We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect chill out and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out and great staff”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Loved this place. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, stunning location and loved being woken up by monkeys in the roof. had Access to all the trips in the area but no feeling of being 'sold' anything. Not commercial like some of the other places we saw advertised in the area. Food was simple but great. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    37
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
92
206
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere! Las Caletas is an amazing place in an amazing location, with great service. Very communal atmosphere -- everyone staying there becomes family as soon as you arrive. It was sad to leave. Food was delicious and fresh every meal. Breakfast made to order and they will pack you a lunch if you aren't around to dine there. The honeymoon suite is in the main building though, so if you don't want to rise early in the morning, choose a different location on the property. Jose is a fantastic guide for Corcovado or Cano Island tours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was the highlight of a marvelous vacation. We went there with our two sons, 11 and 15 years and stayed in one of the duplex cabins. Our hole family enjoyed the stay. The location was awesome, the host and staff were super friendly and helpful with everything, the tours were great with smart guides. The food was excellent and varied.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibylle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We loved our one week stay at Las Caletas (my wife and I, together with our 3 children). This was a real fun experience. The hotel rooms are large tents built on a wooden platform, with a real bed inside. Very comfortable, and you can breathe and listen to the rainforest sounds all around you - including the eery howler monkeys that wake you up as the sun rises!
The staff is very friendly and always smiling, absolutely willing to accommodate you as best they can. You eat all together at a large table and can discuss and share experiences with other travelers in a very convivial and friendly fashion. The food was excellent all along, with a different menu, a different fruit juice and cookies every day!
We celebrated new year's eve on the beach, with a gigantic bonfire on the beach.
Hot water is sometimes a little lacking, but you quickly get used to that, and the cold water is actually refreshing after a day in the heat.
The tours are very nice and instructive, and the guides very friendly and helpful. You can actually see a lot by yourself around the hotel - toucans, white-faced monkeys, hummingbirds, etc.
This is the ideal location if you like nature and want a real break from it all!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We (my daughter and I) had a wonderful stay at Las Caletas on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica.
The room was very comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful in every way. The tours of Corcavado and the reef at Cano Island were interesting and the guides (Jose and David) always were willing to talk about what we saw. I think it was the best vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arctopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

To whom thinks of going to a unique place:

I spent a week at the Caletas Lodge. getting there was the beginning of a magical trip. The place is very private and you really immerse yourself in the rain forest. I have never been on a Eco-Hotel doing al the Eco-tours and stuff. The lodge is right next to a waterfall that puts you to sleep like a baby. The monkeys, humming birds, tucans, and all the exotic animals are all around you. They have a tour guide ( Jose is his name I think) that takes you to all the places by boat, walking or walking on paths.

The food was the best. Mary and all the cooks and house keepers are a big family that make you feel like a family.

I am going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We went to Las Caletas in Feb 2012. We traveled by car from San Jose, did a stop for a few days in Dominical (Costa Paraiso) then went to Osa Peninsula (Enanta La Vida), then our last stop, Las Caletas, Drake Bay for 4 night. We had a 4 wheel drive which is necessary to go there. Traveling by car is for people who likes the adventure. We were 2 couple so we found the travel going there very very exciting, funny and different from Canada for sure. We had no problem on the road. We arrived in Drake Bay and followed theinstructions provided by the hotel, call them and someone came to pick us by boat. This was super cool, we were amazed ! We rented a Duplex, it was perfect. We saw macaws every day (5:45 am) in front of our duplex. We hike the ocean path every day, beaches and beaches with nobody around, felt like paradise. We diid the snorkeling tour with Jose (wonderful guide) to Canoe Island. WOW, lots of fish and fun. The food was good and i loved the family ambiance ! Dinning with the group and chatting with people from all around the world. Very nice stay, we would go back for sure!

Andree

Room Tip: Do not try to pet the cat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Caletas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Caletas Lodge

Property: Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Address: Playa Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Caletas Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Caletas Lodge offers comfortable and clean accommodations; fresh and delicious food and a friendly and helpful staff who will make the best effort to make our guests stay an unforgettable nature experience combined with a family atmosphere. Enjoy the great panoramic ocean and rainforest views and awake by the sound of the rainforest and ocean. You'll be surrounded by an exuberant vegetation with wildlife of all shapes, sizes and colors. Careful landscaping highlights our natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Las Caletas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Caletas - Drake Bay Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing