We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Far From Town” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Lobo Bungalows

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Far From Town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you're staying for a day or two this is not the place to be. This property is way out of town and requires a long ride on moto taxi. Some taxi's won't go to the area because of the distance. It is pitch black at night and one taxi driver could not find the property in the dark. It's a little scary to be in the middle of no where with no lights on a dirt road with a stranger late at night. There are no restaurants, stores or any facilities in the area. You are stuck in your room once you get here.

Another problem is there are no fans and no air conditioning. We opened the doors to get some air in the room, but then we were swarmed by bugs and mosquitoes because there is no screen door. You have to choose between being eaten alive by bugs or roasting hot at night.

You are instructed to not flush toilet paper...enough said. Very nice host but I can't recommend this location for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaymo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always try to do our best to satisfy every customer. We are
very sorry that these guests made a difference experience .

CASA LOBO are situated outside of San Pedro and 15 min. to walk or 5 min. Tuc Tuc drive, to
get there . The nearest restaurant are 100m , and the next small store are 150m away from
Casa Lobo. We are mentioned this on Tripadvisor and on our Website. Most of our guests
really appreciate to be outside of the center and the action of San Pedro .

We are located in a natural environment with semi-tropical climate, so especially in the rainy
season May/June and September/October we do have bugs. These guests visited during the
raining season in mitten an tropical depression with heavy rains , that means things
sometimes can be different than expected .

Guatemala are still part of the third world and the public infrastructure are not at same like in
the industrial country's .The toilet drain system are different and not able to handle toilet
paper. Air conditioning and heating are almost never used and would rarely be necessary in
this climate.

We would be very glad to be able to greet you again as our guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
80
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a couple of nights here when I returned to San Pedro, expecting I'd use the time to find another place to stay for the next few months. Instead I ended up staying here for two and half months. I spent a month in one of the upper houses and a month and a half in the Lakeside Apartment.

I loved both places, but really loved the Lakeside Apartment. You can lay in bed and listen to the lake lapping against the shore and when the winds and waves picked up it was especially nice to listen to the lake. The upper house has a nice covered deck and I spent a few nights out there watching epic lightning shows while I was protected from the rain.

Fritz and Wolfgang (the owners) were great and responsive to every need. I'd definitely recommend this place to others and have done so on a few occasions already.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a very nice week staying in one of the two storey Torres. Lobo was extremely friendly and helpful. We agree with all of the positive reviews written below and would highly recommend Casa Lobo as a great place to unwind and take in the wonderful views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Exactly what we were looking for for our Semana Santa. We spent the weekend (3 nights) in the Queen Bungalow. We were close enough to walk, see friends, and get a few meals in the center but we also had the privacy and quiet of the bungalow. We were able to cook delicious food, have a glass of wine on the porch at sunset, sleep with the sound of the waves, and wake to sun streaming in the doors and windows. It was absolutely relaxing and beautiful. We even had a four legged friend to hang out with. It was a perfect trip. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Once again, thank you Lobo and Fritz for sharing your lovely views and bungalows. You are both delightful and make me feel comfortable and at home. Always a pleasure...

Look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm a realist, so I'm inclined to tell it like it is. First off, the location was perfect for us. About 10-15 min walk outside of town. We actually liked being a little away from the bustle of town and it gives you an opportunity to see a lot as you walk to and from. The views are amazing. You're right on the lake with a nice patio for lounging. The hosts are fantastic. Friendly, nice and genuinely helpful without being intrusive. If there's any improvement at all to recommend, I'd suggest air conditioning. It was a little warm when we were there and that would have been a nice addition. Additionally, if you're freaked out by a bug here or there, you'll have to get over it. There were 2 spiders we saw during our trip, but that's not unexpected. Remember, you're sitting right on the lake in the woods. Overall, highly recommended--especially when you consider the price. A great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Lobo. What a peaceful property, with incredible views of the lake. Highly recommend! Our views of the sunrise each morning were breathtaking. The room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Property: Casa Lobo Bungalows
Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing