We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and could not have been happier! The room was simple, but clean and beautiful. It had an AMAZING view of the ocean... so nice to go to sleep with the sound of the waves and watch the sun rise and set from the balcony. The food was EXCELLENT. Meals are served with cold water and delicious natural fruit juice, and there's coffee and tea all day. We booked a package with tours, which we scheduled once we got there... all those were great, too. The owner is super nice and bilingual. If we're ever in Drake again, we would gladly return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraAlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Drake Bay is quite simply a wonderful place. The day trip to Cano Island was great as was the day trip to Corcovado National Park. The best thing for me about El Mirador was that it wasn't the plastic, sterile experience that clearly you get in some other places nearby. Other reviewers have used the word 'rustic' to describe the cabins here. I would agree with that and add that 'rustic' here is great. I came here for an experience. I came here to see the wildlife. I came here to taste local food. I came here to mix with like-minded people who had tales to tell. Did I get it? Yes I did. El Mirador earns 5 stars from me because at this price you can't get any better. There may be more luxurious options in Drake Bay. There are also cheaper options in town. My experience is that El Mirador is possibly the best option - great price and a wonderful location. Worth considering??

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The rooms are more like nice sheds and you can hear everyone around you so privacy isn't great. It was also unbearable hot and humid at night.
However, the meals provided were tasty and dinner times were very sociable, which was really nice. The views are great and the look out is a nice place to sit in a hammock overlooking Drake Bay.
Isis speaks to everyone after dinner to check their arrangements are all sorted for the next day and helps you book anything.
The walk up to the lodge is steep, but not very long and we didn't mind going up and down several times a day. It only takes about 2 minutes to get to the beach and the town is a short walk away.
Definitely looked like the best of the cheaper places to stay.
Tips: get the boat from Sierpe - interesting ride to get there and book the night tour ahead as it was all booked up when we got there so we missed out. Snorkeling at Cano Island and walking to Sirena Ranger Station were both amazing trips booked through El Mirador.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Yes, this is rustic... Drakes Bay is a rustic location... so relax and enjoy this amazing place. To say the view is stunning is an understatement. It is a challenge to get there for sure, but it's truly a wonderful experience to stay there. Isis is so helpful... the food is great and plentiful. You meet so many great people. I'll never forget our 5 nights and days... the walks thru the jungle to get to amazing beaches... our trips to Cano Island for snorkelling and Corcovado... what a truly special place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanPSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We just got back from El Mirador and LOVED it! The views were better than some of the places that were triple the price!! Isis and her staff were amazing, as was the food. The ocean views were spectacular and the hammock area had a great view as well. What a great value for what we got, in addition to the best rates on tours in town! I would definitely go back!! Thank you, Isis, for everything!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleurster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The secret to enjoying El Mirador Lodge is being in good physical condition and having an adaptive attitude. At the level where the open air dining room and some of the cabinas are located are million dollar views and on up at the actual viewpoint are billion dollar views of Drake Bay, making the long trek up the steep path quite worth it. They did take our luggage up on an ATV. We're in our 70s and managed it at least once a day, and sometimes more often. The rooms are simple: furnished with a comfortable bed and a couple of resin chairs but no closets or other hanging space and no dressers. Only cold water is available, but welcome after a day in the hot sun. The rooms, which are screened, have a balcony from which to enjoy the glorious sunsets, as well as daily housekeeping. The only light is an overhead CFL. We especially enjoyed the delicious and ample meals, over which we shared stories with other travelers to Costa Rica. I strongly suggest booking your tours, such as horseback riding, the Corcovada National Park tours, and snorkeling tours through El Mirador Lodge. We took the collective boat from Sierpe to Drake Bay, and had a "wet" landing, i.e., wading through the surf, which was an added adventure in our reef shoes. In summary, we had a great time at Drake Bay. We booked for six nights; four nights would have been more than adequate. The best tour was the night tour with the "bug lady." Don't miss it! An added bonus to our stay: Ms. Vargas let us use her washer and dryer to do a load of laundry on our last day for just $5.00. Quite a bargain!!! If you enjoy living with a local Costa Rican family, and adapting to local standards, you'll love this place.

Room Tip: We didn't see all of the rooms, but the ones that we did see all enjoyed the incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Interesting experience just getting to Drake Bay...hour long water taxi from Sierpe starts on the river, goes through a mangrove swamp and ends up coming out into a white knuckle ride in the estuary with big ocean swells. Arrived in Drake Bay with an interesting beach landing and got a ride up to the Mirador on an ATV 4x4. This is adventure vacationing for sure! very steep trail leads up to the Mirador. we checked in to a private bungalow...these are quite rustic...single bare bulb hanging from the ceiling..only cold running water in the shower...we actually had a small land crab crawl up the drain into our shower! Realize that for the price..you get just the barest of basics..but you also get a fantastic birds eye view overlooking Drake Bay.

Room Tip: Just roll the dice..flip a coin...you will get what you get depending on what is open. may starts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.4 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 20 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

Property: Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 79-8150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge has one of the most spectacular views in the Osa Peninsula. Spend the day hiking in Corcovado National Park, snorkeling on Cano Island or relaxing in a hammock watching the sunset over the pristine waters of Drake Bay. Our rustic installations is located 80 m above sea level, and the hotel has 3 hectares of land with 200 m of beach front in Drake Bay with an amazing view of the Pacific ocean. The bay has beautiful beaches and tropical forests as well as the flora and fauna that is characteristic of the Corcovado National Park. We offer the best value in Drake Bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Mirador Hotel Drake Bay
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing