We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!”
Review of Villa del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa del Faro
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Frailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Villa Del Faro is simply amazing. My wife and I visited after a 7 day small boat cruise in the Sea of Cortez and this was just what we were looking for. The location is stunning, just above a beautiful white sand beach which stretches for miles with hardly anyone around. The grounds are amazing with tiny humming birds flitting amongst the brightly coloured flowers, woodpeckers hopping from one giant Cactus and another and pelicans diving for fish just off the beach. We stayed in Casa Azul which is close to the main part of the villa but still retains a good deal of privacy and seclusion. All of the accommodation looked incredible and everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The large pool and it's surroundings are a joy and the peace is only broken by the splashes and blows of humpback whales as they breach and play just off the beach. We ate at the Villa on 4 nights. The food was varied, tasty and plentiful. Simple ingredients but expertly cooked. The Margaritas mixed by our host were superb and served in glasses the size of a small vase! If you are in the Cabo area, make the effort to drive the dirt roads to Villa Del faro - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGriff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I recently visited the wonderful Villa Del Faro with my brothers for a long weekend. We were looking for something a little off the beaten track and quiet, and it couldn't have been better.

First the hotel: Stunning gardens and grounds, well kept, private and clean rooms, excellent cook (and bartender!). I always felt like I was well taken care of but never felt like the staff was on top of me.

We stayed in Casita Dos which was lovely. If I had to do it again, the pool house is amazing, and the little house of the beach is like a fairy tale.

The beach is incredible. Clean white sand with some rocks. Go left to what our hosts Marilyn and Allie called Baby Beach, and you can walk for miles and barely see another human being.

Marilyn arranged for us to go fishing with one of the companies up at Cabo Pulmo I was surprised at how cheap it was (including tip it was $300 for six hours), and when we got back we ate the Dorado (Mahi Mahi) we caught for dinner. Another day they directed us to Los Arbolitos, a little beach in Cabo Pulmo that had the finest snorkeling I've experienced - including the Caribbean and the Red Sea. We used equipment that the hotel provided too.

Finally, and I guess they aren't always there, but the view of the dozens of humpback whales breaching and tail slapping just off the beach in the Sea of Cortez wowed all of us. I've never seen anything like it.

Room Tip: I loved my room, but the Pool House looked incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I cannot recommend villa del faro enough. my fiancee and i are getting married in a couple months and we spent 8 days of pure heaven and relaxation there. everything about it was magnificent. If you just need to relax and chill and don't want lots of people around or loud music this IS the place for you. all of the people that run Faro are so wonderful.

Room Tip: we stayed in the pool room, it was great. i don't think there is a bad room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerritossucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Villa del Faro is well worth the drive to get here! It is secluded, peaceful, elegant, unique -- definitely not your usual cookie-cutter hotel experience! This area of the East Cape is pristine and almost totally undeveloped. The beaches along this stretch are gorgeous and you will likely be
able to stroll along the sand without another person in sight. The breakfasts here are great and the dinners very romantic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A good friend told my wife and I of this "magical place" on the coast of the east cape of Baja NE of San Jose del Cabo. He and and his wife had been several times and wanted to share the 'experience' with us. We landed in Los Cabos and drove an hour on an unpaved road to the coast and the Villa del Faro which is blend of a small eco-hotel and a B & B. We stayed in our wonderful casita, Casa Azul, and had a gourmet brekkie and dinner there each day. Each night before dinner, I requested a "very special VDF margarita" .(the best I have had in Mexico) The main hacienda and individual casitas as well as the surrounding gardens are spectacular , as is the pool and beach. As there are only 5-6 rooms total it is a very private place. One can wander down thru the well kept trails to the beach and walk for hours without seeing anyone. I have never seen dozens of migrating whales in a single day before. This is a unique place for relaxing.....there is no swim up bar nor predetermined activities . The Villa is isolated and there is essentially nothing around it except for a few private homes...which was ideal given our desires and planning!!
We are already planning our return visit to VDF!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JF20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Villa del Faro might as well be called "The Gem by the Sea of Cortez." It is truly a one-of-a-kind place, beautifully and thoughtfully built. It manages to have one foot in the world of luxury and the other in eco-conservation, and the balance is unique. The owners themselves seem to embody this balance, and excel at making you feel both at home among friends and pampered as a guest. An ideal place for unwinding, swimming, snorkeling, surfing, writing . . . no matter what you do, at Villa del Faro you'll be living the good life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbmcc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

When we woke after our first restful night and looked out the window, we saw whale plumes in the sea. We knew we had reached the place we wanted, the reason we cchose Villa del Faro: peace.

The coast line is pristine and almost empty. In a week of swimming, building sand castles and crabbing from rocks, we saw six or seven people. We had our year and a half old daughter with us so we didn't go on the other options nearby such as scuba diving, fishing or whale watching, but the beach was enough. She ran around freely discovering the lines on the sand left by rising and receeding water, being splashed from head to toe and grinning at her face off with nature.

The hotel itself is incredibly intimate and private. As you approach it looks like you are arriving at an oasis - it has a large variety of palm trees and greenery that the surrounding countryside does not have. It has been designed so that none of the guests (which I think would be a maximum of 10 anyway), or staff have to walk past eachothers accomodation. The hosts are incredibly welcoming and get the balance absolutely right between being friendly and leaving you to your own devices.

The hotel swimming pool overlooks the sea, so you can jump and dive with the whales.

Meals here are tasty though you do have the option to cook for yourself (though don't expect a fully kitted out kitchen). A minibar fridge is provided for you to keep your produce cool.

DO:
Bring a 4 wheel drive if you expect to go scuba diving, whale watching, fishing, visiting further beaches etc... They are about 20km away, but in a smaller car (like the one we had) this will be very slow. (the countryside is gorgeous though)
Ask about their eco-credentials: solar power so off grid, natural handmade soaps, diverse palm tree planting...

DO NOT:
miss the margaritas, they are INCREDIBLE
leave rubbish

Room Tip: Intimate couples who like it rustic go for the stone cottage- right by the sea! For two families, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialPlacesGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Frailes
19.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#20 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
89 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
24.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Faro

Address: KM65 Camino Costero | Los Cabos East Cape, Los Frailes 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Frailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Frailes
Price Range: £153 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Faro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exquisitely off the grid" An elegant eco-hotel, Villa del Faro is a unique oasis nestled on a deserted beach. The Villa was created with the integrity of the surrounding desert in mind. We offer solitude instead of shops, safe swimming beaches, great books, gourmet food, snorkeling, surfing, and just pure beauty! One hour north of the Los Cabos Airport, but a world away in seclusion and serenity. Eight separate Casitas. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Faro Hotel Los Frailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing