We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steamy hike, so much wildlife, great guide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corcovado Info Center

Corcovado Info Center
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corcovado Info Center is a tour operator located in Drake Bay, owned by Kenneth Mora Mendoza, tour guide with over ten years of extensive experience and knowledge of the Corcovado National Park, Cano Island and the Osa Peninsula. We are specialists in overnight trips to the Corcovado National Park where you can see amazing wildlife, forest and beautiful nature. Also we do many other tours in the area, such as whale and dolphin watching, snorkeling at Cano Island, Terraba-Sierpe Mangrove Forest excursions and more. Contact us if you would like to have a great experience in the National Park.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steamy hike, so much wildlife, great guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our guide, Roy, was fantastic with our five year old daughter. He found so much great stuff to show us. He has 12 years experience in nature guiding. It is a hot, humid jungle for sure so be prepared to be sweaty, but you will see so many animals!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateWBeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Tour Guide possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The tour guide grew up right there and knows the place probably better than anyone. Not just the place but the plants and animals too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank brent h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not easy to get to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Corcovado center is in the middle of a very unaltered area of rain forest. It is not easy to get to but if you really want to experience a natural rain forest almost jungle area in Costa Rica then this is it! There are guided tours available and we did which was the best we had in our stay in Costa Rica but if you wanted to just get out and tour for your own adventure, it is definitely available there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 days/1 night in Corcovado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our 2 days/1 night Corcovado - Sirena trip with Kenneth Mora/Corcovado Info Center was awesome.
We organised it through email only a couple of days in advance and I must say Kenneth was very responsive and helpful in this regard.
Rain was pouring heavily during the night before the trip, it still rained in the morning and my partner got some cuts and bruises when the boat dropped us off at the Sirena shore (due to his clumsiness). Not a great start but after that everything came out right. In fact this was a great experience we'd never want to miss. The rain stopped, it was hot but not as hot as we expected. The nature is awesome and wild, our guide Jairo was really good at spotting wildlife and very knowledgable about the Corcovado NP ecosystem. We've been really lucky and seen many animals (birds, lizzards, frogs, insects – ants, termites, wasps, butterflies, tapirs, peccaries, ant eaters, monkeys – of course, etc.).
Hairo also prepared tasty food and snacks for our group which was just the right size (4 ppl).
There were some organisational issues about the sleeping tents on Sirena ranger station porch – don't know why but somebody moved our stuff out of our spacious and airy tent and then we had to move to a smaller, older one, but it was nothing you can't manage for one night in the jungle ranger station with only cold showers. Night was warm and humid, and I suggest you bring earplugs if you can't stand other people's snoring. And of course sunscreen, deet, rain poncho, shorts and good shoes you don't mind getting wet a little bit as you will probably cross a couple of river streems during the day walks.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank antismotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good, Professional, Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked a trip with my friend about two months ago. Kenneth was very easy to work with and very professional. Our guide in the park was incredible and showed us an unbelievable amount of animals including ant-eaters, many types of monkeys, tapir, army ants, sloths, pretty much everything except the big cats (noone sees those). The food provided was ample and delicious. The only negative was the cost of the trip. It was more expensive than some of the other tours offered. That being said, if cheapness is not your top concern, this is a great way to see one of the most beautiful places on earth. Overall a great experience, book with confidence.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank ag325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corcovado Info Center also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado Info Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing