We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
632
17
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
17
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomhot tubattention to detailfront porchother guestswine cellarprivate covecell phonebreakfast and dinnerthought of everythingwood firegreat hostsreception buildingpaddle boardingoff gridour honeymooncentral america
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The view of the lake, beautiful landscaping and gardens, complimentary kayaks, hiking trails, wood-fired hot tub, home-grown coffee, delicious and impressive cheese plate, amazing staff, incredible bungalows: these are just a few of the things we enjoyed! You won't regret your stay!

We were only able to stay at La Fortuna for one night, but we're so glad we did. We plan to recommend it to all of our friends getting married as an ideal honeymoon spot. Both Panajachel and Santa Cruz are nearby for exploring and getting lunch (dinner is trickier because the public boats do not run at night, but the hotel offers two delicious options every night). If you feel like sticking around for the day, there's enough to do on the grounds to stay occupied. Steve and Kat plus all of the local staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were tickled to be greeted by the dock upon arrival with cold water flavored with some sort of delicious fruit (we need to figure out what fruit it was)!

The location, accommodations and service far exceeded our expectations. We stayed at another, more expensive hotel for two nights which was great, but La Fortuna is more than just a hotel, it's the whole package.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 3 (one of the two smaller bungalows). It was great, but do be aware that it's a tight squeeze with luggage. We absolutely would have chosen a suite if we'd had the option. We loved that our bungalow was tucked back away from the others. Very quite and private. The path up to our bungalow was neat, but a bit of an adventure. Might be tricky for some people with less balance/agility (see photo of the Path to Bungalow 3).
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby_Mapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We agree, 1 night was too short. We hope that the next time you guys will be back for a while longer. We loved having you both, and thank you so much for squeezing us in before you left the lake. Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to review us.

We wish you both the best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I cannot wait to go back to this place!

A high level of detail has been paid to every element of this lakeside oasis. From the bungalows with their amazing outdoor bathrooms (have a bath under the stars!) and hammocks, to the chairs and loungers on the dock and lakefront – everything was exquisite.

It was cool to see all the eco-features including solar power, composting, local sustainably harvested wood (reclaimed wood when possible) fresh local produce and coffee (they grow their own fruit, veg and coffee!!!). And WOW did that produce taste great! Best meals on our trip! The infinity style hot tub, heated by a wood fireplace, overlooking the lake, was especially enjoyable with a glass of vino after a hike up a volcano.

The swimming, kayaking and lounging at La Fortuna was excellent. Very friendly staff and dogs (we missed our dog so it was nice to have furry friends on our trip).

The owners, Steve and Kat were incredibly helpful and friendly. Every recommendation they gave was perfect – from transportation to and from the airport, to hikes on the lake, amazing cultural experiences, and places to shop and eat. They really helped ensure our first trip to Guatemala was perfect.

If you go to Guatemala you have to visit Lake Atitlan and stay at La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Bungalow suggestion - #1 has a great view of the lake. #2 is great if you want to be more secluded.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SelinaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks so much for writing a review about your experience at our little piece of paradise. We loved having you guys, and love it when the guests take full advantage of all the things there are to do (kayaking, hiking, visiting the villages). We are thrilled you love the lake as much as us, and hope to see you here again. The puppies in particular are missing you.

Wishing you both the best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent stay at La Fortuna at Atitlan. The attention to detail in design and build of the bungalows is exceptional. The entire experience from the service and food to the stunning outdoor bathrooms was top notch. Extra creativity points for the wood fired hot tub! We spent half our time on the property relaxing and the other half touring around the lake on excellent recommendations from Kat and Steve (Owners) for shopping, hiking and eating. If you are looking for an amazing place to get away from it all and enjoy a outdoor oasis with the comforts of home then La Fortuna at Atitlan is it!

P.S. I highly recommend spending a morning in the hammock of your bungalow, reading a good book while sipping coffee that was grown on the property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks so much for your glowing review. We always love to hear that our guests have not only loved the details of the property - but they were able to unwind and get away from it all. Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us. We wish you both the best and hope we see you again soon.

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment the boat turned into the bay for La Fortuna, I knew that we were arriving at a special place! We pulled up to the dock and were greeted by Kat, one of the owner operators who would be one of our hosts along with her husband Steve for the next 5 days. They were lovely people that went out of their way to ensure a wonderful experience...from great food and drinks at La Fortuna to excellent recommendations about where to explore around the lake. There are lots of interesting towns to experience the local culture and there are several amazing hiking trails, including climbing to the top of volcanoes! A nice hot tub with a view of the lake to enjoy some beers awaits you after one of those hikes or a paddle on the lake (they have 4 kayaks to use).

The property is gorgeous....beautiful landscaping meets tropical forest with several vocanoes to gaze upon! One was even making some noise! Every time I explored the property, I discovered something different. The bungalows were luxurious and very comfortable...the outdoor bathrooms were stunning. Don't worry, they were completely private! The attention to detail by Steve and Kat was obvious everywhere. You can't go wrong staying at any of the bungalows.

My expericence at La Fortuna was perfect. If travelling to Lake Atitlan you must stay here. You will not be disappointed...until you have to leave.

Thanks so much Kat and Steve!!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your time at the lake with us. We had a fantastic time with you guys - you made our work EASY. Thanks for also taking the time to recount your positive experience at our property. We wish you both the best, and hope that we have the pleasure of a second visit.

All the best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

La Fortuna is set in the forest on the shore of Lake Atitlan and is accessible only by boat. It is a beautiful location and Steve and Kat (and the dogs) are most welcoming. Meals were very good and tasty and delivered on time. Absolutely no complaints about the service or the staff.
However, to say some of the design choices for the accommodation are eccentric to say the least and provide something of a challenge to anyone who is less than fully mobile. The bed was king sized and comfortable but there was not a single shelf, wardrobe or hanging space for clothing. Indeed not a single flat surface, other than the floor, to lay a suitcase. Having nothing but your suitcase laying on the floor with all your clothing in it is not very convenient. There was a large trunk at the end of the bed. It had no draws and couldn't be used anyway since it had a lid that lifted up and the lid was covered with ornaments etc. The bathroom was open to the sky, which is fine but I do wonder how I would cope with the toilet at night if it was raining and there was no cover at all. To turn the shower on , (and you can't reach the tap if you're standing in the bath), you must climb from the side of the bath onto a ledge of the garden and stretch up to reach the tap. It's quaint but hardly convenient.
Other curious choices include the veranda dining table, which is somewhat higher than standard height but supplied with locally made short legged chairs which means the table is up to the middle of your chest when you sit to eat. It felt like the Mad Hatter's Tea Party.
There is a large bamboo ladder fixed to the wall of the bedroom to give access to the loft which has a lounge with views of the lake. The ladder stops slightly short of the loft and there is a protruding ledge which you must negotiate (without a handrail) to get up and with an even trickier maneuver to turn yourself around to come down.
The normal height for steps is about 6 inches. The 4 steps up to the veranda are about double that size and, again, there's no handrail. Going up is generally OK but stepping down double the usual height with nothing to hold on to can be quite difficult for anyone not in the first flush of youth. But that's nothing compared with the access route to our companion's cabin. A series of stone columns from 6 inches to 6 feet in height, again with no hand rail. An accident waiting to happen.
Did this eccentric design spoil our stay? No, it didn't - but I would have been happier if I had known in advance about some of the peculiarities You need to know potential hazards if you have balance or mobility problems.
Don't be put off by my comments. You might find the unique qualities more amusing and fun than I did. It's beautiful spot run by nice people - buy rather unconventional in some ways.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Rosanne,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed La Fortuna but are disappointed that you did not completely comprehend our vision at La Fortuna. Our design is imaginative, original and one of a kind and most guests appreciate this quality. We provide an experience which can not be duplicated.

Our property is not a Super 8 motel and does not have regulation stairs, handrails and other OSHA standard devices, and we are sorry that we weren't made aware that these were your requirements. Had we been made aware, we definitely would have recommended alternative locations on the lake. We have hundreds of pictures posted on TripAdvisor which show the interior of all the rooms, the outside raised steps and the outdoor bathrooms (which most people adore). We hope that we represent ourselves well so that guests are not surprised when they arrive. When guests are tentative about booking due to steps and potential mobility issues we always advise them that our location is not suitable.

At La Fortuna we have designed a unique luxury experience unsuitable for children, and individuals who have limited mobility or those looking for the uniformity of a chain hotel in America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews