We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Costa Rica”
Review of Jaguar's Jungle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaguar's Jungle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Jaguar's Jungle was by far the coolest place I've stayed during 3 different trips to CR. This place exceded any wildlife expectations I had about the Osa Peninsula before arriving. I got to see scarlet macaws, coati, tapir, bat caves, crocidiles, a sloth, and much more within a short walking distsnce from the owner's property. The hostel itself was a beach & jungle paradise - it had beautiful empty beaches for swimming/snorkeling, numerous jungle trails for hiking, a nice deck and a large grassy area to kick back and read while eating freshly picked mangos and coconuts from the property. The owner and staff were accommodating and extremely knowledgeable while helping me to organize activities in the surrounding areas. Whether you're looking for relaxation or fun activities, this place definitely has it all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Jungla del Jaguar is a one of a kind; a secret coastal getaway situated along the Corcovado National Rainforest. The owner, Leo, is incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and welcoming. The environment here is teeming with wildlife, as the beachside hostel is surrounded by miles of primary tropical rainforest. I had the opportunity to visit the national park, snorkel at Caño Island, sea kayak, along with a myraid of other adventures during my stay here. I fell in love with the region, as I ended up staying a week longer than intended. The hostel itself is beautiful and large, with a soon-to-be yoga studio in the making. The communal space is unbeatable; a wooden outdoor patio, grassy lawn, cosy dining room, and one of the largest book collections I've seen in a hostel. I had all of my meals here, as the food is healthy and top-notch (they offer vegetarian options for all meals!). I highly recommend this location to any traveller who loves adventure. The world is your oyster at Jungla Del Jaguar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Meeting Leo, and being invited to be at his childhood home was amazing! It was so incredible to be able to talk to someone, who speaks my language, and has an education (he's a Biologist born Costa Rican to American parents...) Great vibe, fresh food (he catches the fish) and INCREDIBLE property. We walked from Drake Bay through 22 different beaches, spent a few hours in Rio Clara on the way, before completeing the 15km trek to the most remote place I've ever been, total paradise... on the ocean, and literally on corner of Corcovados national Park. We saw Tapiers and monkeys before even getting far into the jungle.

Room Tip: There are private cabins, or the 'hostel' is a two storey building, with no windows.. bunk b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had the best time in Jungla del Jaguar (Jaguar's Jungle)! It was absolutely amazing from the first minute to the last starting with an unforgettable boat ride to get there past beautiful beaches and rainforest. Even though it was a little windy and we got a little wet, but that already was half of the fun. The hostel is run by Leo, who is only 27 and only started this place a little over than three months ago. He has an amazing thing going there, the location is just perfect and he takes great care of his guests and was a fantastic host. We took some fanastic trips with him including snorkelling and jungle hikes. He took us to great places and we went swimming in a jungle river, took a bath in a couple of waterfalls and made a spontaneous trip to a bat cave at sunset with him. All of those things were amazing experiences! We really loved sleeping in the open air dorms and waking up by sunrise with the sound of the waves and the jungle in the background.

I have never been to a hostel whith such an amazing atmosphere where all the travellers staying there are just hanging out with each other and have a good time. We met so many interesting people there. I think this is partly due to the fact that everyone comes together for breakfast and dinner where you can either enjoy the costa rican cuisine or whip sth up urself. Of course due to the fact that Leo has only been running this place for a little over three months not everything is working perfectly like in an established hostel, but that was nothing that bothered us or anyone else that was staying there. And he is constantly working on improving things and turning this into an even more beautiful place in that great location with the National Park right around the corner, the many secluded beaches and the palm fringed estate that place is situated on.

My friend and I never felt so depressed actually having to leave a place and I can only recommend for anyone who does not need super luxury to go there and just see for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingStephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Corcovago is the most beautiful place in Costa Rica and we loved our stay here!! Lots of coconuts, see kayaking, roasting cashews and chocolate and beautiful nature. Nice tours offered by Leo who does an awesome job at his hostel and is genuinely interested in his guests. I hope he keeps it small to keep the intimate vibe alive that we experienced. If you care much about safety and luxury though this place might not be ideal for you.

We want to go back immediately....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Jaguar's Jungle, or Jungla del Jaguar, is a beautiful new hostel on the Osa Peninsula near Drake's Bay. The hostel is around 20-30 minutes by boat from Drake's bay... very close to Corcovado National Park (you can hike to the border of the park, and hike along the border, from the hostel on a convenient 3-4 hour hiking tour). Leo, the owner of the hostel, offers tours and will help you with anything you need help with - be it booking your next hostel stay, planning your next phase of the trip, helping to organize your Corcovado trip, or just giving you a great experience around the hostel grounds.
Osvaldo, the current cook and handy-man, is an amazing chef - and will prepare excellent meals - way better than you'd expect for the price they charge for meals ! They always have vegetarian options or meat/ fish dishes. You'll have to tell them in advance what you'd like to eat, you can also just order breakfast and dinner and bring your own food for lunch, whatever you prefer. I'd totally recommend to eat the meals they prepare though, since it'll work out way cheaper than buying all the ingredients yourself and cooking yourself. The fish is often caught right from in front of the property, and will be prepared in a delicious Tico-style way.
There is plenty of room for many people in the hostel, and they're building more sleeping spaces. Falling asleep to the soothing sound of the ocean and waking up to birds tweeting in the open-style Dormitory was just amazing. The bunk beds are sturdy and comfy and almost all of them have mosquito nets. I slept like a rock. I'm sure I'll go back many times. :)

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs dorm since it has a nice breeze. The downstairs dorm is also nice if you like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlifevolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on a whim. Originally, we had planned to camp in Corcovado National Park, but we ran into a friend in Uvita who raved about this hostel, so we changed our plans right then and there. And I'm glad we did! Staying at Jungla del Jaguar was a dream. The property is absolutely gorgeous - right on the beach, surronded by exotic palm trees, beautiful facilities, and the coolest hosts. Leo, the owner, grew up on the property, so he probably knows way more about the wildlife in and around Corcovado than anyone else. Since the hostel borders the park, we probably saw some of the same animals yuo'd see in the park. One morning, a Tayra was just hanging out by the kitchen, for example.

There are five trails on the property, and a few beaches to visit too. You can rent snorkeling gear from the hostel to explore the clear waters nearby, as well as kayaks to check out nearby beaches. Leo's also a great tour guide, if you wanna hike through Corocovado National Park.

NB: No internet, no cell signal (except for one spot on the property, haha), no mirrors, no restaurants or supermarkets nearby. You should either bring your own food before you get to the hostel, or you can get freshly cooked delicious meals by Osvaldo. The hostel's kind of isolated, but I absolutely loved being disconnected for a few days. This place is surreal in how beautiful and tranquil it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
#8 of 46 in Drake Bay
87 reviews
5.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
49.9 mi away
Cabinas el Colibri
Cabinas el Colibri
#18 of 46 in Drake Bay
7 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar's Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar's Jungle

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungla del Jaguar is a hotel, tour company,, and retreat center nestled deep within 130 acres of Corcovado rainforest of Costa Rica and a stone's throw from the Pacific. We offer dormitory style accommodations as well as private rooms. All of our facilities are located on the beach. Find water falls and sea caves, go on night hikes, pick exotic fruit and take a tour to Cano Island for the best snorkeling in Costa Rica. In addition to our incredible guided tours, you can explore the rainforest on your own. We will provide you with a trail map of nearby beaches, waterfalls, lagoons, and even a bat cave that comes alive at dusk. Hike to world-class surf breaks or snorkel in our bay. If you're lucky, you may even witness something utterly new; something so rare that no one has ever witnessed it before. Every day is an adventure. You will form unforgettable experiences, meet great people, and have more fun than you ever thought possible. Come experience the rawness of Costa Rican beach jungle paradise! We are geared towards travelers looking for adventure and fun that bring a positive attitude to share with others. All of us are looking forward to meeting you soon! Please note : Cancellation policy: 72h before arrival. In case of a late cancellation or No Show, you will be charged the first night of your stay. Flexible Check time in up to 23:00 . Check out before 12:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash. Taxes included. Breakfast not included, but free coffee from 6:00am to 10:00 am. No curfew. No pets allowed. Child friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jaguar's Jungle Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing