We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing...”
Review of Villa del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa del Faro
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Frailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just amazing...”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Such a lovely setting! I stayed in the sweet stone cottage, right on the beach with miles and miles of beautiful beach in either direction. Rustic yet comfortable, right out of a fairytale. The staff at Villa del Faro will feed you a delicious breakfast each day, help you to plan activities and prepare your fireplace each night. Pretty spectacular place to unwind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
149
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

An incredibly beautiful and tranquil place. We were there in December 2011 and as we arrived we saw a huge humback whale breaching from our balcony. The beaches are safe and go for miles and miles, mostly only inhabited by pelicans doing acrobatic dives into the torquoise water below. Authentically Mexican in its design, feel and cuisine - the friendly and hospitable American owners have embraced the local traditions as well as staff. Highly recommend signing up for their cooked dinners, which are all cooked with local ingerdients by local staff. Some of the best diving in the world is only a 30 min drive away. Highly recommend hiring a 4 wheel drive to get thet from the airport

For a truly unique experience and a memory that will stay with you for a very long time I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful and have ocean views and balconies; the beach cottage is quaint and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We thought they ment electrically (all electricity is from their solar panels) but we actually had no phone and minimal internet as well and we totally loved it! It didn't take us long to give in to relaxing. The place is so beautiful; the homes the family has built, the desert, the sea and the wonderful food. We had great times with the owners who are very friendly and helpful and also with the other guests. It is a place that encourages friendliness! We should have rented a 4 wheel drive because driving through the desert and up the arroyos is a great activity. The hotel lent us one of their vehicles and gave us expert instructions for how and where to go so it worked out for us. Nature and human kindness abounds in this wonderful place! We were there a week and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Casita Dos was great for a small family as it is two small buildings connected by the same terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieJean57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Almost everyone who has reviewed this property has covered the same topics as I will, so my apologies in advance if it appears a little repetitious. However, the qualities that make this "hotel" such a great place to stay certainly bear repeating. It truly is a wonderful place, but not for everyone.

The owners describe Villa del Faro as "off the grid" and it truly is as the road from San Jose del Cabo is a test of navigational and driving skills and your vehicle itself. Then the lack of television, internet (for the most part), electricity (except for some basic lighting) and so many of the comforts that people come to except in their travel accomodation.

My two trips to this isolated property on the East Cape have seen me staying in the Stone Beacj Cottage both times and thoroughly enjoying the solitude of a virtually private beach with miles of beautiful, warm soft sand to walk along in either direction. Since it's located right on the beach, the waves are a constant background and the marine life, both aquatic and avian are constant companions.

You've got to be ready to adapt to this change in style and embrace the closeness to nature and all the wonders that come to you when you leave behind the large flashy, airconditioned, resorts and hotels that you may be accustomed to. Once the sun goes down - early as we're not that far from the equator - the stars gradually light up the sky and the sound of the waves become the background music to a truly magical experience if you're willing to absorb it.

While I've not yet experienced the relative luxury of the casitas up the hill near the main house, the rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated and are the equal of anything available in Mexico or most anywhere else. Breakfast is delicious, varied and served in a wonderful garden setting, and the dinners, while relatively expensive are beautifully prepared and served with fresh local, and again delicious produce.

There is nothing that I could fault the owners or their staff with at any time and have to tick all the boxes for quality of accomdoation, service and everything except the fitness centre (you have to provide, or more correctly, improvise your own).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at villa del faro for 10 days and found a true paradise. The beauty of the landscape and the villa is as wonderfull as the hospitality and the kindness of the family we found there. Breakfast and dinner are of high quality with many true Mexican specialities (the tortilla soup is the best ever... Not to mention Jeff's margarittas !). To be honnest it is the perfect place for a qiuet and off the grid getaway. We woke up with the sunrise and the sound of jumping whales every morning, surfing perfect rights on empty breaks in the aftenoon and enjoyed the peacefull time and the exceptional view of an almost 2km long private beach.
We finished our holidays by spending a couple of nights on what's supposed to be "one of the most beautiful hotels of the world", The Palmilla hotel in San Jose Del Cabo and we regreted it. Villa del faro is a perfect mix of luxury villas, peacefull and quiet area, very warm welcome and gourmet food. It is our paradise and we can't wait to go back !

Mariella & Fabien

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariella_Fabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

A truly wonderful place! We stayed in the Stone Beach Cottage for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. The cottage was just metres from the Sea of Cortez, set away from the main house, and other accommodations.

It's basic - with just a bed, fireplace, mini library of books, and a couple of chairs for sitting on the beach while tending to your freshly caught fish on the BBQ (if you're lucky enough to catch one!). But it is wonderfully cosy, and has everything you need. The toilet is a very short walk away, and the shower is outside. We wandered up to the main house for dinner both nights in a lovely little open dining area. The food and drinks were wonderful, the margheritas especially! Walking back down to the cottage after dinner was by torch light, without any other light pollution in the sky, revealing a blanket of stars above.

The road to get there is very rough but that's what makes it so special, and 'secret'. We travelled by moto (4 wheel motorbike) which was great fun but only for the adventurous.

The nearby coral reef was magical but the highlight of our trip was fishing from the beach at sunrise and watching a whale breaching, without another human being in sight. Absolute bliss!

The family that run the property are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. I would thoroughly recommend the Stone Beach Cottage to anyone with a little sense of adventure!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaDann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I spent 10 days here in February and absolutely loved it. We stayed down in the Stone Cottage for the entire time-going to sleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to sunrises over the ocean. Even though there were guest staying at the other villas for the first few days, there was lots of privacy and we were often the only people on the beach. On windy days, we would go and sit by the pool-which is up by the other villas-and we were again often the only ones by the pool.

The owners and staff supplied us with fresh water for drinking and washing (the Stone Cottage doesn't have any running water but the view from the outhouse and outdoor gravity-fed shower is second to none), drift wood for fires at night, and a cooler and ice for our food and beverages, so it never felt like we were roughing it-it was actually quite luxurious. The food there is amazing as well. Incredible breakfasts and dinners with lots of authentic recipes and great fresh seafood. Sometimes we were the only ones eating at the "restaurant"- it felt like we had private chefs and we would linger over the great food for hours. The owners were also very knowledgable and welcoming and gave us tips on where to go in town and fun activities to do in the area. And we saw lots of whales, sea lions, dolphins and rays all jumping and playing in the ocean right in front of the Cottage.

As some of the other posts have pointed out, the road to Villa del Faro can be rough, but the scenery is beautiful, so it's with taking it slow and enjoying the ride (preferably in a 4-wheel drive vehicle).

We often say "let's go back to Mexico" and I truly hope that we go back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Frailes
21.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
18.6 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Faro

Property: Villa del Faro
Address: KM65 Camino Costero | Los Cabos East Cape, Los Frailes 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Frailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Frailes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Faro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exquisitely off the grid" An elegant eco-hotel, Villa del Faro is a unique oasis nestled on a deserted beach. The Villa was created with the integrity of the surrounding desert in mind. We offer solitude instead of shops, safe swimming beaches, great books, gourmet food, snorkeling, surfing, and just pure beauty! One hour north of the Los Cabos Airport, but a world away in seclusion and serenity. Eight separate Casitas. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Villa del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Faro Hotel Los Frailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing