We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True”
Review of Villa del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa del Faro
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Frailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We rented the Stone Cottage for two nights. What a fantastic place, right on the beach with no one around you. Watching the sun rise out of your window facing the ocean and seeing the whales jumping out of the water was surreal. Many fantastic photo opportunities. The hosts are perfect - there when you need them but not hovering over you. Margaritas were to die for and dinners truly gourmet with fresh fish caught that morning. The Stone Cottage though was the selling point for us, with its little fireplace and romantic ambience. We plan to make this a yearly visit. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pick the stone cottage - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayandlindacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I chose to Honeymoon at Villa Del Faro for it's relatively easy access to off the beaten path luxury seclusion.

In a nutshell, it was a perfect trip. Amazing accomodation in Casita Tres, delicious food, and one of the most beautiful, secluded stretches of the Baja coast made this a trip to remember. Service was there and attentive when we needed it but not when we didnt. The property is in immaculate condition, and the setting is second to none.

The food was amazing. They only use fresh, locally grown, caught, and raised ingredients and while they only serve breakfast and dinner, we never found ourselves hungry. Another reassuring thing to note was their attention to water purity which they seem to have dialed in really well.

If you want a lot of activity or even a little nightlife, look elsewhere. If you want to relax, take long walks on the beach, and whale watch from your patio, this is the spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed in the stone beach cottage and it was the perfect place for solitude. Right on the beach I went to sleep and awoke to the sound of waves crashing on the shore. Sunrise is amazing. Make sure you stay up long enough in the morning to see the whales and dolphins. They are spectacularly breathtaking. If you go scuba diving you will see even more vibrant marine life. The night sky is equally breathtaking.

The stone cottage was lovely. It had the basics- a bed, a fireplace, some cookware, a little gas stove, and a french press. It was perfect. Very fairy tale like and quaint. Apparently it was built for the children as a playhouse which makes sense as it feels so comforting inside. The actual house up the hill has a simple exquisiteness, and while I did not stay there, I got lost in the various paths between the houses a number of times. Breakfast was great every single day. The eggs even come from their own happy chickens. Dinner is a little expensive so make sure you have other food plans if you can't do $40 every night.

There isn't much to do in any of the towns nearby so it would be good to bring a friend or books or something to occupy your time. I ventured out just to see what I wasn't missing and it was all depressing dusty tourist towns. I wish I hadn't left. If you truly want to get away from it all this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My dear friend and I were looking to rest and relax for a few days away from the commotion of big hotels and crowds. We found exactly what we were looking for in the Villa del Faro. A family owned little estate where the rooms are more like guest pavilions, extensions of the main house. There was no one in sight other than the few guests and the friendly pelicans who sort of own the beach front. Miles and miles of beautiful sand for great walks and mind freeing time out. The family who cares for you is friendly and thoughtful taking note of what you want for breakfast or dinner. I wish lunch was offered and perhaps services like massage on a few days a week. We loved it and we might just bring along a group of friends next time around to take over this little paradise for a week.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our whole experience at Villa del Faro was like a dream come true - remote, small, low-key, friendly and accommodating hosts and all of this in a visually stunning venue. Plus the food was incredibly good and with generous portions. We plan to go back as often as we can when visiting Baja.

Room Tip: as far as we can tell, there is no bad room here...the setting is small and intimate. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajalover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Villa Del Faro in Cabo, Mexico was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. It's an eco hotel run by lovely people who have built the hotel over the last 20 years out of love! The decor is stunning, stylishly mexican and filled with memories from many years of families and friends staying there which gives it a homely feel - you forget it's a hotel. We had a room that faced out onto the sea of Cortez with views to die for for. It had a small adjoining kitchen which was perfect (bring groceries to make your self lunch). The surrounding beaches are beautiful and secluded - only pelicans and whales to keep you company. There is also a pool and beautiful gardens and lemon trees all around you. At night we lit the fire on our room, it was like being inside a romantic novel! The bedroom next door had an outside shower - great for the summer. The bar was open at 6pm and frozen margaritas were served. Fish tacos cooked for us by local staff were delicious, they also have a great wine menu. You can walk 30 minutes down the beach to go to the only restaurant in the area There is internet in the main house but no phone service which was a blessing. You are truly off the grid and it's a little piece of heaven, we were planning when to come back before we had even left. I would highly recommend Villa Del Faro - i would suggest renting a 4 wheel drive (not neccassary but we burst a tyre on the desert roads).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Wonderful property, great and stylish casitas, the beach just down a path, very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbird74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Frailes
18.6 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
601 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,733 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
86 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Faro

Property: Villa del Faro
Address: KM65 Camino Costero | Los Cabos East Cape, Los Frailes 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Frailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Frailes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Faro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exquisitely off the grid" An elegant eco-hotel, Villa del Faro is a unique oasis nestled on a deserted beach. The Villa was created with the integrity of the surrounding desert in mind. We offer solitude instead of shops, safe swimming beaches, great books, gourmet food, snorkeling, surfing, and just pure beauty! One hour north of the Los Cabos Airport, but a world away in seclusion and serenity. Eight separate Casitas. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Faro Hotel Los Frailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing