We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop in Hopi/Navajo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuba City
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stop in Hopi/Navajo”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty relatively new hotel just on the edge of the Navajo/Hopi reservations. They have a fitness room, nice pool and jacuzzi, nice staff and clean rooms with free wifi. The rooms all have refrigerators and microwaves, and breakfast is included. I use this hotel to house our visiting students to tuba city regional medical center, and staying there continued my confidence that this is the best choice for people wanting to stay in the region. Grocery store is across the street, as are several fast food places.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AzCarolTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    251
    60
    18
    25
See reviews for
215
300
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Hopi have made this hotel into one of the best in the area, especially Page with all the chain places. In fact, I could not get a room in Page. The Moenkopi was much nicer than the Page chain hotels I hoped to book. Don't miss the authentic Kachina dolls they display. The bathroom was especially nice. The door to it always wanted to close, so I had to prop one of my bags against it, but that was the only (very minor) issue. I didn't use the pool but it was a popular place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent the night at the Moenkopi on the way to the Grand Canyon. Makes a great stopover to get to the Grand Canyon for early afternoon checkin. Front desk personal were very helpful and friendly. Not sure if they tell all the guest they will be kicked out if they have alcohol with them or not, or just bikers. That is my ONLY negative comment.

The rooms were very large and comfortable. I would definately recommend to anyone in the area. They do not have a restaurant which is very surprising. A Denny's is connected to the hotel if that is your kind of thing. Not what I was really looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyJetDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREMONT HILLS, MO
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a great place to spend the night. Comfortable. Kitchen area. Living room and bed room. Great pool and hot tub. Great hot breakfast free. Only downside is no alcohol allowed or $250 penalty...run by Hopi indians. Very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had wanted to stay at the Grand Canyon Village, but all the hotels were full. So we booked the nearest hotel we could find which was in Tuba City AZ, only an hour away, it was perfect. This hotel is owned and operated by the Hopi Native American Indian tribe and this is reflected in the architecture. The décor is in traditional Hopi style and just adds to the experience. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, only thing was that the hotel was full and so we had to eat breakfast in the lobby, not a problem as there was tons of room.
We had supper next door at Denny's, just good value for money.
Overall well worth staying here eh!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The Moenkopi Legacy inn is a beautiful Native American Indian Lodge out in the middle of nowhere! It is Very clean and comfortable. We were welcomed by exceptionally friendly staff. The rooms were beautifully decorated spacious. The complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SniktawLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We really got here by accident, but what a happy accident. Driving from Chinle (which really felt like Ulan Baator, which is not God's own city) we were not expecting much. But the Moenkopi really surprised us. Lovely rooms, service that was competent, professional and so good humoured. In the Moenkopi, the staff are actually having fun doing their jobs, and that makes every stay pleasant. I needed some letters posted - some very important - and as an Irishwoman, I find US postboxes very difficult to locate. But the people at Moenkopi took them and posted them, and they arrived on time. Also we were fortunate enough to be able to attend a very good presentation on the Hopi people, on their art, and on their culture.

It is worth making a special trip to Moenkopi, and to Hopi country even if it was not on your original agenda. This hotel is run by Hopi people for the benefit of their nation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the peaceful Kiva garden, and ask about its intention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites

Property: Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
Address: PO Box 2260, Tuba City, AZ 86045-2260
Region: United States > Arizona > Tuba City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuba City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites, the first hotel to be built on Hopi tribal land in 50 years, was the inspiration of the Elders of the Upper Village of Moenkopi. It was their vision that their Village should be a place of welcome and gathering for visitors to the land of the Hopi. Situated in the Upper Village of Moenkopi across the street from Tuba City, the Legacy Inn is at the Western Gateway to Hopiland and the Hopi mesas. It is also the beginning of the Hopi Arts Trail that connects visitors with artists and galleries on all three Hopi mesas.Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi tub, fitness center, courtyard, business center, gift shop, and evening Hopi cultural programs. The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites is the perfect venue to host your business meeting or event. Offering 3,096 square feet of meeting space and three break away conference rooms, we can ensure that your event is a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moenkopi Legacy Hotel Tuba City
Moenkopi Legacy Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing