We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What an amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights. From the moment we got off the plane it was smooth sailing. Our private transportation was right on. Pedro was great. He made the two and a half hour drive seem like nothing. Our room was awesome, it's crazy how much detail goes into the design of each room. The view was amazing, though we were on the second floor, not sure the first floor has the same effect. Everything was very clean. I'm not sure if it was the mountain air or the super soft sheets but we slept so good ever night. The four course meal was great but way too much food for me so after the first night we just did a la carte the rest of the time. The food was amazing and the service was perfect. Ben really went out of his way to take care of us. Best coffee I've ever had! We explored the other villages during the day, Panajachel being my favorite (I love to shop)! We also took the trails to the surrounding retreats and hit up cocktail hour. After 5 you're pretty much stuck at the Lodge but after dinner and drinks we were ready for bed anyway. Overall we would go again and stay here, by far the best place we saw on the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlekangarooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    53
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
71
269
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We loved the professionalism and the kindness of the staff! Lovely and relax area! Lost to do: hiking, visiting surrounded village, swimming, kayak, etc. the food is awesome!!
I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A romantic getaway in a gorgeous setting. A very relaxed setting with wonderful service from attentive and personable staff. We ate nearly all of our meals for the week on-site and enjoyed the food immensely. Some of the staff speak little English, but go far out of their way to ensure everything is to your liking. The lake is calm in the mornings with great views of the three volcanic peaks across the lake. Every direction you look is breathtaking with views from above along the trail that starts at the back of the lodge.
Large, beautiful cranes cruise by on a regular basis. Occasionally snagging a fish diner.
My wife and I had a great time with interesting activities (We went paragliding and on a trip to San Juan to visit a local Shaman in his home) and plenty of opportunity to relax and enjoy each others company. The local Mayan population seem very hospitable.
Highly recommended. Ask for Juan Manuel.
The photo is from our room at sunset(on the second level).

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor have private garden patios. The higher rooms have verandas with better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael20122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aumsville, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed for four nights at Laguna Lodge (March 24-28). It was wonderful- very rejuvenating. We bought a very reasonably priced Groupon for a 4 night stay that included breakfast for two and a nice bottle of wine. The staff was wonderful, as was the setting, rooms, and the all organic/vegetarian cuisine. The hike to the hammocks was definitely a highlight of our stay (so bring your hiking sandals- we took the long route which took about 2 hrs), as was the included kayaking. Each night there were brilliant lightening shows that lit up the sky but no rain. We explored the lake on our own and did not go on any guided tours, and had a great time. We walked to Santa Cruz each day, and from there we took the boats to a different town each day. Our favorite was San Juan, which is not as crowded with tourists as San Pedro. San Juan is known for their textiles and artists, so if you are looking for souvenirs, this is the place to go. They have a wonderful weaving cooperative comprised of local women, and we were invited into the studio's/homes of several artists. We took a short taxi ride to the coffee plantation, which was amazing. There was a 45 minute hike that had glorious views of the lake, San Juan, and the coffee plantation. San Marcus is also a very pleasant town full of new age healers and travelers from all over the world. San Pedro was more of a relaxed party town. When we returned each night, we were able to relax in luxury at Laguna Lodge. I would highly recommend staying at Laguna Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level- from our room you could not see the actual lake if your were sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwifekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

verything about this hotel is gorgeous and peaceful. Every possible view you have is breathtaking. The ONLY issue I had was that the infinity pool was green and murky.
The coffee there was amazing. The people were super friendly. Breakfast and every meal is served with a smile. Their staff literally does everything our boat driver was also the man that served us dinner, drinks, cleaned our room, and served us breakfast, did the gardening. I give them a lot of respect. Bring a book.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackandthebeanstalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaLodge, General Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would like to apologize for the appearance of the pool during your stay. As we use a salt water re-generator to clean the pool it requires occasional maintenance with sea salt which causes the pool to have a temporary cloudy appearance. The lodge has 15 staff members each with a dedicated service area and during high occupancy they are pleased to serve you in other areas. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had 3 nights at the beautiful Laguna Lodge and we were absolutely blown away. The room and the rest of the hotel was not only beautiful in every way but thoughtfully created with sustainable materials. Even the lamp shades were made of corn from the local villages! The location was perfect, just a 5 minute boat ride on the stunning lake to the main town of Panahachel where you can spend the day wandering through endless market stalls searching for locally made goods. When you're not off exploring the surrounding lakeside towns, the hotel itself has some great facilities to take advantage of including a day spa, gorgeous chill out areas and best of all a perfectly located infinity pool. And the food... Some of the finest vegetarian cuisine that ever did exist. Thank you to the wonderful staff for the impeccable service with a smile - Laguna Lodge is just one of those places that can not be faulted.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The good: the staff is friendly and make all attempts to be helpful, the rooms are beautiful, clean, and spacious, the preserve is a great place for a hike. The bad: no water pressure, very little hot water, no bathroom doors, rooms have very little lighting (headaches every night from eye strain), spotty wifi (more likely due to location, not bc of hotel), and food is very expensive. I have been a vegetarian for 15 years and I know that sometimes this increases costs, however, $40-50 per dinner is not the going rate for dinner per person. In the states I can get as much food for at least equal quality for much less. For as expensive as this hotel is, I would expect more comfort. Would recommend eating elsewhere on lake. Would like more specific info re water taxis by staff, not just its easy to grab one. Be careful to look at your check out bill, our bottle of wine was to be included in our hotel price but if we wouldn't have checked we would have been charged for an okay bottle of wine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaLodge, General Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and helpful staff. Zotz restaurant's lunch menu ranges from $7 to $15. Four course dinner menus are priced at $40 which is $8 for soup, $8 for salad, $16.00 for the main and $8 for dessert, in keeping with other full service establishments located in an intimate and exclusive setting. Daily a la carte breakfast is included in the rate. Deluxe suites have an open plan bathroom style whereas Luxury and Superior suites have a more traditional layout. We apologize for the water interruption due to the system being upgraded at the time of your stay. Local water taxis are not on a set schedule and our staff are always at your service if requested to help flag down a passing boat. We hope you will return to Laguna Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Property: Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing