We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay on Osa Peninsula!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay on Osa Peninsula!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was an absolutely awesome adventure! Really enjoyed the location and the day trips to Corcovado National Park and especially the snorkeling at Cano Island was epic! The tents and beds were comfortable with electricity and internet access near the office. Staff was very friendly, Adrian and other tour guides were a wealth of knowledge of the Pura Vida that is Costa Rica! Fresh meals were prepared every morning, lunch and dinner. Plenty of wildlife all around the camp and the ocean temperature was in the mid 80s! Be sure to walk the trails to Drake's bay and to Rio Claro and San Josesito Beach. Overall an excellent and affordable experience that I would sincerely recommend to all traveling to the Costa Rica and the Osa Peninsula!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillerD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    39
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
82
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was the gem at the end of our 12 day honeymoon. We did the four night, three day package with one day at Caño island, one day at Corcovado, and one day on our own. The location is awesome, on the beach at the edge of the jungle. Our guide did an excellent job and we saw some good wildlife. Actually we were a bit charmed and saw some amazing wildlife (a cresting baby humpback being the highlight) but nothing is guaranteed, you want that go to a zoo. On our last day we did the Rio Claro hike right outside of the camp and saw more wildlife on our own. Of course, time not spent hiking or on the water was spent relaxing with a beer on the beach or in a hammock. It's not exactly 'luxury' as advertised. It's more like some of the tent camps we have at Nat'l parks here in the US (anyone from San Francisco... think Camp Mather). The bathrooms were clean, but only ok, especially when a large group came in our second night. Occasionally cold showers. The food was great, but not for the picky ie you can't choose. Still there were several families with kids at the camp and they seemed to be fine. I would replace 'luxury' with 'rustic'. Honestly, I couldn't have cared less. You want luxury, stay at a 5 star resort, you want monkeys waking you up in the morning stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajrpcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

After a week of traveling in the Osa peninsula , we decided to spend a few night at the tent camp before heading back to San Jose. Definitely a wise decision ! We enjoyed a great afternoon of fishing and caught a great wahoo which we then grilled and shared with the guests in a family style dinner. We also spent one day kayaking to rio claro , one of the most beautiful spots i've been to in Costa Rica. The tent camp staff was very friendly in assisting us with all our travel logistics and made it back to Sierpe very happy indeed.

Travelers must be aware that Corcovado is a remote location and the facilities are rustic , if what you are looking for is the authentic osa experience you will find it here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayucos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Thank you Corcovado Adventures for providing a locals looks at the Costa Rican Experience. Great service in a warm and friendly environment where folks from around the globe can experience the fauna and flora of the tropics. Loved the toads at night and snorkeling Cano Island by day at a realistic non-resort price. Fresh fresh served family style really summed up the Pura Vida experience. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'm a return customer who loved it many years ago so I took my family there again for 2 night 3 days in December of 2013. Getting there by scenic speed boat ride from the river town of Sierpe I think it was, is an adventure in itself and when you get to the beachfront camp it gives you the feeling of how isolated you are from your troubles work etc. I noticed they had cabins now, but we like the walk-in tents on separate raised wooden docks near the beach where you can really enjoy the sounds of the surf and also the sunsets, not to mention the view of Cano Island in the distance where we took a boat tour and snorkeled which was great. The walk via a shaded jungle lined beach side trail to a clear water river just 20 minutes walk south of the camp where we saw an Otter was lots of fun too. No to mention the Scarlet Macaw and Toucans birds we saw almost everyday there and monkeys too. We and the wife loved the fresh grilled tuna they catch almost everyday there. The kids liked the chicken. I highly recommend it to the adventure traveler or anyone or family wanting to experience nature at its best.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreieich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The Tents are dirty and old and in that cause it stinks. The bed is uncomfortable and the lines are dirty and old as well. The Food is not good, expect the chicken and the pancakes. The sanitary facilities are just dirty and disgusting! The place is very nice and the people too, but it seems that they don't really care about your situation. Let me calculate that for you: A 2 Day Adventure Package with 1 Tour costs 600$ for 2 pesons. 170$ for the National Park with guide, 80$ for all boat rides and I calculate 30$ for food per day per person that all in 370$. That means the tent camp costs 230$ for 2 night. That's 115$ per night and 57,50$ per person. Every Cabina in this area could it better. Absolut NO GO for the tent camp!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi: Greetings from Corcovado Tent Lodge. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Corcovado Adventures Tent Lodge. Indeed the Corcovado Tent Lodge is rustic, that is what we sell and what most people love about it. Its located right on the beach, surrounded by tropical jungle. We recently acquired new linens ( 2 days ago ): Being so remote amidst a harsh climate makes things last less than in a city. The prices you mention however are absolutely incorrect, and there is no way you might know about what it costs to bring food to such a remote area. Also, you say a 2 day adventure? We have never ever sold a 2 day trip at 300 U$ per Person, there is the 3 days and 2 nights package at U$ 299 per person. The cost of bring food down is very high ( 1.5 hour boat ride each way ). Also, what you mention about 80 U$ for al boat rides is absolutely incorrect, and I think it is quite arrogant of you to think you as a tourist might know what the gasoline costs are in Costa Rica, it really makes you lose credibility. Again, sorry you did not have a great time, but please do not write lies in our review board and incorrect facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Corcovado tent camp – is appropriately named a “TENT CAMP” though we had cabins the amount of wildlife in them reminded me of past camping experiences. To say it is rustic is an understatement. Also to say it has nice scenery is a GROSS understatement. The place is right outside Corcovado national Park. The tours offered are really good and are done with top noch guides and equipment. We went on a nature tour and did snorkeling. The food was very good for the 3 days we were there.

Room Tip: We choose a cabin versus a TENT which gave us a private bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
22.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp

Property: Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Address: Caletas de Osa Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp offers luxury tent accommodations on the beach with amazing views and abundant wildlife, a relaxing environment immersed in the natural wonders of the Osa peninsula. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Discover why National Geographic calls it, "The most biologically diverse place on the planet." Affordable comfort and luxury with full board delicious fare and a full range of Corcovado National Park and Cano Island tours on land and sea. Unique accommodations in full-size tents with wood-frame beds, private decks, electricity, wireless internet and breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Hotel Drake Bay
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing