We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, clean and beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite, clean and beautiful Location”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Casa Lobo is ran by to gentlemen Fritz and Wolfgang. They take care of your every need. Fresh flowers and fruit from the garden is provided. We stayed in the one bedroom villa. It is a simple abode (studio type apartment). The view of the lake, surrounding towns and mountains in the back ground is wonderful from the front porch.

San Pedro itself is a safe town and Caso Lobo is even more safe. My wife stayed there for several weeks on her own. She was never concerned about the security.

Lake Atitlán has risen appx 50 feet in the past few years and many lake properties are underwater and Caso Lobo is on of them. The original road and entrance to Caso Lobo is under water. They have lost two villias to the flooding. Because of the flooding it is necessary to enter Casa Lobo from an upper road that adjoins the property. The entrance is now a dirt path with little lighting. The path can be a challenge at night so take you flashlight.

It is a 5 minute tut tut ride (75 cents US) to the old town (Centro) or to the restaurants and bars. San Pedro is a laid back place with beautiful weather everyday we were there. High in the 70s lows in the 50s. You will need a light jacket at night. We usually walked to town from Casa Lobo which took us about 20 minutes. The locals are very friendly. We were in San Pedro in Jan 2013.

Be aware that very few places (if any) places take credit cards. There are only two ATM in town and they are depleted everyday so when you pass one of the ATM get some money. San Pedro is a great place to make day trips by ferry to the other cities on the lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrobertpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    19
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
86
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We ended up booking just a few days prior to arrival due to changing travel plans and after just one day we wished we'd spent most of our vacation here. We stayed in the Studio Apartment, which was beautifully prepared for our arrival with fresh flowers, towels, and was open, bright and airy.

My boyfriend and I were at the end of two weeks in Central America and needed some down time, Casa Lobo was perfect. We arrived in San Pedro from Antigua, were able to call Fritz from the travel agency the shuttle dropped us off at and took a tuk tuk straight there, where he met us at the path that leads to the property. It would be hard to find on your own the first time at night, but had no issues finding it ourselves or with drivers the next few days. All of our tuk tuk drivers knew of Casa Lobo or the nearby landmarks.

We didn't realize this until we got there, but the water has risen so much in the past few years that the bungalows the other reviews mention are partially covered by water now, which is why the entrance to the property is from the road instead of along the beach now. The studio apartment was perfect, however, it afforded us privacy, views and lots of space with new and clean furnishings. Excellent for couples or a pair of friends who don't mind sharing a large bed. Nice hot shower, modern bath, small efficiency kitchen with fridge, burners, and sink.

Fritz was an endlessly gracious host, made terrific breakfasts for us (eggs, bread, fruit, juice and tea/coffee that was generously sized for the price, and at any time we needed in the morning - which he may have regretted the mornings we hiked and had to get up in the dark), and offered to be of help in many ways. Get his recommendations for restaurants in town - La Ventana Blue was our favorite, the lettuce wraps are not to be missed.

Lastly, we were glad for the distance outside of town, it was so quiet, the walk was pleasant or the tuk tuk ride was cheap, and the whole experience made us feel like we were really on vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We booked casa Lobo for our honeymoon, I had previously lived in San Pedro and knew the area and its hotels. staying at casa lobo was perfect for us, beautiful apartment on the lakeshore, very clean and comfortable, it's the only place in San Pedro were I have seen king size beds and the view has no comparing, in the mornings you can hear the birds chirping and the sound of the waves. Nothing like having breakfast in the balcony and see the trees, lake and appreciate all the birds that coexist in the area...very relaxing and quiet :) Federico one of the owners was always so kind and friendly, the location is somewhat difficult to find but at the same time is a plus because it ensures you are going to undisturbed! We also have fun memories of troll the house pet, if you love nature, privacy and great views casa lobo is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCottos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked Casa Lobo for a few nights after receiving glowing recommendations from friends.
Prior to arriving in 'San Pedro De La Laguna', we had communique with the owner, where we arranged the payment through Paypal (extremely convenient) and he gave us the details of getting to the place.
I admit, when we took that Tuk Tuk (and I argued with him about the price - Like Lobo told us), the dude dropped us off on the edge of town, and I thought it was payback for the price negotiation.
We took our bags and made our way through a field and several people's backyards - eventually getting to Lobo's place.
We were greeted by the most pleasant person we've met on this trip - Wolfgang.
He showed us to our room, which was actually the whole second story of a villa, with a balcony overlooking the lake.
Amazing view, very big space, a mini kitchen with a fridge, Tv, storage closet and couches - all justify the price which is higher than the hostels in the middle of town.
Oh, and the icing on the cake is the amazing quietness all around you - like you have the whole of nature just for yourself.
We were also shown a faster trail directly to the house.
In the following days we just walked to and from the center of town - 20 mins of walking more or less... we were not bothered by the walk. Well, maybe late at night it was a bit of a problem because of the darkness - but a flashlight was made available with the room.
We also ate breakfast at Wolfgang's 2 times, and I must say it was Amazing.
The breakfast was made by the owner - either from bought ingredients or home grown (he has the most amazing garden full of fruits and more). It was a 5 course meal and my wife had a lemongrass tea - that was made from leaves growing in the garden. Simply divine.
Lobo - We would love to stay again at your place should we come back to San Pedro. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: A tuk tuk from the town centre (just when you get off the shuttle) to Lobo's should cost 10Q. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We decided to slow down our travels and booked 4 nights here on the lakeside. The studio apartment has a lake view outside terrace, is spotlessly clean and spacious with a kitchen area with fridge, two gas hobs and all the utensils you need. The apartment is cleaned as often as you wish and there is a large water dispenser provided and topped up as you use it. You are right on the lakeside and the lapping water sends you to sleep at night on a comfortable bed.
One of the owners was there and he was very welcoming and gave the impression that if you needed anything he would do his best to provide it. An interesting guy with a good sense of humour and a lovely dog. We passed a lot of time chatting about the property and Guatemala in general. He gave us a good tip on a walk from Santa Cruz to Jaibalito opposite and advice about other things to do. We were there on a Friday so went to the market at Solola which almost tourist less and full of more lovely Guatemalans and bargain price hand woven clothes and textiles.
The entry to the property is a challenge but Fritz was there waiting when we arrived to guide us through the four key puzzle - it's easy when you know how! Make sure you have a torch. Ask for one if you need it for after dark returns.
The property is outside the village but you can walk it in 15 mins or take a passing tuk tuk for 5 quetzals each. Try to avoid being ripped off by the tuk tuk drivers at the port when you arrive. They will try to convince you that Casa de Lobo is at the top of the volcano so merits a double price ride! Normally 5 quetzals each maybe stretch it to 10 each if you have luggage but no more. Just walk off up the (steep) hill for a bit and hail another one.

Room Tip: As far as I know there is only one at present due to the flooding but there will be two more new apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The place is so peaceful and yet a walking distance from the center. Great for couples who are looking for a quiet place to stay.
The owner was so nice and helpful and the breakfast was rich and served in the garden, it was the best breakfast we had in Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigih1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and it is nice to hear from you that you enjoyed the stay at Casa Lobo and that you liked our breakfast .
The breakfast gives us also the opportunity to talk longer with our guests. You are always welcome and we hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have had a very pleasant stay. Unfortunately, the rising water of the lake has flooded two of the bungalows, also taking away part of what must have been a wonderful garden. Nevertheless, new bungalows are under construction and what's left of the garden is still very nice. The site is located a little away from the village center, either a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute ride with a local TucTuc, but that also implies that you can enjoy the quiet evenings on the terrace of your bungalow, with a view of the lake and without noisy tourists.

The welcome that we had from Fritz was very warm and he has given us a few hints on what to do around San Pedro, as well as valuable advice for the next parts of our trip. Finally, they probably serve the best breakfast in Guatemala.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
656 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
253 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
132 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Property: Casa Lobo Bungalows
Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing