We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!! DO THE SUNRISE HIKE!”
Review of Indian Nose

Indian Nose
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.99*
and up
Sunrise Hike to the Indian Nose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING!! DO THE SUNRISE HIKE!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I had hiked the San Pedro volcano three days prior and was still VERY sore...so I was a little apprehensive on going on another trek. But the hike up the Indian's Nose is different. Most of the travel time is via bus to Santa Clarita. The actual hike is only about 45 minutes. I got on a bus at 4am and we started hiking around 5am when it was still dark. We got up to the nose with plenty of time to spare as we waited for the sun to rise. And it was breathtakingly spectacular! Truly a highlight of my trip. You can see all three volcanoes looming over the lake. So peaceful, majestic, and wonderful. Highly recommended!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank womanonamission777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great sunrise”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice sunrise, come very early to enjoy it. You can hike up here from San Juan. You will have to pay a park fee of 15 Quetzales.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view in all of Lago Atitlan”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

do the sunrise hike and get the best view of the lake and volcanoes. best bet to see is early morning and the changing light is really magical. there are two viewing stations, one on the boca (mouth) that is lower...this has better views b/c you can see all three volcanoes. and a second on the naris (nose) that is higher but at a different angle...I liked the view from the boca better. if you look at Santa Clara (opposite direction as the lake), you can see the colorful graveyard in the town. apparently, that town is unique in that they mark the graves with a different color depending on how old the deceased was...really interesting. our guide also told us 2 mayan stories that were really interesting but you'd have to speak spanish to really get them. Fantastic! Best pictures of the trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view of the sun rise”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Indian nose had such a great view of the town and lake and you could see the clear view of the sunrise.It was a kind of blurred when we climbed because it was cloudy but it is advisable to go when the weather is clear and no rains

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indian Nose - Be careful of "Guides"”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hiked the nose of the Indian today without a guide from san juan and thought I'd share as it may help others.



Paid 15Q each way from San pedro to San Juan in tuk tuk for 2 of us. Entrance to trail is opposite the fuel station and if you walk up the track no more than 100m you will see a wooden booth and some information plaqards in Spanish about the trail. There was a local sitting in the booth and charged us 30Q to go hike the trail.



The trail was well maintained and had spectacular views all along the way, there were a few tracks here and there leading off the main track but it was obvious which way to go based on how well maintained and used the track was.



We got to the top and enjoyed really good views from a makeshift viewing platform for about 15 minutes before we had to deal with "the Santa Clara guides"



They (2 plainly dressed guatemalans) initially explained that we also need to pay at the top. (50Q) We explained we had already payed and were leaving the way we came, from San Juan. Their argument was that they were Santa Clara guides who maintain the track and are "liable" for our safety. We were pretty sure this was BS from we had read, you are required to pay at one of the two entrances from one of the two towns depending on which side you hike from, I can see that if you hiked up one way and down another you would rightly be required to pay twice.



That logic was lost on them, we were luckily able to have the conversation accurately because there was a fluent English speaking Spanish woman on holiday who had come up in a group from Santa Clara. She also confirmed that these two were in fact guides in the sense they accompanied her group which had their own guides already up from Santa Clara asking for more than the quoted price however. At no point did the situation look like it was going to get ugly but one of the two guides did firmly plant himself at the top of the track so that we couldn't leave. The other guide said he was going to call the tourist police to sort things out because we explained that we simply had no money besides the 15Q for our tuk tuk back to San pedro. He didn't call the police but he did call his boss over from another platform 5 minutes away. Another plainly dressed local who reiterated the same thing, "you have to pay pay 30Q otherwise we call the tourist police" to which we reiterated "we only have 15Q" and yes the price had changed with this second guy and yes we did have a bit more that 15Q as we were going to have lunch in San Juan.



The final scare tactic was that the tourist police( he did pretend to call and claim that it would at least an hour getting there) would take something like a camera ( which we didn't bring for obvious reasons) hold it in Santa Clara until we brought the money required. We said we were fine with that as we weren't presented with another option but were pretty sure this was a scam and he was bluffing. About 2 minutes after we didn't budge on the amount of money we said we had and had happily agreed to bring the tourist police on the scam fell apart and they said they'd "let us off" with just 15Q charge, a lot less than the initial 100Q they had tried to scam for a 3 way split and 30 minutes of work.



From my limited experience today....

What I'd like to get across is that it is a lovely walk along a well maintained path. Approx 2 hrs up.

The Santa Clara guides seem to have a scam going at the top (another backpacker at our hostel had the same issue).

They don't want to get the tourist police involved

They don't have a set amount they seem to agree on to ask for.

They don't make threats of violence as there are other tourists around they accompanied to the top.

They are working on the basis that you don't want to be held up and that you will part way with 30 or even 50Q to avoid the hassle.

If you say you have a certain amount of money stick to it, most people must cave in otherwise the scam wouldn't be practised.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cutthroughtheBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Nose also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Lake Atitlan, Solola Department
 

Been to Indian Nose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing