We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and surrounded by lovely, respectful and knowledgeable people”
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel IslaVerde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed seven nights @ Isla Verde. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable of the area, kind and respectful. The cabin was lovely and clean with a extraordinary view of the lake. The meals were prepared skillfully, artfully and lovingly using fresh and local ingredients. I cannot say enough good about my stay and the people of Isla Verde who contributed to such a fulfilling experience. During my stay, the staff arranged at my invitation for private daily yoga sessions that were designed to meet my needs by two women who are highly skilled and experienced. I highly recommend Isla Verde. The morning bird song is healing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hotel IslaVerde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place was the most amazing place! It is set up with so much wonderful attention to detail. The rooms were comfortable, with the most spectacular views. Even the bathrooms were great - bringing functionality with the feeling of being outdoors together. There are great nooks set up throughout the property - different hammocks, etc. It is SO relaxing.
The food was delicious. The staff was so amazing and helpful - one happened to be traveling on the same boat and bus back to antigua, and helped me find where I needed to go and translate for me, long after we left the hotel. Talk about above and beyond!! And the Yoga class was one of the best I've had - and that's before the amazing view. Also, best views of the lake (and I traveled around the lake to several towns). This place made my whole trip! The only caveat is that there is nothing to really do in Santa Cruz besides hike to neighboring villages (which is the beauty of it), so come here for relaxation - not a party. Also, this place would cost probably 5x in Europe or America - its so luxurious and simple all at the same time. Also be mindful that it is a 10 minute hike/walk from the main Santa Cruz dock, and some of it is along narrow docks (over the water) - so limit your luggage or beg to be brought to the private dock.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a few days and it was absolutely beautiful. The view from our cabin was spectacular. Waking to the birds and a beautiful sunrise over the lake. There are so many little relaxation spots to curl up and read a book, it was so calming. The meals were so fresh and delicious. The staff was so accommodating and friendly they really made you feel at home.
You did get your exercise climbing the stone steps back to your cabin after a delicious meal. If you want a nice peaceful place to get away and relax this is the perfect spot. Our cabin was clean and rustic, we had a private bathroom and it was open to the outside with hot water when the sun was shining (solar heat) lots of water pressure. They do have wifi in the restaurant and lobby but not in the rooms, which was fine by me. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the cabin number the more stairs to climb
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My two-night stay was delightful. The Eco-Hotel concept is near to my heart and IslaVerde delivers. The restaurant-bar-lounge-library-shop-office area was the hub. The lake was the focal point from everywhere. It is unlikely that the yoga class I had on my last morning will ever be topped. The instruction with Julie in the serene studio with Lago Atitlan beyond is 8 days old and the memory still vivid.

Room Tip: Be prepared to do steps, lower room numbers require fewer steps. Cabin 5 is 165 steps.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Isla Verde deserves a five for the right person which includes me. If you like Eco, the outdoors, wooden cabins with spectacular views, good beds, creative spaces, nice landscaping, home made, good slow food, alternative, two resident dogs and cats then this place is for you. If you want to be guaranteed a hot shower (heated by solar), don't like the outdoors, prefer a concrete cabin, don't like climbing stairs, don't like animals and looking for a North American chain hotel then this place is not for you. There is someone at the front desk at all times that speaks english and is very friendly as is all the kitchen and room staff. Rooms are made up daily. The rooms and bathrooms along with the rest of the resort is very clean.

My cabin was across from the bathrooms so I liked the location. Don't get the cabin right beside the bathroom as I suspect it would be noisy but maybe convenience means more to you. The other cabins are further up from the bathrooms. If they don't have bathrooms it would be a walk down stairs to the bathroom at night with a lit pathway. I would ask when reserving your cabin about access to a bathroom.

The food is all home made, healthy, delicious and reasonably priced. There are other places within walking distance to eat but we liked the food so much at Isla Verde we didn't eat anywhere else.

You have access to swimming, hikes and kayaks for rent right out your door. Santa Cruz and Jaibalito are two small towns you can walk to. Someone mentioned that they were expecting access to swimming via a beach but there is no beach at Isla Verde or anywhere along Lake Atitlan between Jaibalito and Santa Cruz. The swimming is from the dock.

Regarding scorpions, I spent four nights here and did not see one. I only saw three spiders the size of a Canadian quarter including legs. Yes it is an outdoor resort so there are flies and ants but no mosquitoes and biting insects.

Isla Verde does not accept credit cards so bring cash or traveller cheques. The other alternative is paying by PayPal who charge a fee of 10% of your payment, ouch. There is an ATM in Panajachel.

As for getting there, you want to find the public boat dock further east from the private boat docks. Public boats leave regularly every 30 minutes for 10 Quetzales and private boats will ask up to 150 Q or wait for hours until the boat is full and finally charge 25Q with hard bartering. One girl waited over 2 hours for her private boat to fill up and leave. I recommend a public boat.

Isla Verde in person is a lot more casual (no table cloths) than what you see on their website but mostly what you read and see on their website is what you get except for the beach access to the water that someone said they read and were expecting. The water has risen over the years so water access is via the docks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very special place that I will always have fond memories of. The staff, especially Valerie the manager, are lovely, the food is fantastic, the grounds are beautiful, so many places to relax and view the lake, the cottages cute, cozy and with a bathroom to die for (open air and overlooking the water), and the views are simply breathtaking. This place is not for those with mobility issues as there are lots of stairs, but otherwise, this place is absolutely worth every quetzal!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hill are a real hike and not for those with mobility issues or who like...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A gorgeous spot on the north shore of Lake Atilan, Isla Verde is committed to leaving as small a footprint on the earth as possible; everything imaginable is recycled and much of each building is "re-purposed" from an earlier use. Much of the food served from their excellent kitchen is grown on the premises or near-by. The staff is welcoming and helpful. Julie & Valerie (the managers) are very flexible and helpful. The cabins are spread up the (steep) hillside behind the main building and the climb up the stairs was challenging for those of us in our seventies--but such cute, simple cabins were charming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieK937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Address: Zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing