We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great Food”
Review of Elvira's

Elvira's
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Tubac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Benson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Still Great Food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is our second trip to Elvira's and we weren't disappointed. Elvira's has probably the best variety of Mole north of the border. My wife had the Mole Rojo Hazelnut,with chicken breast, and I again had the Beef Tongue Mole Poblano. Both came with rice & beans that were tasty, but the Mole,,,,,OMG, absolutely delicious. And huge servings! Mole is a very complex sauce to master and both of our meals were tasty with a hint of chocolate and just the right amount of heat. While the prices are higher, the serving size and amazing flavors make it worth every penny. The service was relaxed, the staff friendly as before and the place was clean. Oh and we had an appetizer of guacamole that was also huge and terrific. We left with a smile on our faces and doggy bags large enough for tomorrow's lunch. Caveat: This is on the day we went and our tastes. Your mileage may vary. I will be back and you should try them too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    141
    53
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Sonoran Mexican Restaurant This Side of Mexico!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Elvira's was the perfect place for 5 guys out on a golf outing, to go! Handmade margaritas, mole and steaks to die for, incredible service and atmosphere! We ate at Elvira's 3 of the 4 nights we were in Tubac. The mistake we made was not eating there every night. The next time I'm in Tucson (this Friday), I'll drive an hour each way to have dinner at Elvira's - it's that good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but pricey surprise”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Food choices in Tubac are limited. We stumbled upon Elvira's when our hunger had the best of us. After being out of town for a few days, we were in need of a decent salad. This place hit the spot. Our "Lite Spinach Salad" was very good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, for such a small out-of-the-way town, the prices on the rest of the menu almost shocked us into losing our appetite. I'm sure everything there is good, but don't expect too many options for a light, inexpensive lunch. If you have a large budget, go for it. While you are there, take the time to look up at the ceiling. I've never seen so much blown glass since the Chihuly exhibit at the Desert Botanical Gardens in Phoenix.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Appetizers in bar”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Some of the best guacamole I've had in a while. Just stopped in for cocktails. We had the best cocktails EVER! Our bartender was extremely friendly and her cocktail recommendations were right on the spot. Try the tamarind margarita - it was amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For many years Elvira's was a mainstay in Nogales, Sonora, Mexico, ably managed and run my a wonderful gentleman and his wife. We helped it grow from a small, humble establishment featuring Sonoran comfort food with Twinkies as dessert, to a rather large and quite sophisticated restaurant serving Sonoran Cuisine including a wonderful Sonoran Fajita in Mocholate Sauce. My very favorite dish, it was unlike any I've ever had anywhere else. The Elvira's tradition carried on for years with dignitaries from Tucson and Phoenix treking south on weekends for a special treat at this unique restaurant. Then, old age set in. Senior Monroy fell ill and passed away. His son took over ony to be face by a declining economy and the policital upheavals of a border town. One day we visited only to find the place boarded up with a sign on the outside that included an apology and an announcement. The apology was for closing, the announcment was that Elvita's was relocating to the US side of the border to the wonderful artist's community of Tubac. When it opened it was clear that this was not modeled after the original Elvira's. Upscale, with an artsy ambience, Elvira's is now a trendy gathering place that still features many of the dishes found in the original Nogales place. The son is a marvelous chef, creative and with a flair for creating statement dishes. But, there is no Sonoran Fajita in Mocholate Sauce. Nonetheless it is a superb eatery, from apetizer to dessert. Some might think it a bit pricery, but let your taste buds, not your wallet, do the talking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon85635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elvira's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing