We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Joyita Indeed!!”
other travellers have booked this property
sit and enjoy the view from your private hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sit and enjoy the view from your private hill
your view from the front door fish in the nearby river or in the surf in front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
sit and enjoy the view from your private hill
your view from the front door
fish in the nearby river or in the surf in front of the house
take a whale/dolphin watching tour
the beach at low tide
your own kitchen to create and eat when you like
take a tour to Cano Island or to Corcovado National Park
enjoy the tropical colors
an intimate spot for a break with a spectacular ocean view out the window
main bed with pull out single underneath
a local visitor when the palm nuts are ripe
sit and read or just chill in paradise
rent a kayak and explore the rivers or ocean
another local visitor
hike the coast and explore the area
rent a horse and guide for an economical adventure
your vacation home in Drake Bay, private and on the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris W
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Joyita Indeed!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Private paradise! I am having withdrawals after my stay at this wonderful spot. The Cabina itself is really stunning and just back enough behind mango trees and palms that you have privacy in the foliage yet can still hear the ocean, which is maybe 50 ft away. Alexis is very accommodating, knowledgeable and so helpful with questions/organizing any of the unreal adventures available to be had in Drake. Thank you Alexis and I will certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank YOU for such a nice review! The cabina is indeed stunning (we are pretty proud of it) and it's nice that you appreciate its thoughtful location. We are SO happy you were able to come see us a second time (during mango season no less) and we (as well as the rest of Drake Bay) eagerly await your third visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place will make you fall in love with Costa Rica”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Myself and a friend stayed here for 5 nights in March and the whole place exceed every expectation. The grounds are stunning, every morning we woke and ran straight into the ocean off of a very quiet beach (we hardly ever saw anyone else) and watched macaws, pelicans and butterflies fly around day after day, it was beautiful. The area has everything you need and there are great local tours. We visited local waterfalls, swam in rivers through the jungle where we saw sloths and toucans, rode horses on the beach.. the whole experience was incredible. The cabina is beautifully designed, has everything you need and is finished with quality. This spot is the best location and nothing short of incredible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for the great review!! So happy you took advantage of our sweet swimming spot and appreciated the rurality of our spot. The River-Safari Tour by Naturaseekers is awesome and we are so pleased you were able to see so many cool things on your trip! Please come back and visit us again! The hammocks, sparsely populated beach, and wildlife await!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Spot for Relaxing and Adventuring!”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I stayed at La Joyita for a week in February. It was incredible! You are surrounded by nature with the ocean right in front of you! It absolutely feels like your own private beach for much of the time. The water is warm and perfect for swimming! The cabina itself was super cozy and comfortable and came with any kitchen accessories you might need.
Alexis is an incredible host! She was close by for any questions and never made us feel as if we were bothering her, no matter what our questions were. She set up all of our tours in the area and had pick up/drop offs from our own beach. She knows the area so well and definitely passed on this information for us.
We were in Costa Rica for two weeks and our time at La Joyita was definitely the most enjoyed and memorable!
The porch is perfect to relax and watch for wildlife and listen to ocean waves! I highly recommend La Joyita and if we ever return to Drake Bay, this would be our first choice!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you! It's always nice when we have guests who appreciate the thorough thought that went into outfitting the kitchen in La Joyita. Great to know that you enjoyed all of your tours, as well as some hammock hanging on the porch (what's not to enjoy, right?). We would love to host you again should you ever return to our little slice of paradise, and I want to see those milky way photographs!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n l
Wateringen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! ”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hi,

We had such an amazing time here! Stayed for 4 nights. The house was really clean and had a stunning view. You have a
nice garden and two Hammocks to chill!
Within a few steps you are on the Beach, it feels like you have the Beach all by yourself! We were also really happy with the warm shower.
It is warm in summer in Drake Bay, but with all the vans we had, we slept really Well!
We enjoyed the sunsets and did a walk every morning to see the macaws!!
Alexis is a perfect host, we could ask her anything and she booked a taxi, watertaxi, a guided tour in corcovado and the diving for us! She was really helpfull, even drawed us a map of the town and how to walk.
You can walk to the small town in about 20 minutes! The food in town is really nice. Ask Alexis about the little bar where you can spot some tucans and have some drinks!! And remember there are no ATM!

Thankyou Alexis so much. We had a great time!!! And we hope to come back and we can meet again :D




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you!! For both this review and for being such lovely guests! We are glad that you took advantage of not only the awesome features at La Joyita - the hammocks and beach in particular - but also the town (the back porch at La Jungla Bar with the toucans) and local excursions! It was our pleasure to host you, and we hope to see you next time you come to Costa Rica! Or maybe when we come see you in the Netherlands!?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floortje...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Even better then expected”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Because of the pictures and lovely communication on forehand we had very high expectations.
Our staying was even better then expected, I would love to recommend this house to everyone who is looking for nice tours (Alexis know a lot and will help you with everything) but also for relaxing.
The house (kitchen is super complete) is so nice, great garden with hammocks and ocean view.
Our holiday in Costa Rica couldn't end better! When can we come back?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thanks Floortje for such a lovely review!! We are so glad that the pictures and communications were appreciated! We do our best to make sure our guests are well-informed before making the trek down to Drake Bay. A well-equipped kitchen is always a bonus, and we tried to think of any and all things one might need while outfitting La Joyita. We were pleased that you took advantage of the outdoor BBQ as well (and thanks for the charcoal)! You can come back whenever suits you, we would love to have you again (or maybe see you on your side of the pond). Thanks for staying with us!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chlhgo
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to kick back and relax, or take on the adventures that await!”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 7 nights at La Joyita. The comfortable cabina has been thoughtfully constructed with many personal touches and is located in a wonderful spot on the beach of Drake Bay, just a 20 minute walk from town. We spent our mornings drinking coffee and watching the birds (macaws, hummingbirds and even a toucan) fly around the various fruit and nut trees on the property. Alexis, our host was extremely friendly and helped arrange our outings/tours and transportation, making this a stress-free holiday.
The beach was amazing and often we had it all to ourselves. When the tide is out, you can spend hours walking along the beach, and the water is the warmest we've ever swam in.
The town offers a good variety of restaurants, and we had no problem finding vegetarian meals. There's also two grocery stores where you can find everything you need if you choose to make some meals at La Joyita.
We did a tour of Corcovado Park, a diving/snorkelling tour, and a night tour with Tracey the Bug Lady. We would highly recommend each one! The park and diving tours picked us up on the beach, right in front of La Joyita. The Night tour was fascinating and definitely one of the highlights of the trip. Alexis also mapped out a day hike for us that took us along the coast and led to a river where we took a boat and saw waterfalls. We would highly recommend La Joyita for any travellers looking for that perfect balance of jungle, ocean, relaxation and adventure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your stay! We are so happy you were able to enjoy the company of the many birds and that you appreciated the fruit/nut tree planting we are slowly but surely doing! It is definitely a treat to have the beach all to oneself, and we are lucky enough to have that as a common occurrence! We are pleased that you enjoyed some tours while staying with us! Tracie is a totally unique and wonderful individual so it only makes sense her tour was one of your highlights! Thanks again for the warm review - and for the treats!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, private beach cabina”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

La Joyita is the perfect place to stay in Drake Bay. The recently constructed cabina has everything you need to feel right at home. The setting is amazing, private and just steps to the beach. We especially enjoyed the outside area, swinging in the hammocks watching the sunset each night. Alexis is the perfect host. She helped us arrange activities in the area and made us feel very welcome. Thank you Alexis!
We would definitely love to stay at La Joyita again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you recognized and enjoyed the thought and care we put in to making the cabina your home away from home! The hammocks are an ideal place to lay back, relax and catch the setting sun! We hope you do make it back to Drake Bay and can spend some time at La Joyita again! Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing