We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oleaje Sereno Hotel(Punta Arenas)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
236
99
31
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
99
31
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba divingfishcorcovado national parkcosta ricasuperior roomhotel staffcanopy tourfloor fansan josewatch the sunrisedive staffthe riversound of the waveshot waterwhite faced monkeyszip liningremote location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

First off the hotel is located in a fairly isolated area in the bay area. Its sheltered by a lot of trees and natural formations. My wife and I were in Costa Rica from July 26th til Aug 2nd and we were staying in the Dominical area in a house my father rented. We originally had not plannee anything else for accomodations. We found the hotel when our scuba dive trip was cancelled out of Dominical due to not enough people. My wife has never dived before so we were limited to the options as she can only take the discover acuba whereas I am certified and can dive on any open trip. So after getting the bad news I took to google. Thats how I found the resort. We called and spoke to Brian and he was very informative and quick to respond. So after discussing finances we decided to go. I am glad we did. Yes others say the resort is a bit dated which holds some merit but how much of Costa Rica isnt? The staff is great and the food is great as well....if you like isolation yet comfort then this the place. Just beware that there is no AC in most rooms but thats part of the aspect that makes it unquie as it does take away the modern amenaties we all relay on.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a great time at Jinetes de Osa. The location is stunningly beautiful. There is a very long hiking trail right from the resort along the coast that leads one to find numerous private beaches and explore the rainforest. unbelievable natural biodiversity is found everywhere. Corcovado national park is well worth the visit, as is the night tour and horseback riding. Scuba diving and snorkelling at Cano Island, especially when the visibility is good, are exceptional - highly recommended. Exploring the river and bay area with the kayak is also a great time, one can potentially reach the Sirena river and explore quite a ways from the hotel this way. Food and service were excellent. Room was of the simplest type, and was modest and comfortable. This is a great location and hotel for nature lovers and adventure lovers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rus33yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent a week in Jinetes De Osa and it was a once in lifetime experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an off-the-beaten-path adventure. The hotel totally exceeded our expectations and the staff was more than welcoming! Fair warning: this review is going to be a bit lengthy, as I have a lot of positive thoughts to share.

The hotel is centrally located as far as proximity to town goes. Most tours operate out of Jinetes which makes it extremely convenient to stay here, especially for a night tour (we met a couple who got lost trying to find their hotel in the dark). The horseback riding tour to the waterfall is a must. You get to swim in the refreshing pools at the base of the falls, and we saw tons of wildlife on the way. The Corcovado trip to Sirena is also a necessity if you're into wildlife. The hike itself is very easy, try to ask for Orlando as a guide- he's extremely knowledgeable and very personable. Snorkeling at Cano Island was also fabulous, along with the night tour.
All of the food was phenomenal, we had no reason to eat elsewhere (unless you want to sample other menus, as we did on several occasions).

We spent the first few nights in a superior suite cabin (one of the 3 newest rooms at the hotel.) They are situated on a hill, 181 steps up (this can get tiring), but with the best views of Drake Bay. The other major benefit to these suites include the AC (which isn't offered in the other rooms).

The other nights we spent in a regular superior room, which was still very nice. All of the windows are screened and despite the lack of AC, the fans and ocean breeze still make things quite comfortable. The view isn't quite as nice, but you do get to hear the waves crashing on the beach, which is a wonderful sound to fall asleep to.

Tips:
Room 11 has the best view hands down, at the expense of 181 steps. The suites are also the most private
WiFi is available in the lodge and room 1
Close-toed sandals or water shoes are a must
A waterproof camera is highly recommended
It seemed everywhere in Drake Bay accepted US dollars

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank OlsenkdNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very good option in Drake Bay. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We went diving with them and the guides were nice, the equipment was a little bit old, but fine. The staff was always very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My son & I stayed at Hotel Jinetes de Osa for 3 nights at the tail end of our trip in Costa Rica. We were in one of the new rooms with air at the top of the hill. These rooms are brand new & are beautiful, with fantastic views of the ocean & surrounding area. Note there are 180 steps up & back down to these rooms - dont forget anything! The hotel is at the far end of the town & requires a short hike to get to which gives it an exclusive out of the way feel. The dinners & lunches are set up to encourage guests to interact & you cant help but have made new friends by the time you leave. The staff went way beyond to make our stay great including booking tours they dont represent & taxis when we were short on cash (remember no bank in Drake). This is definitely the best value in Drake Bay for a nice hotel .

Room Tip: Loved the hilltop rooms but be prepared for the climb!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews