We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome lifetime adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
seattle, wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome lifetime adventure”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My daughter collected donations for the Nature Conservancy Adopt an Acre program for the Osa Peninsula for her 11th year birthday party, so we decided to go there! My husband was hesitant to attempt something so adventurous - we have traveled to Cancun, Tulum, Mexico and stayed at resorts, been to Hawaii staying in condos, but a tent camp for 5 nights??? But we had an lifetime experience - right near the beach with awesome views and swimming, the meals were hearty, the international visitors added to the flavor of the meal - we stayed longer than most and patience paid off, monkeys in the camp, the resident scarlet maccaws, leaf cutter ants. The day trips to Cana Island and the Corcovado National Park were led by the resident tour guide and were informative and hot, much focused on the rainforest plants, discussion of resident wildlife. Bring jungle colored clothing, be ready to be hot and then remember that animals in the wild are not like animals in the zoo. They will not come up to you, they will evade you...but if you are patient, you will see animals, or traces of animals in a beautiful country, that's part of the adventure! The bath/showers are clean, but cold. Tents are a bit warm at night, but no critters to worry about at night. Ocean breeze kept bugs away for the most part. Plan to pay your balance in cash since limited ability to pay any other way. Would highly recommend this adventure for kids that love to be outdoors, and love camping - much time was spent on the beach and in the lagoon where tadpoles were hanging out. We absolutely loved the whole experience - we flew into Drake Bay where we were met by taxi and then taken to boat to the tent camp - all managed seamlessly by Corcovado Tent camp staff. We also enjoyed a great horseback ride back into the hills - great views and a chance to see where Costa Ricans live.
Go, Experience days away from civilization, Enjoy....we are seeking our next adventure! (But of course, my daughter wants to go back to Corcovado!)

  • Liked — Unexpected immersion into Costa Rica
  • Disliked — Warm at night on mattresses
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hearthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    39
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
44
82
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eurozone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We came expecting this to be the gateway to the world famous jungle reserve that is Corcovado... In fact this place is 30 min speedboat from the nearest ranger station (San Pedrillo).
We did the 6 night package which included day-trips to Isla de Cano and Corcovado Park. Plus we paid an extra $95 each for the trip to the remote ranger station (Sirena, 1hr boat away) that is legendary for its dense fauna (tapir, sloth, cats etc).
All these trips were a disappointment, as the guide herds you like kids on a tight schedule so that he can get you back to base by 2.30pm (why??). The Sirena trip especially: to come all the way to this special place and do the granny's sunday stroll around a 4km mini-circuit, spend ages sitting eating bad sandwiches then having to leave at 1pm!!! Plus we were forced into the group with five 18-year olds who came into the jungle in beachwear, so even less chance of quiet animal spots. So, with no option to do a proper day hike into the reserve with a decent guide, which is what we expected for $385 for 3 people, we felt we'd come to the gorgeous Osa Peninsula to get the soiled end of the wildlife-lover's stick.
On the plus side, the day's offshore fishing with Larry, the genial owner, was well worth it, and Cristobal, the manager, is a great guy, as are his staff of super-friendly local lads, including a good cook. The tents are comfortable and the sounds of the jungle and sea are fantastic.
In summary, Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp is certainly camp, but it sure ain't adventure!

  • Liked — Friendly, relaxing, free use of kayaks, snorkling gear, good food 3 meals/day
  • Disliked — The disappointing tours on offer to Corcovado Nature Reserve
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectReefBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

We stayed at the tent camp for 2 nights over the Christmas holidays. Yes, you are staying in tents! But they are shaded, sheltered, and pristinely clean. We had the "honeymoon suite" right next to the water. The sound of the surf was wonderful at night. The sound of the jungle was fantastic in the morning: BIrds and Howler monkeys. The tent camp is really in the middle of nowhere. Jungle all around. Beautiful coastline! A five minute walk away is a gorgeous swimming beach to go play in the waves. Further along the trail is the beautiful Rio Claro. The camp has a very laid back atmosphere, but is still organized and helpful. Macaws fly overhead regularly and eat almonds from the trees on the beach. White faced monkeys move through the camp in curious, active troops. Lizards, insects, frogs, all show up unexpectedly. This is a piece of paradise. The only inconvenient thing is the shared bathrooms. They are cleaned regularly, but tend to
be sandy and wet. Make sure you bring a flashlight because there is no
electricity in the tents. Enjoy the experience.

  • Liked — gorgeous location
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank howlerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly, Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Me and two friends stayed at the Corcovado Adventures Tent camp.

We paid $70 per person.

We sated at another lodge 2 hours further south (jungle als you can read my review of them as well)

The tent camp was nicely set directly on the water. The bathrooms and showers were very clean as were the tents.

we were looking to spend as little as possible and in Osa that is not easy.

We arrived around noon and were served a plate of pasta with sauce that probably cost about 2$. We were still hungry so we walked to the pulperia behind the school at the next beach down and bought some snacks.

We then spent the afternoon snorkeling and playing on the beach. We saw some cool fish a big eel and a few lobsters. The coral was mostly dead and not very colorful.

That night we had rice and beans, chicken and a delicious zuchini soup.

We thought it odd that they served us canned syrupy fruit when they are in the middle of the rainforest sourounded by fruit. And no seafood? we saw lots of fruits and vegetables in the Kitchen.

The tents were very comfortable and kept the bugs out and we slept like rocks. The next morning we had eggs and rice and beans with watermelon and pineapple.


Overall it was certainly not worth $70 pp to share a tent althought they offered us two but we wanted to stay together.

The arranged our transfer to the airstrip in drake that morning and we were off.

If you really want to sleep in a tent in the jungle go for it otherwise try elsewhere for this amount of money.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beall420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2007

friendly and nice staff - beautiful and quiet place - the paradise (almost)

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elsa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

If you want a camping experience on a rainforest beach, and are not fussy, this is a great place to go. My husband and I went for 6 days with our two young sons (6 and 10), and they absolutely loved it. Lots of monkeys right above our tent, scarlet macaws, and a helpful manager who arranged snorkling, ziplining, and surfing lessons. Transportation was hassle-free. For us grownups, however, there were some issues. BE SURE to ask whether there will be any large groups! We had thought camping would attract families, and it did. However, for our entire stay except for one night the hotel was taken over by 40 college girls and their troup leader...it definitely changed the atmosphere of the place! We learned from a family that was there when we arrived that a similar group of 25 had been there the week prior. Relaxing was not a word I would use to describe the environement with them there (very calm the night they were not) , especially when trying to share the (very dirty) bathrooms or get in line for a meal. The meals were adequate at best...spaghetti two of our 5 nights, and ham and cheese or tuna salad on soggy white bread daily for lunch. The one night the girls were not there we did have a nice fish dinner, and the staff went out of their way to bake my husband a birthday cake! I want to be clear that we were NOT looking for luxury, but at the prices they charge a warning about the groups, clean bathrooms, and slightly better food would have been nice.

  • Liked — location in the rainforest / beach
  • Disliked — VERY hot (no electric so no fan, no sea breezes, high humidity)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-ridetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

My girlfriends and I decided that we wanted to go off the beaten track for at least part of our trip to Costa Rica. We opted for the Corcovado Adventure Tent Camp because a) it was cheaper than the lodge b) it seemed to be more remote.

It was definitely far away from civilization and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the family-style dining and communal eating times allowed for all the guests to meet and share their adventures. And the food was surprisingly good and the fish incredibly fresh. They catch it in the morning and you have it for dinner.

The staff was helpful in booking tours and we even got invited out to a local Tico party, which was just another authentic touch to a really cool adventure.

For three city girls who have never “camped" before, it was definitely a positive experience that we will never forget.

Pros: Friendly staff, lots of fauna, plentiful activities, easy access to beach

cons: bathrooms too far from tents, need lighting in tents

  • Liked — The view, the beach, the location
  • Disliked — bathroom facilities, lack of lighting in tent areas
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
22.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
466 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp

Property: Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Address: Caletas de Osa Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp offers you an affordable and comfortable opportunity to vacation on one of the most beautiful places on the planet; the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica. We provide comfortable accommodations in full-size tents with wood-frame beds. Our tents are covered by a large tarp to protect them from the tropic sun and rain. Each has a front deck with chairs and a great view of the Pacific Ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Hotel Drake Bay
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing