We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, This place is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, This place is amazing!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We took the road to Drake Bay as there was some worry about the boat ride and it was so worth the drive! The view and adventure was brilliant! There were a few rivers to cross but there are locals that will advise you as to the best way through. None of them was dangerous! The people along the way were so friendly and you get the opportunity to support these local businesses if you take the road in. Once at Drake Bay, we were picked up and escorted a short boat ride to the lodge. John met us and was a wonderful representative of what was in store for us. We had a large tent while our travel companions had a cottage. Our place was comfortable with a great view. You should note that this is a rain forest and even if it is not rainy season, it is still quite humid. So bedding tends to feel a bit damp, but that is worth all the beauty and experiences you will have. I cannot eat gluten and this was not a problem for our host. The food is great and John ensures that everyone is well taken care of!! He is an outstanding employee Las Caletas! We made sure to hike the trails later in the afternoon or early in the morning. Sunset is brilliant and I highly recommend that you hike to the beach where you can see one. There are so many act ivies available and we took in the snorkeling at canos island. It was fantastic! Worth every cent! We saw so many wonderful fish and sea turtles and spotted dolphins. The day includes a great lunch on a beautiful beach complete with a troupe of scarlettt macaws! Amazing!! Gregory lead the snorklling adventure and as a biologist, his knowledge is profound! He also heads up a night walk but we were too tired from the snorkeling to take advantage of that. If you are considering going to the Osa, I recommend staying at Las Caletas Lodge!

Room Tip: The tents are better ventilated that the rooms and come with a large floor fan. Try to get something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    40
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
98
209
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We, a family with two boys, 11 and 15, stayed at Las Caletas for 3 nights, but I wish we had booked a longer stay. The location is great, and it adds to the nice feeling that you arrive by boat. The staff is very friendly and professional, and will make sure you feel at home. Good food, nice athmosphere, the perfect place if you want to relax and at the same time experience the adventures of nature. We had a nice snorkeling tour to Cano Island on one day, and the next day we hiked inside Corcovado Nat'l park, both tours were great and well organised. The housing is quite basic, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I just spent 8 days at Las Caletas, and it could not have been more perfect. David picked us up in Sierpe for an hour boat trip down the river, through the mangroves, and across the bay. The lodge is situated on a knoll above a sandy cove. Approaching the jungle coast via boat, we heard the sounds of cicadas, monkeys and macaws and smelled the sent of tropical flowers. It made you feel like an 18th century explorer - then the wet landing at the beach was a final, fun flourish. The tent cabin was amazingly comfortable - queen sized bed, light, fan, shelves inside a zip-up mosquito tent under a larger rain-proof tent that covered a porch with lounge chairs and table. Woke in the morning to the calls of birds and howler monkeys, ran on the beach, did yoga, went back for a fabulous open-air breakfast of Costa Rican coffee, fruit, cereal and hot cooked eggs/sausage. Spent the mornings swimming and snorkeling in the cove, ate a lovely plated lunch at the lodge, hiked the beach trails in the in afternoon, and spent every evening watching the sunset from the kayak before heading back in for the best home-cooked three course dinner you could ask for. David the owner and John his assistant could not have been more kind and helpful making sure I was happy, organizing boxed lunches for the days I wanted to spend hiking to the other beautiful beaches, and arranging any tours I wanted to take. The naturalist on staff, Greg, is terrific. Very knowledgeable, and still retains his sense of wonder and excitement at the marvelous creatures we sighted in Corcovado National Park, on our snorkeling trip to Cano Island, and on our night walk in the forest. If you are looking for a remarkably comfortable, but authentic nature experience in Costa Rica, this is your place. I simply cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent 3 days at Las Caletas Lodge and we just regret it was not for ending our trip, as nothing was better than this place.
Even if the rooms are "basic" (you have everything you need and hot water), the location is just perfect.
From Sierpe by boat the landscapes are beautiful and then you arrive on a small beach just down to the lodge.
We have been welcomed by John, very friendly, who took good care of us. The meals included in the price are very good. The main place where we reunited is great and very relaxing. There are hamocs and chairs in the gardens from where you can enjoy the sunset and birds watching.
We did 3 great excursions with Greg, our excellent guide.
First one to Isla del Cano where we had the chance to see a whale and its baby + dolphins on the way (even if it was not the period). Greg and the boat driver Isaac took the time so we can enjoy the show. The snorkeling was cool and we had clear water.
Then we did the corcovado tour from la Sirena, Greg knows lots of things and took the time to explain.
And finally we did the night tour where we saw lots of insects, a snake and the green frog with red eyes.
There is also a path from the hotel where you can walk safely and reach other beautiful beaches.
There is no problem to swim down the lodge even if it is not a great white sand beach to lay down. But that's not the point of the stay in Osa!
Just a detail, the boss David could be a bit more friendly.
So I warmly recommend this place, but don't expect high standard of accomodation, you are in nature and in the middle of the rainy forest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurélia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

You can keep your fancy resorts and the people who frequent them. If your needs are simple, and don't include a swim-up bar and heated bathroom floors, Las Caletas will give you the best Costa Rica and its incredibly kind people have to offer. It is managed by warm, authentic folks that genuinely care for the needs of every guest. We enjoyed three meals prepared fresh every day in the wonderful, open-air, community dining area. I loved starting my day with exceptional Costa Rican coffee while watching toucans, hummingbirds, and macaws backdropped by the Pacific ocean. I met many amazing people from all over the world who also chose to stay at Las Caletas -- some return year after year. I loved swapping trip highlights over meals, and made several new friends that I'll stay in touch with. We stayed in the 2-floor cabina closest to the lodge for five nights. It was clean and met all our needs. Protecting and preserving the sensitive ecosystems that make Oso special is a priority of the hotel, and guests are asked to help in this endeavor. We were more than happy to do our part.

The guides provided by the lodge for our snorkeling outing and Corcovado hiking were both excellent. Snorkeling right off the beach below Las Caletas was quite good -- and David, the owner, was happy to lend us snorkeling gear. When we decided to go hiking on our own to visit Drake Bay, the staff packed up a generous lunch for us. This is exactly why Las Caletas is special, you're not going to be nickel-and-dimed, charged for every convenience and favor. The staff and owner are out to make you happy. It is exactly the kind of place where I want to invest my hard-earned vacation dollars. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valiant_Try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromma, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent 4 days at Las Caletas which is a perfect base camp for exploring Corcovado. The lodge is perfectly situated 1.5 hours by boat from Sierpe, 30 minutes from Drake air strip, 1 hour by boat from Sirena, 45 minutes from Cano island, and 100 meters from the beach and the sea. It is wonderful to wake up early in the morning in the lodge hearing sounds from birds and monkeys. The owners, Jolanda and her husband, are extremely helpful and arrange tours, transports etc. The staff, especially Greg, is very comptent. We, parents and 3 teenagers, stayed in a two storey duplex room that was excellent for 5 persons.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are more expensive than other lodgings but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We feel there is a need to balance all the positive reviews and share a few afterthoughts. We travelled CR for 10 weeks and looked forward to what we expected to be the absolute highlight of our adventures. Let it be said that much of the wildlife can be experienced without having to be isolated on a lodge at Drake bay. Also diving/snorkeling Cano Island can be arranged from i.e. Uvita/Domenical. In all fairness we didn't go hiking as our kids are young, but to be 'isolated' on a place where the beach is useless for kids, there isn't much to do. But what really annoyed us was the boatride where nobody informed us that we were about to climb 10 feet waves and fall down so hard that people fell over. This was a traumaticing experience, really unprofessional and scary, to say it at least. We are not novice to boathandling, we respect the captain's experience having travelled in/out Siempre river for 23 yrs, we were told it was full moon and blah, blah BUT it would have made such a difference if we had been warned.
On the good side we cherish the horse back ride.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
22.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Caletas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Caletas Lodge

Property: Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Address: Playa Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Caletas Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Caletas Lodge offers comfortable and clean accommodations; fresh and delicious food and a friendly and helpful staff who will make the best effort to make our guests stay an unforgettable nature experience combined with a family atmosphere. Enjoy the great panoramic ocean and rainforest views and awake by the sound of the rainforest and ocean. You'll be surrounded by an exuberant vegetation with wildlife of all shapes, sizes and colors. Careful landscaping highlights our natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Caletas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Caletas - Drake Bay Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing