We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tepepul Kaan
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hostal Via del Lago(San Pedro La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hospedaje San Francisco(San Pedro La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Lush Atitlan(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Dragon Hotel & Restaurant(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Schumann(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu(Santiago Atitlan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pescador Hotel PH(Santiago Atitlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
24
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish schoolgreat hotelsan pedrothe main streetother placeslake viewin townelsarooftopkitchenhammockspartyhostelwifigarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I am so glad we found this place in San Pedro; so many of the other hotels looked either really run down or very noisy party hostels. This place is just up the street from the main bars etc, so it is much quieter. It is also really good value with basic but clean private rooms with private bathrooms. The gardens are pretty and the roof terrace has nice views.
We were on a 2 month trip of Central America and didn't want to spend a huge amount of money, so this was a great option for us as a couple, especially as we didn't really fancy getting involved with the party scene in San Pedro.
It was a great base for exploring the Lake Atitlan area, as San Pedro is a lot less expensive than other smaller towns such as San Marcos, plus there are loads of activities, places to eat and easy transport options here.
The hotel is run by a very friendly couple, who donate a portion of the hotel earnings to a local school. Elsa the owner is really lovely, and made us really yummy breakfast pancakes a few mornings.
We also met some really nice other guests in this hotel, as I think it attracts a more grown up independent traveller type.
A great find in San Pedro.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have hammocks outside so ask for one of those. Also the rooms at the front have better views of the lake. There is one room on the second floor that has a little extra terrace with table out the front.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrichi, Manager at Hotel Tepepul Kaan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for visiting Hotel Tepepul Kaan enjoy life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This place was an absolute hidden gem of a hotel. Everywhere else in town was booked so we walked around town until we stumbled upon Tepeppul Kaan. Right off the bat the owners treated us with so much respect, and you could tell how great of people they are.

They brought us to our room which was a double with a bathroom. Everything about the room was so incredibly clean. I have never seen anything like it ever before, I literally would have eaten off the floors.

The only reason they are not popular right now is because they are so hidden. I really hope more people find out how great value this hotel is.

They also offer breakfast for 20 or 30 Q, and it was the biggest and best pancakes I have ever tasted with a heaping pile of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 75Drew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrichi, Manager at Hotel Tepepul Kaan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for visiting Kaan Hotel Tepepul enjoy life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We were staying at another hostel first and did not like it at all, too many drunken people, loud, party etc. but then we found Hotel Tepepul Kaan and stayed there for our last night and we regretted that we booked our bus already to Antigua. We would have stayed longer at this lovely little hotel. Our room and bathroom were very clean and cozy. There is also a roof top terrace where you have a great view over the lake. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and hearty. The woman called a friend of us with her cell phone and did not want any many for that. Further they support children with the money they make from the hotel. I can't exactly remember but I think it was around 25% that goes to charity!
We loved the hotel and if you are looking for a quiet, safe and clean room you should stay at Tepepul Kaan it's great value for your money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrichi, Manager at Hotel Tepepul Kaan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for visiting Kaan Hotel Tepepul enjoy life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews