals and trips are all first class. Bird Watching with Carlos, Diving with Sandra and Hiking with Tony, so much nature and beauty to see.

Nothing is to much trouble, the general manager even mended my sunglasses. Thank you to all you are all wonderful.

Mary Howe

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank mary_howe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved the Aguila de Osa Inn hotel because everything was so great about it - the rooms, the amazing view, the service, the professional and kind tour guide (thank you Tony! :)), the food, the bar and appetizer before dinner with all the guests together (great idea!), everything you would expect from an hotel in a magical place like Corcovado! thank you! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were there in late May and loved it. The location is beautiful, the property is well maintained, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.

The one thing you need to keep in mind is that the whole Osa peninsula area is very rustic and they keep it that way on purpose. This guarantees that the wildlife have a great environment and you will see all sorts of creatures all over the place. The flip side is that it's rustic so much of what one takes for granted in the US is very different there. For example, the inn has no A/C. The rooms have those large tropical ceiling fans, but it can get very humid - you're in a rain forest, after all. And we did have visitors - a frog and a crab at different points - in the room. Oh - and because their septic systems in the area aren't robust, you put used toilet paper in the trash basket by the toilet. It gets emptied daily, but takes a little getting used to.

But if you go in with an open mind, understanding that this isn't the Hyatt in Maui, you'll have a wonderful experience.

Re: wildlife, there were land crabs scuttling all over the place, two 6-8 foot crocodiles swam up the river right in front of the lobby on our first afternoon, there was a boa living on the roof of the lobby that slithered down onto a neighboring palm, iguanas all over the place, monkeys, frogs, etc.

I would definitely go back. Already thinking about it, actually.

Room Tip: I think pretty much all the rooms are similar. They are more or less cabins divided down the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our 2nd stop on our Costa Rica trip, as we wanted to do some scuba diving off of Isle de Cano. After arriving in Drake Bay (an adventure in itself as there are river crossings and the road is challenging), we were met by a boat that took us across the bay to the resort. You can hike (or kayak) from the town to the resort, but not with luggage! First, the staff was extremely friendly, and they were very knowledgeable about local wildlife. The food was good (you had two choices for lunch and dinner). The rooms were great; we stayed in a junior suite that had a beautiful patio with views of the bay. The diving was better than we expected--there were many schools of fish and lots of sharks, eels, turtles, really, we were pleasantly surprised. The dive boat was roomy and comfortable. We got some great pictures of dolphins swimming in its wake! The owner, Brad, is so down to earth and nice! After just a short time with him, he felt like an old friend! I would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: The larger the room number, the farther you have to walk to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pzamanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had traveled to Costa Rica in May 2014 for our honeymoon and this was by far our favorite hotel. The staff are very friendly and the views could not be better. We had travelled during the off season so there was only one other couple there with us but that didn't stop the staff from great service and ridiculously amazing food. Nothing even compares to the states. A very isolate location and had to arrive by boat which just adds to the seclusion. NO COPLAINTS!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. It was nice to be here in the off-season because there are fewer people staying at the resort, which makes the family-style dinners and happy hours more communal.

I'm not terribly outdoorsy but thought that while in Costa Rica it would be worth trying the open-air casita. At night it was a little difficult (it gets so dark here and there are so many critters) to adjust but it was lovely waking up with the sun and the birds every morning as the light poured in. The rooms are clean well maintained. The high ceilings and fans make it so that it does not get too hot. Outside are hammocks that overlook the surroundings (jungle, garden, and distant ocean) which are perfect for a snooze or rest after a morning activity.

The breakfasts and lunches are amazing! I especially love the fresh fish every day as an option for dinner. Dinner every night is 3-courses, delicious, but got to be a bit much for me every day (sometimes I would just ask for the main course and dessert). The food and menu are all good, but sometimes a little on the salty side.

The tour guides are great and everything runs very smoothly. We enjoyed the hike through Corcovado, Snorkeling at Cano Island, Night Tour, and Early Morning Birdwatching. The snorkeling was okay, the water is a little choppy off the island and the tour guide kind of wants everyone to follow in a line, which is not ideal. Everything starts bright and early and gives you time to relax in the afternoon.

Overall, it was a great experience of a trip I won't forget!

Room Tip: Room 11 is on on the end so no one walks by, which is good since these are screened in rooms. Altern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from our trip to CR with a 4 night stay at Aguila de Osa and we can't say enough great things about the location, the facility or the staff. From the moment you arrive you are immersed in an exotic/intimate retreat and welcomed to what will be your new "family" for the next several days.

The Staff - Simply amazing. Many live on premise and you get to know them (and they you) well during your stay. Meals are relaxed, but amazing, excursions are well planned and staffed by knowledgable and friendly guides, and the premises are meticulously maintained.

THe Osa peninsula - unreal. This place is exactly what you see on nature documentaries/travel books. It is so lush and beautiful and the wildlife is abundant and diverse. Truly a magical place.

Overall just an amazing experience. If you were considering a trip to Costa Rica and the Osa peninsula/Aguila de Osa, dont hesitate a second to book, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
336 reviews
5.9 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: £290 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest and Marine Adventure Lodge: Nestled amidst the jungle-covered hillsides overlooking the tranquil waters of Drake Bay, Aguila de Osa is an exquisite rainforest and marine adventure hotel. It’s here where you will experience life right on the edge of the Osa. Aguila de Osa is the destination for adventurers from around the world, offering the most convenient access to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island Biological Marine Reserve, and a full array of adventures including world-class sport fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling, plus bird watching, hiking, beach trips, river kayaking, mangrove estuary tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aguila de Osa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing