We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had potential a one time, but just okay now” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikaso Hotel Resto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mikaso Hotel Resto
world traveler
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“had potential a one time, but just okay now”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a bit difficult to find, as there really isn't any street names posted around the town. It looks like it was a nice place back in the day but it has really let things slide. There is a restaurant, kitchen that you could use & hot tub but we didn't try any of them. It does have a nice view of the lake & it is usually quiet, but I guess that can change depending on who your neighbors are. The bathroom & the facilities in it don't fit each other, the room should be bigger or the facilities smaller. For the price, it's not a great value, expected more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    96
    39
    21
    21
See reviews for
22
111
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We find the place by mistake. The place was very nice. Sit on the lake. The restaurant had good view and good food.
The staff was friendly and help.
The view from all spots was amazing.
The room wasn't the cleanest room. And the towel were old.
After one week there I am absolutely recommend to take it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The view from the rooftop is spectacular as it does a full 360. The clientele are your typical tourists, which is a bit blah for my tastes, but good for most. I ordered a Greek salad that was a big portion size and very fresh! I don't recommend the pita and tzatzki. Pita not fresh, but tzaziki was great! I didn't have time for a pizza, but they appear to be quite delicious!
Definitely worth a visit if in San Pedro!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed my stay. It's a very nice hotel with private rooms but also has two dorm rooms for a more budget stay (so it is kind of a mixture between a hotel and a hostel). The views over the lake from the hostel are really fantastic. They also have two hot tubs on the terrace, which are amazing and look directly out onto the lake - order a pina colada from the bar and watch the sunset over the lake while sitting in the hot tub, it was just such so relaxing.

It was also very good value. I paid Q218 for one night in the dorm and two nights in a twin room.

My two small negatives would be that there are many steps so you should be aware of that if you are an older traveller and also the bar stops serving at 9pm which is way too early.

This is a great hotel/hostel if you want a quiet and relaxed stay in San Pedro and enjoy some fantastic views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Mikaso. Hopefully, we will see you again in our little paradise! As of the bar, we close it at 9pm to avoid noises in the hotel at night, but luckily there are a lot of places to go out and have fun in San Pedro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I arrived for a scheduled 9 day stay but had to cut it short by half.
The room I had (#2) is overlooking the lobby and reception desk and is noisy.
The toilet leaks and is distracting so keep the bathroom door closed.
No TV in room and spotty internet.
Smokers puffing everywhere.
Now for the positives.
Great location on the shore of Lake Atitlan.
Really good breakfast choices for under $5
Great pool table in game room.
Locals doing Laundry & BATHING in lake next to hotel
Rooms are clean and comfy.
Prices are very fair. I booked direct and it was about $2o a day plus.....food, beverage
Two hot tubs overlooking lake
Top floor dining, bar, and patio overlooking the lake
Well appointed kitchen w / mw for those who don't wish to dine out or at the top floor restaurant
Handy location
Probably some of the best staff I've ever encountered
Jo was amazing and so exotic looking. I'm in love ! LOL
Magdalena, another real cutie, handled my reservations and was very accommodating
All the staff from housekeeping to restaurant and bar are the nicest people
Definitely a favorite.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby. It gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was an honest pleasure to have you in Mikaso, and everybody here will keep a good memory of you even if you had to shorten your stay. Thanks for the review, and we are working on a way to keep the Hotel quieter, even when there are a lot of people. Hope we will see you again in our little paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The location of Mikaso is amazing with an upstairs communal area overlooking the lake also! Close to everything but far enough away for quiet sleeping! Good food at restaurant and the most efficient, friendly and helpful staff who will organise anything you dream up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are glad we helped you enjoy your stay in Mikaso and San Pedro la laguna! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in two different double rooms, each with their own bathroom. Both were very clean, spacious, and exactly what we needed. There is a lot of common space with beautiful views of the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in San Pedro.

Room Tip: We opted for a non-lake view and were upgraded to a lake view on our first night. It was nice, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are glad we helped you enjoy your stay in Mikaso and San Pedro la laguna! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikaso Hotel Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikaso Hotel Resto

Property: Mikaso Hotel Resto
Address: Callejon a I-82 Zona 2 Canton Chuacante 4, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikaso Hotel Resto 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the edge of the lake Atitlan in the middle of a beautiful garden, Mikaso Hotel offers you 15 private rooms plus 2 dormitories. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, jacuzzis, common kitchen, pool table, concierge desk, spa services, meeting room and a restaurant with the nicest roof top terrace in town, giving you an incredible view of lake Atitlan and the Volcanoes. Our staff will be please to help you plan your excursions around San pedro & Lake Atitlan, whether it's hiking the volcanoes, kayaking on the Lake, learning about the mayan culture or just discovering the surroundings. Welcome to Mikaso Hotel y restaurante en San Pedro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mikaso Hotel Resto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikaso Hotel Resto San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing