We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, beautiful location, and friendly, Costa Rican hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Ranked #9 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, beautiful location, and friendly, Costa Rican hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mirador for 4 nights. You could throw a rock from our cabina to the ocean. The cabina was simply and rustic (don't expect fine linens) but very clean and spacious. For the price ($45 pp per night, including 3 delicious meals a day), it was a great value. Everything has to get shipped into Drake Bay because of its remoteness, so many other lodges in the area are significantly more expensive.

The lodge has been run by a local Tico family for years, who are on site at all times to help you with arranging tours, taxis, or whatever you need. They even packed us bag lunches when we went on long day hikes and wouldn't be at the lodge at lunch time. The service was really wonderful. While we were there, another couple (who spoke little english) was trying to arrange a stay overnight in the Corcovado National Park and thought they might be getting ripped off on the price their guide was proposing to charge them. Staff from the Mirador made several phone calls to help them out.

Great place to stay, we didn't want to leave!!!
FYI- we heard from other guests that not all the cabinas are the same, so ask for descriptions of them. Some have electricity and others do not.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jth0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Quiet, peaceful and nice and clean place, well located, good service, good food. We had rooms in a shared wood house with ocean view in the middle of the forest. We feel like we are on your own in the jungle! Nice rustic decorations, flowers.Great experience. We met friendly people in the shared dinning area where it is nice to play cards and drink beer and wine after dark. Beach few steps down the hill. Really nice point of view up in the terrace (Mirador), really great view of the sunset, beach and ocean from there. Excellent to rest and relax. We went to excursion they propose (diving and Corcovado park tour) wich were well organized and fun!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellmeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Firstly and most importantly: if you are not a hiker, if you don’t enjoy climbing arduous and steep terrain, if you are over weight or out of shape, do not stay here! Otherwise – this place is AWESOME.

I was met by a young man from the hotel as our boat pulled in who is a biology student doing an internship on the Osa Peninsula. He was wonderful. He offered to help with the bags, and had I known then what I know now, I would have accepted!
Climbed a steep – STEEP – hill that led up to the ‘cabinas’. I was carrying a 30 pound pack + a small bag of food, including a full bottle of water, and I had to stop twice to catch my breath – and I’m in very good shape. When we finally arrived at the top, I downed the bottle of water, caught my breath, and was shown to the room.

Cabinas El Mirador are simple, bare bones, basic accommodations with no electricity and no hot water. There is internet connection if you want to hook up your laptop to their Ethernet cable; however, no way to recharge your laptop other than to borrow their electricity which they very kindly suggested is not favorable. The place is run by a family and they are extremely friendly, funny, and fun! They were very helpful, and I wish I could have gotten to know them better.

Stayed in Room #2 and if you stay here, stay in this room! It is only 4 walls and a small bathroom, but the view is fantastic: looked directly over the bay. There is a small balcony without a hammock but with a rustic wooden bench. There are other larger rooms which I did not see. There is also a ‘lookout point’ that I climbed up to with 2 hammocks and a wonderful view.

Dinner was at 7pm and the food was fantastic and the portions were good sized. There was an international feel here, with guests from Germany, France, Switzerland, and 2 young Ticas who had brought a bottle of wine and infectious laughter. Had a great time over dinner, and stayed up talking and laughing with one another in 3 languages.

A wonderful find that is less expensive than most on Drake Bay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Basic cabins with spectacular views for reasonable prices. We spent there 5 days of our Costa Rican trip. And it was like beeing in paradise: very friendly and couteous service as well as fresh and homy food accompanied by delicious juices, that vary every day. We can definately recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muellerinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stopped after a days driving to Matapalo in the rain. Had dinner and an excellent home cooked meal very fair priced compared to the prices of many of the places on the South Pacific coast that have been purchased by Americans and had their prices doubled. Decided to check the rooms out and their were spotless with AC, internet access and clean showers with hot water and Direct TV. Compared to $200 a night and $150 a person a night on the Matapalo Beaches, this place is a steal. The views of the bay and the valley on the other side are spectacular. We decided to spend the night and head the next day to surf. We were glad we did, we got a free breakfast the next morning. We loved it so much on the way back a few days later everybody from our tripped stopped in for lunch and we had a blast. I hate to recommend Costa Rica because I prefer if people stay away and leave it for us, I would rather see American tourists go to over hyped places like the Bahamas or the Marriott in Jaco Beach. If you love nature and like Tico family hospitality and cooking, that you will love El Mirador. Can you find cheaper places on the OSA, yes. But, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

If you are looking for a budget option in Drake Bay then you can do better than this. However if you are happy to have a rustic experience for the views then Mirador is a good option. $45pp for three meals is quite good but when your room does not even have electricity and you can pay far less (Cabinas Manolo for example) you may find it doesnt measure up. However, the food was of a good standard, it is a nice spot to relax and read on the balcony (note no hammocks despite pics of them on their website) and we saw capuchins in the trees on the grounds on two days. Note also that their Sirena tour is very expensive compared with others ($95 vs $70 for example). Their other tours are great though - their night tour is with Tracy the Bug Lady and this is fantastic - definitely do it. We thoroughly enjoyed horseriding booked through them too (only $30 for 5 hours).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

No frills, very nice location, great view over Drake Bay. Three meals are included in the price and the food is EXCELLENT! Bring some cash with you because they charge you $5 for every item you pay with credit card...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 18 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Manolo
Cabinas Manolo
#6 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

Property: Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 79-8150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge has one of the most spectacular views in the Osa Peninsula. Spend the day hiking in Corcovado National Park, snorkeling on Cano Island or relaxing in a hammock watching the sunset over the pristine waters of Drake Bay. Our rustic installations is located 80 m above sea level, and the hotel has 3 hectares of land with 200 m of beach front in Drake Bay with an amazing view of the Pacific ocean. The bay has beautiful beaches and tropical forests as well as the flora and fauna that is characteristic of the Corcovado National Park. We offer the best value in Drake Bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Mirador Hotel Drake Bay
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing