We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rustic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice rustic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful, location was great and the food was delicious. It's rustic, almost like camping but with a room and a bed. The room we were in overlooked the beautiful lake with a great view of the volcanoes. You could hear the lake gently lapping up against the edge of the grounds during the day and night. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Only downside were the bathrooms: 2 toilets and 1 shower, all outside near the main dining area and hangout. Bathrooms were outside so not much privacy. Again, very rustic. But overall, it's a great little place with exceptional views, charm and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    38
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
59
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver bc canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice staff, but musty room and mattress. The shared bathroom is down a treacherous stone stairway, and the facilties are barely adequate, with poor drainage. The room while initially charming, was airless, and we slept with the door open all night. We had dinner there one night, and it was great. The coffee, at 12 quetzals a cup was thin and expensive for a country that prides itslef on it's coffee!

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms with bathroom have a bit more air. They all have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked on booking.com and the reservation was not exactly the same as when we arrived. Online we were told a private bath, but when we arrived we needed to pay a little more. The value was still great and the room was available. The staff was excellent and I believe the issue was the fault of booking.com, not this business. We were happy to find a good location with a great view. There is a dock to swim from and boats come and go frequently. Food at the restaurant was good. There was a newer staff member who seemed very determined to make positive experiences for guests, but everything was beyond satisfaction. Bring bug repellent...the room we had did allow for bugs/spiders to find their way in, but the only issues we had was walking along the paths.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We absolutely loved staying here. The cottages are basic but clean with comfortable beds, and the views!!!! When I opened my eyes in the morning the first thing I saw was the lake with Volcan San Pedro in the distance. The Guatemalan family that runs it are incredible. Warm & welcoming with a wealth of information about the area. They also provide reasonably priced guided tours to many different places.The food is great. We were just so happy we found such a wonderful place to stay & it is easily accessible by boat to all the other towns around the lake. Most mornings we would walk about 10 minutes to Lee's Kayak place where we could go out on the lake on our own. Magical!

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath & at night could hear the waves of the lake as we fell asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was in Xela for an extended amount of time and wanted a trip to the lake for the weekend. This place was perfect. It was really easy to get from Pana to Santa Cruz and then back. The family running the place was very friendly and welcoming...they spoke English very well, but were very willing to communicate in Spanish with me. (I wanted to practice!) The food was good. The location was great...I wanted to stay much longer.

Room Tip: I had a single room with a shared bath. My room was very close to the office/kitchen area. It was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soibhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

If your idea of the perfect hotel is the Waldorf=Astoria, don't stay at Arca de Noe. However, if your idea of a perfect stay includes a million-dollar view of Lake Atitlan and its towering volcanoes, well-prepared, tasty food at reasonable prices, and a staff that treats you like family, Arca de Noe is your place.

Located right by the dock in Santa Cruz, Arca de Noe features a beautiful garden that looks out over the lake, and Adirondack chairs to enjoy the view. Rooms are rustic, to be sure, but absolutely clean and with very comfy beds.

From the moment I arrived, I was welcomed by all the members of the family who run this place -- Aaron, Pedro, Domingo, Maria, Isaias, to name only a few. How many hotels have you stayed at where you know everyone's name? They helped with advice and making sense of my fractured attempts at Spanish, not to mention grabbing me a beer or cup of coffee. What a great staff!

The actual village of Santa Cruz, located up the hill, is a little quiet for my taste, however proximity to the dock made it easy to hop a boat to visit villages around the lake, as well as Panajachel, the main town in the area.

(Beware: boat captains and tuk-tuk drivers will overcharge you. Find out how much you should be paying before you venture out.)

The only down side was some recurring issues with electrical power. Arca de Noe is solar-powered, and guests are asked to conserve power.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks on Room B3, where you have your own private patio with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstutti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We ate here twice during our stay on the lake, because the chef was excellent! Here you must book in advance for the fixed price meal which varies daily. We ate tender chicken with a lovely wine and onion sauce one night with yummy side dishes and a fantastic orange pie for dessert. Another night we had superb chiles rellenos followed by a lime pie. You won't be sorry if you eat here. The Solis family are all top notch!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Property: Hotel el Arca de Noe
Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing