We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
westhampton beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Las caletas was an amazing place to stay in the Osa. I cant say enough about the staff. First of all the ladies cooked fantastic food! David the manager was there to great us and made sure all our trips were planned. He was so nice to talk to and helped me spot the wildlife on the grounds. Jose the guide was so knowledgable and enthusiastic. He taught us so much and was really fun to spend time with. His bug hike at night is not to be missed! The owner David was very kind and always made sure we were having a good time. My husband and I stayed in the tent cabin which was very comfortable and private with a great ocean view. It was really nice dining with the other guests,talking and getting to know people from other countries. We really enjoyed swimming on the gorgeous beach and relaxing in the hammock overlooking beautiful gardens. We also went to Cano island and Corcovado, both highly worth it.
I can't wait to come back to las Caletas. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful
remote retreat with great food and wildlife.

Room Tip: The tent cabins afforded the most privacy and sharing the bathroom was no problem
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    36
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
204
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I visited Las Caletas with a friend of mine. The food is outstanding, if I could give the food 6 stars I would. Jose is the resident tour guide and again, is fantastic. He knows everything about the wildlife and flora of Costa Rica. He speaks perfect English. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are nice. There is no beach to lay on or ocean to swim in. My only negative thing to say is that the owner is a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolanda H, Propietario at Hotel Las Caletas Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Hello JAG3203

We appreciate your review and are always eager to hear our guests opinion. There is just one thing that we think you might be confused about, which is the fact you say that there is no beach to lay on and no ocean to swim in. Maybe that was the at some other hotel you stayed, but our property is perched atop a steep ridge and it is just a 2 minutes walk (60 meters) to get to a beautiful swimming beach. The ocean is most of the year very calm and perfect to have a swim in. With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The three of us (3 adults) stayed at Las Caletas for five nights, which was about the right amount of time, in our estimation. We found the staff and owners to be very friendly, hospitable and helpful. If you are looking for a quiet, remote destination, I would recommend this lodge. We took advantage of the day trips to the nearly National Park and the island boat trip which offers snorkeling, if one is interested. On our own, we hiked to the Rio Claro for a leisurely trip down the river. The wildlife, birds, flowers and vegetation are spectacular and unique. Meals were quite good and the kitchen will prepare a bag lunch if you are venturing out for the day. We were not disappointed in choosing this lodge for our vacation trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just returned from an amazing week at Las Caletas and we loved it. So many ways to spend your day here and the staff will help you in any way possible. David the manager was great, setting up all the tours, and transportation. He was so nice to talk to and was really good with our 5 year old son. Jose, the house guide was top notch as well. Very insightful guide, always looking to explain and teach us something. We did 4 tours with him and we learned something new on every one. And he always tried to show my son anything he could. Even spent an extra hour making sure we found a boa. A thrill my son is still talking about. Those two guys helped make our vacation as good as it was. Just cant say enough good things about them.
Also, David the owner was great as well, always asking us if he could do anything for us or help us in anyway. You could tell he really wanted to make sure we were happy with everything. The food was excellent. The beach was nice. The accomodations were basic but we knew that going in. Thats what we wanted. Simple rooms, perfect location, great food, great people. We will definitely return to Las Caletas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brennandpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canastota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was my 4th visit to Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica.The view overlooking the ocean is stunning.The leisurely walks down the coast in both directions,one way leading to the small village of Agauitas and the other to Rio Claro are magnificent.At one point while walking to the river my wife turned to me and said "oh no not another beautiful secluded beach with nobody on it". Rio Claro is a clear, cool, fresh water river that tumbles down out of the jungle and it invites one for a refreshing plunge after the 1hr walk down the coast.The adventuresome traveler can kayak or swim- hike up river where one might encounter any member of 4 monkey types, scarlet macaws,toucans koatimundays and other types of harmless wild animals.Many of these animals can be seen right at the lodge or any where along the coast.The wonderful staff is delighted to cater to any of your needs. The food is excellent and the guide Jose provides a wealth of knowledge about the local flora and fauna.Then there is David, pronounced Dahveed the Spanish way. He is the fulcrum upon whom the Caletas experience is balanced . He can arrange anything from diving,snorkeling, surfing, a day of adventure at Corcovado National Park, or to showing one the best way to lay in a hammock. Jolanda can provide information that can help guests get to and from Las Caletas as well as other information about this beautiful country. I have been to many fantastic places all around the world, but I have never been anywhere that tops Las Caletas. I now have friends from all around the world that I have met there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billings, mt
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed in la tureca. It was fine for our 22 y.o. son and my husband and I. Not much space, but all we did there was sleep. The rotating fan was very helpful, since it was hot. One morning we were awakened by white faced monkeys jumping on the metal roof. We also saw an agouti just outside, and toucans in the trees by the dining area. The best part of the stay was talking with the other guests from all over the world. Jose, our guide to Corcovada National Park through Las Caletas was very knowledgeable and personable. I don't think you could find a better guide. We also really enjoyed scuba diving and saw a pod of about 50 pseudo killer whales that kept surfacing right by our boat. Las Caletas arranged the diving for us. We were pleased to go out with just the 3 of us and a dive master. Jolanda and David are very helpful, and their advice always worked out well for us.

Room Tip: This was a great spot. We especially enjoyed talking with people from all over the world. I am not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Loved this place. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, stunning location and loved being woken up by monkeys in the roof. had Access to all the trips in the area but no feeling of being 'sold' anything. Not commercial like some of the other places we saw advertised in the area. Food was simple but great. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
22.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Caletas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Caletas Lodge

Property: Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Address: Playa Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Caletas Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Caletas Lodge offers comfortable and clean accommodations; fresh and delicious food and a friendly and helpful staff who will make the best effort to make our guests stay an unforgettable nature experience combined with a family atmosphere. Enjoy the great panoramic ocean and rainforest views and awake by the sound of the rainforest and ocean. You'll be surrounded by an exuberant vegetation with wildlife of all shapes, sizes and colors. Careful landscaping highlights our natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Caletas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Caletas - Drake Bay Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing