We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Hotel El Gran Sueno
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Gran Sueno
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Good price, clean, great location - close to everything. Buy a loaf of banana bread from the ladies in the a.m.Lots of good eating right outside door of hotel. Internet cafe just down street. Very short walk to pana dock and tuk tuk taxis.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views. Having curtains on bathroom was not a big deal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBSeattle911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Outside of it's absolutely OUTSTANDING views, the hostel was pretty average. The beds are a little worn, as are the sheets, the place is clean but not sparklingly so, and it's got a nice open-air feel to it, but I definitely didn't see the value. It was around $12 night per person per room when I was there, and there were a lot cheaper places I saw which were a lot nicer too.

Overall decent, but really nothing at all special.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better-- for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The rooms are small, the view is good, owners are helpful. That there is only a curtain to the bathroom might not be exactly the standard. Otherwise, nothing to complain about except for the price: there are better options for that price around. We paid - after a bit of negotiating - 140 Q for the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greininghaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The room was clean and nice enough for the price. The view is nice and there is a roof terrace with couple of hammocks and tables. Only complaint we had was that there is only a curtain separating the bathroom from the room which really doesn't give you any privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed 1 night here in Nov. Arrive by the Lancha from Pana, and since it is a fairly steep, hilly place, decided to take a Tuk-tuk. Took us the long way around to this hotel, and charged us Q15. Don't bother as this place is a short walking distance from the Pana ferry dock. We got taken:).
Anyhow, the Gran Sueno is a nice simple hotel. Rooms are bring, clean, en-suite with electric hot water for showers and cheap (Q130 for 2); without breakfast (breakfast is easily available steps away fro the hotel on the way to the Pana ferry dock for $3). Also has a nice juice stand close by, were you get fresh fruit juices for Q5. We were in room 6, and did not have a great view of the lake (rooms with view were taken) but the rooftop deck was very nice (with hammocks, and a great view of the lake. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get room 9 or 11; best rooms with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent a night in San Pedro, and walked into Hotel Gran Sueno for a room. We were wuickly greeted and given a lovely room that far exceeded our $17/night expectations! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Pros:
1) Perfect location, just up from the docks
2) Friendly, welcoming family
3) Colorfully & cheerfully decorated rooms. It's obvious this place is a labor of love (hand painted walls, cute decor)
4) Free filtered water for your bottle
5) Insanely cheap ($17/night USD for an ensuite double with lake views!)
6) Super clean and neat
7) Lovely lake views
8) Free wi-fi that works

Cons:
1) No free breakfast. But, don't care- you can get a typical Guatemalan breakfast at a lakeside cafe for $3!

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The hotel run by a nice family. We paid 140Q and we got the first room with a privet toilet and shower. The room was very clean, something that is hard to say about MOST of the hotels/ hostels in San Pedro. The location is great as its on the main street and close to both docks. The room was fairly big for two people with T.V, WiFi and lundry service. We arrived by mistake for one night and spent the whole 4 nights in this hotel. Not fency but you get your money's worth.

Room Tip: Try to get the upper floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro La Laguna hotels
0.0 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#4 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr. Mullets Hostel
Mr. Mullets Hostel
#2 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Fe
Hostel Fe
#1 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pinocchio
Hotel Pinocchio
#15 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Playa Linda
Hotel y Restaurante Playa Linda
#10 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Gran Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Gran Sueno

Address: Calle 4-40 8, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hotel El Gran Sueno San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing