We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Bliss at Villa Sumaya”
Review of Villa Sumaya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Sumaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was my 3rd year at Villa Sumaya & 2nd time bringing a yoga group to the retreat center...what a treat. The staff is exceptional from Victoria the manager, to the fantastic kitchen folks, amazing massage therapists & body workers, & Wendy is so warm & welcoming. We had an amazing Protection Ceremony, enjoyed kayaking, hiking, & most of all exploring the Mayan culture & people. Lake Atitlan is truly an adventure & very unique in this world. Waking up every mooring to the lake & the volcanoes was breathtaking!

Room Tip: I love the older Maya Rose rooms, & the new rooms were lovely also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrookemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just finished leading a yoga retreat at Villa Sumaya, third year in a row! This is a magical place, the 2 studios are beautiful, & perfect for yoga & meditation, healing arts...both with panoramic views of Lake Atitlan & the volcanoes across the lake...its a magnificent location. The food is delicious, healthy & fresh. The staff are gracious & helpful. The rooms are lovely, simple, clean, charming. We did a kayak & hiking tour with Lee along the lake which was spectacular. The Mayan villages on the lake are authentic, the women's cooperatives make beautiful textiles all by hand.... This is a very special place, the owner Wendy has built a beautiful sanctuary being Villa Sumaya for yoga, meditation, peace & quiet. Also they offer superb healing therapeutic massage & body work, & spa treatments. Everyone left rejuvenated, relaxed, inspired.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My partner and I live in Antigua, Guatemala and this is our absolute first choice of place to escape to when we can get away for a few days to the lake. Just a few hours in this tranquil oasis and you already feel your heart rate slow down and if I don't sound too New Agey, my aura actually expand. There are so many lovely little niches around the property to go and sit, read, enjoy the view, the sun or simply just watch the slowed down life go by on the lake. Their rooms are spacious and comfortable with beautiful touches and design. I believe all their rooms come with a stunning view of the lake. The landscaping of the property is also beautifully laid out (despite recently lake level rises/flooding) with an abundance of flora and fauna and many magical corners to go sit, relax & replenish your soul. The menu is great and suits our vegetarian palate well. They also have a lovely little shop with many beautiful and inexpensive hand-crafted items to choose from. The staff (many English speaking) are polite, work with a smile and always willing to accommodate any of our requests. I would also like to add that Villa Sumaya is situated far enough away from Panajachel (to be blissfully quiet) but a relatively short boat ride from the Panajachel dock, which is rather lovely when you are feeling tired and have already endured a long car ride from Guatemala City or Antigua. Dearest Villa Sumaya and staff - we shall be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently spent a week at Villa Sumaya as part of a writing and yoga retreat. The setting of this retreat center is beautiful and serene. Every room overlooks Lake Atitlan and has its own private patio or outdoor sitting area. The vegetarian meals (with a chicken or fish option for an additional cost) and are delicious and creative. The Temple, where we practiced yoga each day also overlook the Lake. All in all, a well run resort/retreat to which I would return in a minute.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have private sitting areas although some are larger than others; each room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97,869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

An amazing retreat Center nestled in the most beautiful surroundings.
The staff is there to meet and excede your needs.
The accommodations are spotless and beautifully decorated.
The food is amazing and plenty of it.
The therapist are well rounded in each of their specialities and willing to work very hard to get
everyone seen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This gorgeous property is a haven for people wanting to relax, tune in to nature, and "get away from it all." Lake Atitlan is the star, but Villa Sumaya comes close is its splendor. The rooms are lovely, the views are stunning, the food is fabulous and nutritious, and the services are the best. I had the best massages of my life. I hope to go back. It was fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njjdivagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Amazing sanctuary, nestled in one of the most amazing places on earth. The food was fantastic, therapists were supreme and the rooms were perfect. Service was friendly and most accommodating. Yoga temples are located with breathtaking views of the lake and volcanoes. I will be back to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrainneBDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
505 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sumaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sumaya

Address: Paxanax, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sumaya is an Eco-Chic Wellness Center. We are dedicated to rejuvenating holistic practices and healing modalities as well as preserving Mayan traditions and facilitating outdoor adventure in the heart of the Altiplano. Majestically located on the shores of Lake Atitlan, we offer custom designed all inclusive services, to personal, group and family retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sumaya Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Villa Sumaya Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing