We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts, convenient location, fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts, convenient location, fantastic views”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm a realist, so I'm inclined to tell it like it is. First off, the location was perfect for us. About 10-15 min walk outside of town. We actually liked being a little away from the bustle of town and it gives you an opportunity to see a lot as you walk to and from. The views are amazing. You're right on the lake with a nice patio for lounging. The hosts are fantastic. Friendly, nice and genuinely helpful without being intrusive. If there's any improvement at all to recommend, I'd suggest air conditioning. It was a little warm when we were there and that would have been a nice addition. Additionally, if you're freaked out by a bug here or there, you'll have to get over it. There were 2 spiders we saw during our trip, but that's not unexpected. Remember, you're sitting right on the lake in the woods. Overall, highly recommended--especially when you consider the price. A great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    19
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
86
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Lobo. What a peaceful property, with incredible views of the lake. Highly recommend! Our views of the sunrise each morning were breathtaking. The room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My apartment was huge, with a small kitchen and large patio. It was peaceful and quiet. The owner, Fritz was so wonderful to me. We got there in the dark, and he met us at the road to usher us down to buildings. It was a rough path, and through a number of gates, and very dark. I was staying there alone, and though not scared in the least, I felt too isolated; I found the path/walk a bit difficult (I am a senior). But again, Fritz would have my nephew call when I was returning, and he would meet me at the gate to walk me "home." If I was with someone (no solo), I would have loved it once I learned my way around the area.
Thank you again Fritz, you were wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggonetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I can't overstate how wonderful casa lobo is. Unfortunately we were only able to stay for two nights. We easily could have stayed for much longer. Casa Lobo is located just outside of San Pedro and is easily accessible by tuk tuk or foot. The torre is just stunning. Clean, clean, clean! And so very beautifully appointed. The views are breathtaking. The best part of casa lobo is Frederico and his wonderful dog troll. Our family had such a wonderful time spending time with them. We have stayed at mikaso and in our opinion this is so much better. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamiliaPuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned home from 2 glorious weeks in San Pedro La Laguna with our home base at Casa Lobo. We loved our stay here and enjoyed our 15 minute daily walk to and from the main town By staying here, we really had the daily privilege of meeting and greeting the local people of this charming town. If we had stayed in town, we wouldn't have had this incredibly daily experience. Fritz and his dog, Troll, made our stay like home. Our apartment with the beautiful lake view was relaxing and comfortable after our days of school and exploring. The living area, kitchen and bedroom have everything you need to make your stay cozy, fresh water, towels, flowers and comfy beds. The outside deck was wonderful in the mornings to have coffee and watch the coffee workers below and in the evening to watch the lights come on in the villages around the lake. Fritz made our stay so wonderful with his helpfulness from advice, recommendations, and education of the area. We looked so forward to returning home every afternoon. We fell in love with Troll and you will too. A happy friendly black lab who welcomes you everyday. We miss him ter;ribly. If you are fortunate to have rent the unit closest to the lake, you must! The outside deck is like an Italian villa with chaise lounges and dining table on the deck. Truly a piece of paradise. We can't wait to return!!!! Our love and thanks to Fritz and Troll. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Try for the apartment closest to the lake with the fabulous outdoor terrace. Over the top!!!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We wanted a little outing away from Antigua and Pana, but were not looking for a shoestrings backpacking experience. Casa Lobo fit perfectly. We stayed in the Torre and it was great. Very nice sitting room, with a bedroom with a comfortable bed that had a balcony overlooking the lake, a lounge area on the roof where you can sunbathe or enjoy the sunrise, and the coffee drying activities next door. Fritz was super friendly and helpful and had tons of information about San Pedro and the surrounding area.

The only downside really was the path leading down to the Torre which is deep and rugged, which makes it a bit difficult navigating in the dark...or sometimes even in the day. The Torre is a bit of a trek into the restaurants in San Pedro, although there were often tuk-tuks that you could take in. You may want to stock up on some of the essentials in town before arriving. We also had a few insect friends (large spiders) that made company with us downstairs, but it wasn't difficult shoeing them out and can be expected at the edges of a lake in rural Guatemala.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gschiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We were delighted with our time here. Fritz is a wonderful host; friendly, accommodating and informative. The units are well set up and immaculate, and provided you're looking for somewhere quiet and out of town (a tuktuk to town us only q10) this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
666 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
301 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
254 reviews
5.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Property: Casa Lobo Bungalows
Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing