We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zoola
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The first and most important thing is the atmosphere Zoola. Good to be here, and people say that the dreams come true near this lake. Excellent location, good people, and amazing pool bar. The food is great. I want back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GediminasMartynas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    24
    9
    16
See reviews for
5
33
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Zoola for 4 nights before checking out and continuing our stay in San Pedro at a different hostel.
If you want to party (which we sometimes do), Zoola is the place to be. Great drinking and party atmosphere. However, if you want an early night or have Spanish class in the morning then avoid staying there because the music plays most of the night and we had drunk people trying to get into our room on a few occasions. As well as various people singing and shouting all through the night.

When we were partying, we really enjoyed our stay at zoola, but it's not a place for sleeping.

Zoola does have a beautiful pool and an amazing restaurant. But you can visit both without staying.

All in all Zoola is an awesome place with great parties. But not a great place to get any sleep or relax.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The common areas are awesome and comfy, the pool is lush and the platform over the lake gives the most incredible view of the lake. Rooms are fine, bathrooms were not so great but everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels in beautiful Lake Atitlan. You really can't beat the price at $9USD per night per person quad share. Be aware though that this hostel is really popular among tourists so you might always get a room!

From what I remember they do not take reservations and you needed to either ring up the morning to try and reserve a room or walk in and hope for the best. They had a beautiful pool and bar by the water with the most amazing views of the lake. They also had a nice chill areas. Great for kicking back and enjoying scenery. I found the food reasonably priced and tasted good!

Would recommend to those looking for a fun and good value hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

i agree with the other reviews really. gap year students, a "posing pool", and Miley Cyrus and Coldplay over and over and over on a constant loop. most dangerous happy hour in central america="free shots", barely even half a shot measure, watered down drinks. ..there are sometimes pretty good DJs, and the food was nice the time I ate there, the relaxing area is really nice,but the vibe is all wrong. Seriously, Miley Cyrus and Coldplay. ALL THE TIME!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemcgrath1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro La Laguna hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lets be clear, this is a review based on the accommodation, which I rate as average for the price we paid for a double room. Room was clean, but pokey. No real complaints about it, just average and for the price in San Pedro, there is better value elsewhere and plenty of it. The wi-fi was great. The location is also good. The actual place is more than a hostel, and has a great spot to chill out in the evening as well as plenty of hammocks knocking about. There is a great little bar area with a small 'posing pool' located over looking the lake. I didn't try the food but was told it was excellent by many other guests.

The vibe, wasn't as chilled and friendly as other reviews will have you believe. Being in our late 20's, we're not quite gap year students, but the rest of the guests were...it's hard to finish this review without slagging off gap year students and the attitude that some of them have to their travels...so I won't finish, just leave it at that. It's just, that's the type of guest you get there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilfy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Love the atmosphere, six of us ate there and all thought the food was excellent. I recommend you eat under the tent, not at the tables. Table service was slow so don't go in a rush, but its a great place to hang out anyways. We didn't stay in the hostel so I am only rating the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank driftersinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
5.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.0 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.0 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoola

Property: Zoola
Address: Xetawal, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Zoola San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing