We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Hotel Sakcari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sakcari
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Clean, good price, beautiful view and gardens. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.
The location was very good. The Mayan people are very friendly and I made new friends. I would sit on the balcony or on my bed and stare at the lake and mountains- gorgeous.

Room Tip: With a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    43
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
84
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Hotel Sakcari is more expensive than some other options in San Pedro, but at less than $40 for two for a lakefront room, it's a wonderful deal.
The grounds are quiet with lovely gardens, the rooms comfortable and the design makes the most of the lakefront setting. Rooms have big windows and outdoor seating areas, and there are lawns and gardens with chairs and hammocks. The place is incredibly tranquil yet you're in the heart of the San Pedro's traveller's district, with restaurants and bars nearby.
A big plus for us was the kayaks available at no charge (simple sit-on models, mostly). We went out every morning and the lake was beautiful, with local people doing their washing and fishing from the shore.
Pay coffee and beer available, but no breakfast. Wifi worked on the terrace, but signal for our room. Friendly staff.
It's a great option, and San Pedro is a fine place to spend time. (Better than Pana.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the lake. We liked the three rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The place was simple, safe and clean, that's all I ask when traveling... The view was to die for! The place is super safe, I went out on the terrace late at night to see the moon over the late and a las, there was a guard checking to see that all was well. A really nice plus when you are a women traveling alone. Next door, you'll find the Italian's... best coffee and breakfast.
Live Music weekend night's at the BUDA and the Clover. I recommend the Gallo and the Mosa Beer's really great. Enjoy!
Carmen H.

Room Tip: Anything that looks over the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect but quickly realized the quaint and simple accommodations are there to provide and not distract from the amazing view of the lake, flora, fauna, and Mayans. I simply loved it and wished I had stayed longer!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Above our budget at 305 quetzals (nearly $40) but well worth it. The room and bathroom was stylish and spotlessly clean. Matt, the manager, was incredibly helpful & gave us lots of advice about what to do. The place overlooks the lake and the view is incredible. You can use the kayaks at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a double window with the view of the lake - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzaDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Charming landscaping. English spoken. Quiet. Spotty wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElNinoDorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have twice brought groups of university students to San Pedro and have stayed at this hotel both times. It is ideal, whether with a large group or on your own. It is inexpensive (generally less than US $20 per person), clean, and nice. It is in a quiet yet convenient location with wonderful views of Lake Atitlan from most rooms. The hotel is secure and the staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out over the lake but be sure to request such a room, just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omanskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakcari

Property: Hotel Sakcari
Address: 7a Av 2-12, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sak'cari El Amanecer is an Eco-hotel located on the beautiful shores of Lake Atitlan. It has 20 lovely rooms overlooking the lake, the names sak'cari and amanecer mean sunrise in Tz'tujil and Spanish. The hotel is located in the heart of San Pedro La Laguna within walking distance to fine restaurants, bars and spanish schools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sakcari San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing