We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Lake Shore Retreat is yours to enjoy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake Shore Retreat is yours to enjoy
Covered patio is perfect for dining and relaxing Full modern kitchen with all you need to prepare meals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Lake Shore Retreat is yours to enjoy
Covered patio is perfect for dining and relaxing
Full modern kitchen with all you need to prepare meals
Our guest love the kitchen and it is great for entertaining
Master bedroom
Mountain views behind the house
Second bedroom is small but light and airy. Option for twin or queen sized bed.
View from patio with Lake Atitlan and volcanos
Cabana is perfect for reading and napping.  You will love it here.
Cabana is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the lake views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yogiglo
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I spent 4 days at this vacation home and wish we stayed longer. The view is lovely, the house fully stocked and the bed comfortable. The town of Santa Cruz is quiet and relaxing with no roads and surprisingly good restaurants But what makes this place special is Elaine and Lee and their wonderful staff! Lee makes all the arrangements for tours, so planning your day is easy and Elaine is friendly and a pleasure to talk to. Even the pets are great (Silver, the cat - and both dogs, Carnilla and Mr. Zip) We had so much fun and are already talking about a return trip! I would highly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the owners
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam W
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake side retreat but Lee's attention to detail makes it more special”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a Wonderful Christmas week in Lake Atitlan. The views are wonderful but we were most appreciative of Lee's attention to detail and our needs. Whether it was a day excursion, activity day for children, or taking the bride and her girlfriends to the market to buy fresh flowers. It was all arranged without hesitation. I would recommend this vacation rental for an authentic experience of Lake Atitlan. Thank you Lee for wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie Z
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the lake side view”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We used the arrival service that Lee offered because we had no idea where anything was located. Lee was very helpful meeting us in Panajachel to help us go to the grocery store and then get on a boat taxi that took us to the property. Lee explained everything about the house and much about how things operated around the lake villages. We had access to the kayaks and enjoyed using them in the morning. We walked to Santa Cruz market and took a Tuk Tuk to the the village. I was very impressed that the internet and electricity stayed on during a very heavy thunder storm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful view of the lake
Liked least: Noisy dogs and other nearby guests
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartianMa...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect family vacation home base”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our experience with Lee and Elaine from the first inquiry we sent through the morning we left. They coordinated our arrival from Guatemala City (a BIG help after a red eye with a 3 year old) and even told us where to shop for food before getting on the boat out of Panajachel. During our stay, Lee suggested activities for us to do, and even invited us to a couple of social events around the lake. The stay came with free access to their kayaks and a make-shift stand up paddle board, which was great, too.
The casita itself is pretty basic but nice enough, with two rooms, a bathroom, and an outdoor kitchen and dining area. We spent most of our time at the house enjoying the great patio and sunning in their lounge chairs. When we didn't cook for ourselves, there were two great restaurants nearby (a 1 minute and 5 minute walk away). They also have super hot water and solar power (as well as being on the grid). Oh, and the massages we got from Elaine were AWESOME!
It turns out that Lee and Elaine have the only beach on the island! It ain't much as far as beaches go, but it's a good place to swim from. And did I say island?! It's a lake, but the vibe of the place, and Atitlán as a whole, is definitely island-style. We stayed for six days and the time flew by. Their adventure tours seemed great, too (besides kayaking, they coordinate hikes and rock-climbing excursions), but we didn't avail ourselves of any of that. It's nice, too, because they hire trained and courteous local guides and help run a cooperative foundation with the indigenous population.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ldbenhoff
Rogue River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great outdoor ambience and indoor comfort”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the casita nearest the lake and were pleased with the privacy we had and the beauty of the grounds. We had access to the many kayaks and took the opportunity to go out before dawn to experience sunrise at the lake. Lee and Elaine were very responsive to our needs and a pleasure to talk to. Walking to the next villages was fun, as was simply jumping into the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the lake and the kayaks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montzerra
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the lake”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This two room casita on Lake Atitlan offers the best of everything you could want from the area. There are a few hotels in walking distance you can go to enjoy a cooked meal, drinks, yoga, or entertainment. The owners of the house- Elaine and Lee - are delightful. Elaine has the connections to any spa amenities you may need, and Lee is a genuine connoisseur of the region and has resources for all of the sporting and touring activities. This rental comes with unlimited access to kayaks, a fire pit for windless clear nights, a bbq grill, a hammock deck, a yoga deck, and a beautifully manicured lawn. Oh, did I mention there is a hottub behind the house that is perfect for two?
The casita is simple but fully equipped with appliances, cooking materials, towels, etc.
Enjoy your meals al fresco on the covered terrace overlooking the lake and volcano. The property has its own doc where water taxis will pick you up and drop you off, which makes it very easy to head into Panajachel for groceries and stock up for a long stay.
The main house just a few steps away has an adjacent master bedroom kitchenette rental as well.
My month long stay at this casita was beautiful, peaceful, and fun.

I will post some pictures soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Occasional baby scorpions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B
Grand ra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I traveled here with a young Guatemalan man who lives with my family in the states for a reunion with his family. In total there was 4 adults, 2 teenagers, 2 children, and 1 infant. The space was perfect with enough room to move around, activities to do and owners on hand to help when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing