We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing, calming, quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sakcari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sakcari
Certificate of Excellence
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing, calming, quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

it is perfect for seniors, and for the ones looking for a quiet atmosphere. We stayed at different budget hotels and hostels and this time with our elders, we prefered sakcari. it is a nice escape from san pedro's mess, the staff is polite, rooms are cleaned every day, the view from the rooms is breat-taking. it does not have a restaurant but around are plenty of them, there is wi-fi and hot water during day hours.

Room Tip: room no 4 is corner with windows on 2 sides, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugu_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    43
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
83
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We enjoyed 5 nights at Hotel Sak'Cari over Christmas Break. Our room was very clean, and had hot water provided by state of the art solar collectors. Our room looked out on a beautiful lawn complete with wonderful hammocks. The hotel staff was great, in fact our housekeeper greeted me in the streets with a sweet, "Hola, Carlos!" when we were out walking. The English speaking manager was always easy to talk to and very pleasant. All rooms were great, but my preference would be rooms 6 - 11 which have straight access to the lawn. We totally relaxed and felt this was THE place for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel in August 2011 as part of a tour of Guatemala.

I was in room 4 and it was right on the shore of Lake Atitlan, so you get amazing views at both sunset and sunrise. Watch out for the smoothness of the lake at the start and beginning of the day, looks like a mirror.

The room was basic but the bed, linen and rooms were clean. There was even a small TV in the room - which was not needed.

The Hotel has a wonderful dual tier garden area with loads of hammocks and chill out areas.

The Hotel is near one of the two san pedro quays and is walkable so no need for a tuk tuk.

There are bars, internet cafe, massage places right next to the Hotel, all very good and friendly staff.

It is a short walk to the other quay where there are lots of bars and other views over the lake, In addition, 10 minutes away, up hill is the Mayan part of San Pedro with its markets and banks with ATMs.

The reason why I rated this hotel as 5 star is because the staff ( in particular the American fella - who was a life saver) helped me out when my lower back ruptured a muscle putting me in agony beyond belief.

Bending over to pick up caused a muscle spasm in my back and I was in excrutiating pain. The staff fetched a doctor, who has to inject pain killers directly into the veins - yes scary but worked) and were as helpful as they anyone could be. They arranged a session with an Mayan Physio who was amazing. Use him, he is next door but one. He managed to get me walking with a few osteopathy exercises and low key massage. Miracle!

Further note. To get to San Pedro, I travelled across the lake from Panachel. If you are taking this route, then make sure you have plenty of time and take the Water Taxi to get to San Pedro. It is MUCH cheaper than taking a personalised water taxi which will cost about 5 times as much,

Anyhow, due to the location, the staff, I recommend this hotel. I will be going back!

Room Tip: room 4 overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Sakcari on a recent visit to San Pedro. The hotel had been recommended by a local friend, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very reasonably priced, clean and pleasant. High points were the beautifully planted grounds with lovely flowers and plants and multi-leveled terraced gardens all the way down to the lakeshore; you could pick your "place" either laying in a hammock on the upper level, or kicking back in a chair lakeside under a shaded trellis with climbing vines. Did I say that every room has a full view of Lake Attilan? All the rooms face the beautiful lake and surrounding mountains and volcanoes. There's also roof access for even further views; while we were there, the very kind owner joined us one evening on the roof, started a small campfire in a "rooftop" fire pit and encouraged us to take it all in as we drank beer and watched the approaching lightening storm (which miraculously never brought rain our way!) Matthew at the front desk, including the owner couple, were very pleasant and clearly took a lot of pride in their lovely property. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Pedro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level for unobstructed views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I've had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Sakcari several times over the years, including long-term visits. I must say that the hotel is excellent on every level. The tropical grounds are gorgeous and the view of the lake is stunning. On windy days, you'd swear you were beside the ocean.

My room was affordable (roughly $20) and well-appointed. Lots of hot water -- and pressure. Most hotels in San Pedro have the "suicide showers" that, if you're lucky, only provide a trickle of lukewarm water.

The staff is very friendly -- especially Matt who works at the office in the morning. He speaks English and Spanish and can set up taxis, shuttles and trips. His recommendations are spot on.

The hotel's central location means that you can stay out late and walk home safely. There are a lot of great bars and restaurants nearby.

The hotel is very quiet and very secure. And the beds are nice and firm, assuring a decent sleep after a day of volcano climbing!

There are lots of hotels in San Pedro that are cheaper, but for $20 (or less) you get all the comforts of home and then some.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are close to the lake and away from everyone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

It was great staying there and the room (privet with view to lake) are amazing, yet we found the owner (the English speaking guy, not the Guatemalan ) to be VERY rude. He was condescending, rude and not nice in general. He gave us the feeling he was doing us a favor each time we asked for small things such as :Plz open the hot water, and please tell us what time is the check out.! Trust me- We are not the spoiled couple who cry for not being pampered 24/7- when I say there is a problem with the guy's attitude- I know what I'm talking about. And it is something, that in spite the place being so beautiful- I would not come back to again. There are other options around.

Room Tip: Lake room. Other rooms are not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was a VERY basic place to stay, cheap, clean enough, but not super clean. Good location though, great views, and it is in a quite area of town, the main street got really rowdy at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaFella82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakcari

Property: Hotel Sakcari
Address: 7a Av 2-12, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sak'cari El Amanecer is an Eco-hotel located on the beautiful shores of Lake Atitlan. It has 20 lovely rooms overlooking the lake, the names sak'cari and amanecer mean sunrise in Tz'tujil and Spanish. The hotel is located in the heart of San Pedro La Laguna within walking distance to fine restaurants, bars and spanish schools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sakcari San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing