We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Amazing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I celebrated my anniversary here. The rooms are AMAZING. Both owners went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable and unforgettable as possible, decorating the room with roses on our behalf, setting up a very romantic sitting corner with wine and MORE roses . Our room was as swaid perfect. The breakfast very good, the atmosphere secured and relaxed. The view towards the lake is incredible. Thanks for all you did to make our stay an unforgettable one! I'm looking forward to next time I'll be spending a few days there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Casa Lobo Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

nice view and sweet room, but very far from the center of San Pedro Laguna, at least 20 minutes walk and very complicated to find.
We thought we would be in front of the lake but because of rising water, the owner built a path in front of the room between the bungalow and the lake (where local farmer walk by), Not the most intimate setting. we stayed 2 nights, they did not clean the bedroom, neither made the bed. No shampoo provided, a poor little soap. Can not pay by credit card.
Owner sweet and pleasant, but no coffee nor breakfast included (for the price asked).
Too expensive for what it is , can find a similar room on the lake for half the price when you get there.

Room Tip: 2 bungalows on the water
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scobidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and are very sorry for the annoyances you
mentioned. We try to insure that our guests enjoy their stay.

We are pleased that you liked the Lake view of our place and that you
enjoyed the Bungalow.

Casa Lobo is owned by 2 Germans, and functions like a bed and breakfast. You
can rest and relax, with the possibility of going into town. You can enjoy
the restaurants, coffees, as well as the tourist night life of San Pedro.

In our homepage, and in different reviews, our guests get the information
that Casa Lobo is situated outside of the village. It takes, depending where
and how you get to the village, 15 minutes more or less along the beach or
the road.

A tuc-tuc-taxi, of course, is much faster.

With a confirmation every guest gets a description with a map that shows how
to find us.

Casa Lobo is on the shore of the lake. From the street you have to pass
through a private ground, for which you need a key. That is the reason why
we tell our guests who arrive in San Pedro to please call us before coming
from town, so that we can pick them up on the road the first time.

Unfortunately you did not phone us; it was nearly dark, and so your arriving
was a little bit complicated.

If you can show us, like you mentioned in the review, a similar room for
half the price, (9,25 USD, incl. Tax per person), with the same king size
bed, hot solar shower, kitchen, TV, with flowers in the room on the lake
front, we would welcome you to come and stay stay in one of our bungalows
for free for two days. We will also include free breakfast the next time you
come back to Guatemala to visit wonderful Lake Atitlán.

We, the owners of Casa Lobo, like a lot of other foreigners, live here in
this wonderful country.

Of course we have to accept the customs and rules of the locals, mainly
Mayan inhabitants.

The local people have lived here for thousands of years and have the right
to walk along the lake front. It is the law.

Unfortunately, because of unusually heavy and long rains last year, the lake
rose so much that we had to open a small path on our property near the
beach, so that the locals could walk through.

If our guests feel disturbed by the Mayan farmers, we can offer them another
bungalow with a different view to the lake, if it is available at the time.

Normally we rent the bungalows weekly with a small kitchen for people who
want to be independent at a favorable price. The cleaning is done every
second day, and for longer-staying guests, once a week.

Of course, if you want, it can be done more frequently.

For guests staying only a few days we offer a full breakfast, homemade
bread, jam, cheese, eggs, fruit salad and Guatemalan coffee or tea for 6 US
dollars.

Until now it has not been possible to pay by credit card but we hope to
offer it in the near future!


With our best regards,
Casa Lobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We spent 4 nights at Casa Lobo & absolutely loved it. It's a bit out of town (20-25min walk along the lake or 5-10mins in a tuktuk), but it's so peaceful & beautiful. The bungalows are in gorgeous garden which leads down to the lake. There is a elevated concrete platform with sunloungers over looking the lake which is the perfect spot for sunbathing.

The bed was absolutely enormous & really comfortable. The bungalows have a kitchen so we were able to make our own breakfasts every morning & also had 2 evening meals in sitting on our terrace outside the bungalow.

Wolfgang was lovely & was great at recommending really good restaurants - Verdana Blue in particular!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy_witham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Villa Lobo Bungalows is a very nice place to stay. We had some 4 really great days there. The stone bungalows are clean, big and affordable within a beautiful garden (the lake is just next to it). Wolfgang and Fritz the owners are extremely helpful and nice. You need to try Wolfgang's Breakfast! The walk to San Petro la Laguna takes about 20 minutes and is very easy to do. Tuktuks are also always available for the night times.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zone_Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

After two months travel and in need of taking a step back to plan two months further travel, this was an excellent place to rewind.

Wolfgang and Frederic give you great value: Beautifully decorated and practical bungalows right on the shore:) We especially enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen, the biggest bed we have seen so far in Central-America, the flat screen TV, and the 10 meter walk down to the lake for a morning swim.

Thank you, W&F for a great stay! Wish you all the best:)
-K&Oe

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Casa Lobo provides a luxuriously clean bangalow that you can not surpass for cleanliness and luxury. The breakfast that Wolfgang serves up is absolutely delicious with the homemade yogurt a big favourite. Being out of town, you can relax in peace and quiet. I would recommend to everyone.

Only recommendation, would be if they had a couple of bikes on hand. It would make the trip into town a little quicker / easier.

Thanks for the great stay. Adam & Steph

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam-Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed here for only one night and wished we had time to stay for many more. The bed was the most comfortable lush bed ever and they mad an extra bed for our little girl (5). great value for money. it is a little out of town so make sure you bring breakfast stuff with you so you can enjoy a relaxing morning on the lake. hosts are fantastic. would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmineSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
668 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
256 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#4 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hospedaje Lolita
Hospedaje Lolita
#9 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range: £34 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing