We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Magic of the rainforest with the comforts of home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Magic of the rainforest with the comforts of home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Comfortable, modern accommodation where the rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean. Herb, the owner, and Mary, the manager, were exceptional hosts. They provided us with any and all contacts, information, recommendations, and advice we needed to plan our daily adventures. To top it all off - three fantastic meals every day. If you are traveling to Drake Bay I highly recommend Tranquilo Lodge be your accommodation of choice. If you are not planning a trip to Drake Bay, you should.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with ocean views as the sunsets are spectacular.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryMaria33, Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
It was a pleasure having your family as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to support us with your review. Hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I enjoyed everything about our trip to Drake Bay and our stay at Tranquilo Lodge. All tours and activities were fun and food was great! Snapper and amberjack (catch of the day) were prepared fresh for us to eat. All staff was friendly and went beyond expectations to assure our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasChuckG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Group of 14 friends and family ages 8 to 84. Everyone enjoyed to the Max. Herb the owner is a perfect host. Between he and Mary the manager they know everything to see and do in the area and can arrange it all for you. Your choice to have an action filled vacation or just relax at the lodge or beach. Meals prepared by Mary and Rafael are superb. Only the freshest of ingredients. We even had guest chef night where some of us tried our hands with local ingredients. The sunsets from the upper area are worth the trip all by themselves. I would say hurry and get to Drake Bay and Tranquilo Lodge before the rest of the world discovers it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddelguadalupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a trip of a lifetime! This is the place to go for an unforgettable vacation. The service we received from Herb, Mary, Emilio, Rafael, Alonzo, Jorge, Mario, Marisa and our guide Eric was like no other. The meals and desserts were delicious. We stayed in room 8 and it had a phenomenal view of the Pacific Ocean. The flowers on the grounds are beautiful. Macaws ate almonds from the tree near our room. So much to do here. Our activities included fishing, zip lining, national park tour, horse back ride to waterfall and swimming, snorkeling and beach. Also, love the hammocks for relaxation. Quaint town with an ice cream shop and little grocery stores. The people are very friendly. Our trip ended with a wonderful massage at the hotel overlooking the ocean. The age range in our group was 8 years old to 84 years old. Everyone throughly enjoyed the stay. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarnieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jourdanton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first stay in Costa Rica was a great experience. The staff at Tranquillo lodge couldn`t have been friendlier or more accommodating. The food was outstanding. Enjoyed the tours and walks on the beach searching for and finding sea glass. The local people were very friendly and helpful. Beautifull sunsets over Drake Bay, birds and monkeys within site of the lodge. The airport being within twelve to fifteen minutes was a plus.Will definitely return. James and Delaine Baker, Texas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was back in December when we stayed at Tranquilo Lodge. We drove past it when driving into Bahia Drake because I thought they were closed and still preparing to open for high season. We decided to drive around to look for a place to stay closer into the town of Drake and most of the places to stay were only boat accessible. Since we had a car we couldn't get over to see if these other places had availability and any place we could get to by car was booked or not to our liking. By the time the sun was setting, what we could see since it was raining, we felt like we were running out of luck. There was a small little info center in town and the gentleman who was running it was nice enough to call Tranquilo Lodge for us to see if they had a room. They stated they weren't really open for business yet but to come on by and they would set us up. Talk about above and beyond!
We enjoyed 2 nights staying at the private room that is up the stairs from the main house/rooms. What a LOVELY view and the room was nice. The bed is a king size but unfortunately very springy so not too comfy. Water pressure is great with hot water ~ nice and clean bathroom. A little refrigerator for placing cool drinks and ceiling fans. There is a huge deck in front of the room that has a hammock and chair for lounging. It was quite a lovely spot for me to do my morning yoga. We were unfortunately rained out the time we spent in Drake but we didn't really care since we had the lovely deck and the ocean to look at while humming birds zoomed around from flower to flower. Definitely pura vida! Very peaceful and great way to recharge the batteries.
We were able to meet Herb, the new owner, and Mary, the manager/gourmet cook. Every meal with them was cooked to perfection and served at the time we wanted it. We didn't expect food for lunch our 1st full day there. We came down the steps to get into the car to drive to town for a meal when Mary asked if we were ready for lunch ~ we were very hungry at this time. She said great ~ one of the guys just pulled a few red snappers out of the ocean and they were all cooked up ready to eat. We really felt spoiled at Tranquilo Lodge and we could tell that Herb and the rest of his staff will go above and beyond for his guest to make sure they have a nice time and are well taken care of. I look forward to going back sometime in the very near future.
Thanks again Herb and Mary for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dannielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryMaria33, Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Wow your review is so nice. Thank you. We will love having you visit us again. And just so you know, we did purchase new orthopedic mattresses. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I loved it here...pretty beaches, great food prepared and served 3 times a day by nice staff :) Its only a short walk down the road to the water and a quiet beach. Everyone was really helpful and I find the jungle here so lush and lovely.........

Room Tip: Choose a room with new bedding, private deck and a hammock of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eveinhergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
2.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Property: Tranquilo Lodge
Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing