We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A slice of heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Although we only stayed one night at this lovely resort, we had the most amazing time and loved every minute of it. The staff were accommodating and very friendly. The room was very clean, modern and had an amazing view. The food was also fabulous, especially as we are vegetarians. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to anyone who wishes to stay. I do not have any bad things to say and would definately come here again, only for longer!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nb0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    58
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
73
274
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Guatemala and stayed in the Quetzal Suite for 5 nights. Our room was beautiful, the outdoor sitting area had an amazing view, and sitting out there hearing the sounds of waves crashing onto the hotel was so relaxing. One bit of advice is to bring warm clothes just in case. It was a bit cooler with some wind that I didn't expect, maybe we went at a bad time, I dont know. I didn't realize Lake Atitlan was 5000 ft above sea level, it was a little cool in our room at night, but not too bad and they had a fireplace in the restaurant which was nice. During the day it was nice and I wore shorts and tank tops. We enjoyed our time there, it was very romantic. Go visit Lake Atitlan, it gorgeous and full of mayan culture and do a tour of the villages, its very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Beautiful boutique lodge on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. See three volcanoes lining the lake from your bed. Built and run by Kiwi expats, (who even MADE the bricks by hand) every detail is personal, warm and friendly. A unique Vegetarian menu was fabulous even for a NON vegetarian like me. Views from everywhere you look on the lake in the Guatemalan mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I think it is perfect base to explore the magnificent lake Atitlan.

It all went perfect. We were met at Panajachel and after short 10mins boat trip were welcomed at the lodge, which looks very nice from the water. Volcanos were not seen in the mist of the lake at this point, and we almost lost our hope to see them, but all the mist was gone by sunset, and at sunrise the skyline was also clear.

I do not have words to write about the view of the lake and volcanos - it must be seen.

We took lake-view suite which was very large, comfortable room with both modern and traditional design. We especially liked the design of our room and hotel - there many unique things, i would say even artifacts thanks to the owner who it feels contributed part of her soul into this wonderful creation. By the way, room has vary large balcony, which can fit 4 people or more with panoramic view over lake.

We had very nice romantic dinner at the hotel, nice swim in the warm and clear waters of the lake and short walk up the hill in the morning to get even bigger view of the lake and surroundings.

We stayed one night there as we had only 4 days / 3 nights in Guatemala which was enough to explore main highlights (Antigua, Atitlan, Chichicastenango, Tikal), but if we get our ticket to come there next time I would stay on the lake for at least 5-7 days as there are many opportunities like exploring different villages on the shores, kayaking and high altitude diving.

Many thanks for people who design, create and manage such cosy boutique hotels - you create very positive emotions so that I would never want to stay in resort-like hotel!

Keep going!

Nikolai (Russia)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We had a lovely, romantic time at this lodge. It was very romantic, the staff to VERY good care of us. Some of the best views of the volcanoes. Everything was done well to the details. Hosts: Mayah, Jeffro and Juan Manual really extended themselves to us, and made us feel at home.
Highly recommend this lodge, and Lake Atitlan is a treasure, not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. Waking up everyday with the lake and volcanoes in the distance and a pot of delicious Guatemalan coffee on our terrace was an extraordinary experience. It was such fun to hail the water taxis from the Lodge dock and visit villages around the lake.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I have had the good fortune to travel the world and have stayed in many beautiful places. I have to say Laguna Lodge is my favorite. The rooms are faboulous and the food was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Relaxing vibe in beautiful setting. My only regret is I didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reax11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Property: Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing