We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hospedaje Casa Elena
Nearby Hotels
Lush Atitlan(San Marcos La Laguna)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu(Santiago Atitlan)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel IslaVerde(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
6
19
14
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
19
14
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomlake viewhammocksguatemalahostelchillparty
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our cheapest room in the country-60 Q for private room/bath! The view was nice, the wifi worked in our room (we actually streamed movies), and the terrace was somewhat private and perfect. We didn't end up cooking, but the shared kitchen had enough supplies to entice us to talk about doing so...

I agree that it was not a place to meet people, rather to relax with a book, or simply to store your stuff during the day while you explore the lake and surrounding volcanoes.

The only negative experience was on a Saturday night during our stay, some people were in the common area talking quite loudly until dawn (but that's why budget travelers should carry earplugs). This wasn't enough to garner a downgrade in the score, considering we rarely found completely quiet places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onabudgettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Things are basic here, but are really cheap! I paid 30Q per night for a private room. This was highly welcome after a few days of trekking and I chilled out with a book on the terrace for a few afternoons. Not a particularly sociable place, but if you want a bit of time off of the partying, or are in San Ped for Spanish classes, this could be a good bet!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed there on December 23rd along with my 8 years old daughter, we paid Q60 per room with private bath, wireless internet, no tv, but for the price, what can you expect? they have a nice view of the lake, is surrounded by many restaurants, If I ever go back there I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you want a quiet and relaxing night, do NOT stay here. The acoustics of the building are horrible and the place is usually filled with loud partying guests. There was as good as no service except for the owner coming to collect our money. We planned a two-night stay here but left after the first night and got a refund for the second and moved to a better and quiet hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svendebruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife, daughter,and I stayed at Casa Elena. We had the top room with the best views ever!!!! Planed on staying 3 days and ended up staying 11. The rooms are ok for 50Q per person with private bath. Water is solar with a electrical device attached to the shower head!!!! but it gets the job done.No tv! but who needs one.Woke every morning to the sounds of the native women washing there family's clothes in the lake.and the rooster that i could hear off in the distant. There's a grey cat that we bought fish for from the market. The best coffee that I ever had in my life can be bought at a coffee shop just up on the left side from the pana dock,about 75 meters up the hill just as it starts to turn to the right.Go on the horse rides they take you up in the mts. for 30Q per person a hour that's like $3.85 per hr..and eat like a king for less than $15 per person a day.Check out Zoola for good food and that layed back hippy feel.Weed can be bought for around 10Q per gram for any one who sells pipes at there stands just ask for something to put in the pipe.. For steet food buy a tortilla from the lady at the end of the alley path way the best 2Q you will ever spend!!!!!!The tuc-tuc is 5Q per person to go anywhere in San Pedro.Ride a tuc -tuc up to the market and walk down the hill and stop for coffee on your right.cafe kristana's...Stray dogs that bark at night just add's to the memory's of the best 2 wks.vaccation ever! We loved our trip to Guatemala and are counting the days untill our return to San Pedro 355 and counting..................

Room Tip: ask for the top floor rm for the best views ever!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews