We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Paradise”
Review of Jaguar's Jungle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaguar's Jungle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Best place for relaxation and adventure at the same time in the jungle and the sea. Bring enough cash and everything else you need like special food and drinks, the nearest shop is a few kilometers away. For me the food was absoulut perfect, healthy and delicious. Pluck and eat as much coconut and mango you want :) Sharks and turtles while snorkeling on Cano island. Monkeys, snakes, tapirs, sloths, and many other wonderful animals right outside your door or at hiking in the Corcovado National Park right next to.
I had so much fun with the people there and every day was a new little adventure together.
I can not describe how happy I was at this place, I would have loved to stay much longer. Absolutely the most beautiful place I had ever been in my life and to which I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place might be at the top of the list of most beautiful places I have ever been. If you're looking for nature and animals, love the the ocean, and enjoy night after night of spectacular sunsets- go here. Super chill atmosphere (time behaves differently over there), combined with endless potential for adventure (once you've spent enough time in the hammock ask leo about activities) Yummy healthy food and great people always coming through. Remember, there is no road or stores nearby, if there are some things you cant live without or special food you'd like to have- bring them with you before getting on the boat. Leave the world behind and go spend some time in paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A beautiful hostile in the Corcodova Jungle. With private beaches and hike entrances there is always something to do. The people are lovely and genuine. It's a gem on the coast on the jungle. I went with a group of UCSB students and I can say we had a trip of a lifetime. We snorkeled, hiked waterfalls, swam in Rio Claro, relaxed at the hostile, hiked in the Jungle and even camped! I would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demerismorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I live in Drake bay, a destination in itself, and I still find myself wanting to take the adventure out to Jungla de Jaguar ever chance I get! It is a magnificent property smack dab next to Corcovado National Park. Although it is in it's own Primary forest so really, you can see most everything you would in the park while there wandering the many kilometers of trails winding through the jungle expanses of the property. (The park is special too though, so if you can go! They provides tours.) It makes Luxemburg affordable. (Not a common thing when traveling Costa Rica.) With the rolling lawn, great for yoga, dancing, lounging, bonfires on the beach, the most incredible sunset you could imagine over the ocean every night right in the middle of the view, the trees so old you feel their wisdom, waterfalls close by, the fresh caught fish and snorkeling right off the beach. Really, truly, GO! You might never want to leave. <3

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Coco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Jaguar's Jungle was by far the coolest place I've stayed during 3 different trips to CR. This place exceded any wildlife expectations I had about the Osa Peninsula before arriving. I got to see scarlet macaws, coati, tapir, bat caves, crocidiles, a sloth, and much more within a short walking distsnce from the owner's property. The hostel itself was a beach & jungle paradise - it had beautiful empty beaches for swimming/snorkeling, numerous jungle trails for hiking, a nice deck and a large grassy area to kick back and read while eating freshly picked mangos and coconuts from the property. The owner and staff were accommodating and extremely knowledgeable while helping me to organize activities in the surrounding areas. Whether you're looking for relaxation or fun activities, this place definitely has it all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Jungla del Jaguar is a one of a kind; a secret coastal getaway situated along the Corcovado National Rainforest. The owner, Leo, is incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and welcoming. The environment here is teeming with wildlife, as the beachside hostel is surrounded by miles of primary tropical rainforest. I had the opportunity to visit the national park, snorkel at Caño Island, sea kayak, along with a myraid of other adventures during my stay here. I fell in love with the region, as I ended up staying a week longer than intended. The hostel itself is beautiful and large, with a soon-to-be yoga studio in the making. The communal space is unbeatable; a wooden outdoor patio, grassy lawn, cosy dining room, and one of the largest book collections I've seen in a hostel. I had all of my meals here, as the food is healthy and top-notch (they offer vegetarian options for all meals!). I highly recommend this location to any traveller who loves adventure. The world is your oyster at Jungla Del Jaguar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Meeting Leo, and being invited to be at his childhood home was amazing! It was so incredible to be able to talk to someone, who speaks my language, and has an education (he's a Biologist born Costa Rican to American parents...) Great vibe, fresh food (he catches the fish) and INCREDIBLE property. We walked from Drake Bay through 22 different beaches, spent a few hours in Rio Clara on the way, before completeing the 15km trek to the most remote place I've ever been, total paradise... on the ocean, and literally on corner of Corcovados national Park. We saw Tapiers and monkeys before even getting far into the jungle.

Room Tip: There are private cabins, or the 'hostel' is a two storey building, with no windows.. bunk b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#14 of 46 in Drake Bay
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
49.9 mi away
Cabinas el Colibri
Cabinas el Colibri
#21 of 46 in Drake Bay
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar's Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar's Jungle

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungla del Jaguar is a hotel, tour company,, and retreat center nestled deep within 130 acres of Corcovado rainforest of Costa Rica and a stone's throw from the Pacific. We offer dormitory style accommodations as well as private rooms. All of our facilities are located on the beach. Find water falls and sea caves, go on night hikes, pick exotic fruit and take a tour to Cano Island for the best snorkeling in Costa Rica. In addition to our incredible guided tours, you can explore the rainforest on your own. We will provide you with a trail map of nearby beaches, waterfalls, lagoons, and even a bat cave that comes alive at dusk. Hike to world-class surf breaks or snorkel in our bay. If you're lucky, you may even witness something utterly new; something so rare that no one has ever witnessed it before. Every day is an adventure. You will form unforgettable experiences, meet great people, and have more fun than you ever thought possible. Come experience the rawness of Costa Rican beach jungle paradise! We are geared towards travelers looking for adventure and fun that bring a positive attitude to share with others. All of us are looking forward to meeting you soon! Please note : Cancellation policy: 72h before arrival. In case of a late cancellation or No Show, you will be charged the first night of your stay. Flexible Check time in up to 23:00 . Check out before 12:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash. Taxes included. Breakfast not included, but free coffee from 6:00am to 10:00 am. No curfew. No pets allowed. Child friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jaguar's Jungle Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing